Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

How do I disable "safely remove hardware" ?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-08-05, 04:26 PM Thread Starter   #1
cruzmisl
Registered



Join Date: Sep 2005

 
How do I disable "safely remove hardware" ?


Running XP SP2, ASUS A8N-SLI Premium and a Maxtor DiamondMax 10 6B250S0 250GB 7200 RPM Serial ATA150 Hard Drive. I have that stupid icon that tells me it's safe to remove my hardware but the hardware is my hard drive so obviously I can't. Any thoughts on how to disable it?
Thanks,
Cruz.
cruzmisl is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-08-05, 04:29 PM   #2
hUMANbEATbOX
Contributing Member

 
hUMANbEATbOX's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: WINNIPEG REPRUHZENT!

 
that usually refers to a usb device. are you sure you don't have a printer attached, or a scanner, or camera, or mp3 player?

__________________
i7 970 @ 4.2ghz - 1.275v
6x4gb
560ti
and my baby Lucy
<----

Do not go gentle into that good night,
Old age should burn and rave at close of day;
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.
hUMANbEATbOX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-08-05, 04:44 PM   #3
Know Nuttin
Senior Member

 
Know Nuttin's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada

 
if you installed the SATA drivers for the nvidia controller, it will now show your SATA drives as removable, since SATA is natively hot swappable.

you can hide the icon by customizing the autohide features in your taskbar properties, under "Hide Inactive Icons".

__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 965BE, Asus M5A88-V Evo, 8GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3-1600 , Coolermaster Hyper212+, OCZ Vertex Plus 60GB, Seagate 7200.11 500GB, Antec EA-380
Lenovo X200, P8400 C2D, 8GB, 120GB OCZ Vertex 3.
Know Nuttin is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-08-05, 05:04 PM   #4
rseven
Member



Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: New Jersey

 
Yes, Know Nuttin has it right. Either hide it or live with t. It's just one of those dumb things. It could be worse. Did you ever have a zit on the tip of your nose?
rseven is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-08-05, 06:54 PM Thread Starter   #5
cruzmisl
Registered



Join Date: Sep 2005

 
Hmm, oh well I guess I can live with it. I already hid the icon but was hoping to eliminate it.

Thanks anyway though.

Cruz.
cruzmisl is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-08-05, 07:29 PM   #6
El<(')>Maxi
Blank Senior Member

 
El<(')>Maxi's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Seattle

 
You can change the properties so that it's optimized for quick removal. This disables write caching meaning it's gonna be slower but you won't loose data or anything if you just pull the plug.

__________________
rdrash - 'I'm gonna intentionally try to kill this CPU with more volts'
El<(')>Maxi is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-08-05, 08:06 PM   #7
makaka
Member

 
makaka's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: ukraine

 
yeah men u should live with it
i am seeing it about one year know

__________________
Intel 2600k @ 4.8 Ghz , DDR3 - 2133 Mhz 9-9-9 , P67 Pro from Asus , GTX 570 from Asus , 2 X Raid 0 SSD 128 GB OS and 2 x 2TB raid 1 storage , 1.2 Kw PSU. All under water
makaka is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-08-05, 08:24 PM   #8
cooper15
Member



Join Date: Apr 2005

 
"
Yes, Know Nuttin has it right. Either hide it or live with t. It's just one of those dumb things. It could be worse. Did you ever have a zit on the tip of your nose?"

have you ever had one inside your ear? , i have
cooper15 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-08-05, 08:39 PM   #9
hUMANbEATbOX
Contributing Member

 
hUMANbEATbOX's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: WINNIPEG REPRUHZENT!

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by cooper15
have you ever had one inside your ear? , i have
those are the worst......ever....

__________________
i7 970 @ 4.2ghz - 1.275v
6x4gb
560ti
and my baby Lucy
<----

Do not go gentle into that good night,
Old age should burn and rave at close of day;
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.
hUMANbEATbOX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-08-05, 08:41 PM   #10
mtb856
Member

 
mtb856's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Helping young Meatballs grow...

 
I don't know, the ones inside your nose were always the worst for me..... those buggers hurt.
mtb856 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-08-05, 11:46 PM   #11
darksparkz
Member

 
darksparkz's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Chicago, IL

 
Try opening "run" and type in msconfig. Then look at the top tabs and click on "services", maybe something there can help.

__________________
Antec P182 w/ 3 Yate Loon D1SL-12
Intel DG965WH Motherboard
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
G.Skill 4x2GB DDR2 PC6400 4-4-4-12
WD Raptor WD1500ADFD 150GB
OCZ Vertex2 60GB SSD
eVGA 8800GTS 512MB
Asus DRW-24B1ST
Corsair HX520
Scythe Ninja w/Panaflo 120mmx38mm FBA12G12M

[Heatware] <---Or rather lack of heatware
darksparkz is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-09-05, 12:20 AM   #12
DeepScience
Super Kiwi

 
DeepScience's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: New Zealand

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtb856
I don't know, the ones inside your nose were always the worst for me..... those buggers hurt.
I was just going to mention those ones, you got there first.

__________________
i7 920 -- Asus P6T -- Thermalright Ultra120 -- Hynix 6x4G (24)
Cucial M4 128, Western Digital 2, 4, 2-2-2
Seasonic Platinum 1000W - Stryker
Win8 - Adobe - Vegas Pro
560Ti
<><
DeepScience is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-09-05, 12:35 AM   #13
chris64
Disabled

 
chris64's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: earth

 
Switch back to a ide drive and it will go away. Thats the only method of removal that there is.
chris64 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-10-05, 01:19 AM   #14
Twiggz
Member

 
Twiggz's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Arkansas

 
i dunno the worst ones i've ever had are the ones that are on your back and are super huge but you cant even begin to touch LOL.

__________________
---Desktop---
i5 4670K - ASRock Z87M Extreme 4 - 8GB PC-2400 - Seasonic 750W M12II Bronze - 124GB Crucial M4 2TB WD Green - HD 4600 - Win 8.1

---Media Server---
Q6600 - G31M-S2L - 4GB DDR2 - Rosewill 750W - 80GB WD 2x1TB Seagate Raid0 - OnBoard Video - XBMCbuntu
Twiggz is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?