Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Games
Games Tips and general discussion
Forum Jump

Your steam account has been disabled? wtf?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-09-05, 10:47 AM Thread Starter   #1
12am
Member

 
12am's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Calgary AB Canada

10 Year Badge
 
Your steam account has been disabled? wtf?


Well, bought hl2 when it first came out.. played cs source maybe 20-30 times since than and all was good. Last night a friend of mine finally got his high speed internet connection and a copy of hl2 so we decided to play a little cs source together. Upon loading up steam it said my account had been disabled. Now why would they disable my account? I have never had any cheats even on my computer for cs:s (I have screenies to prove my lackluster cs scores lol). The only thing I can think of is the new gun models I got from counter-strike-dl.com that may have caused a problem, but why would they? it's not like using new gun models is cheating... so my question is what can I do to get my account enabled again?

__________________
Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.7Ghz (1.39 Vcore)
Idle=34c Load=62c (Corsair H80 Watercooling)
Gigabyte Z68 MA-DH2
8Gb Corsair Vengeance @ 1600mhz
Sapphire Radeon HD 7970 3Gb @ 1225/1700 (1.2v)
Corsair Tx750 V2 Powersupply
Thermaltake Level 10 GT Snow Edition Case
80" Sharp Lc80Le632u Tv
12am is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-09-05, 11:00 AM   #2
Prodigious
Member

 
Prodigious's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Aurora, Co

 
If you got your account disabled for hacking/cheating(even if it was a false alarm) afaik, you can't get it back. Valve's a bunch of ******** when it comes to Steam. Great devs, but retards when it comes to online content and security.
Prodigious is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-09-05, 11:06 AM Thread Starter   #3
12am
Member

 
12am's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Calgary AB Canada

10 Year Badge
 
Well that's a serious **** off. I am not pleased. Since when does bieng honest and not cheating pay off?. I know at least 2 guys who cheat rampantly and they still have thier accounts . So is using new gun models considered hacking by valve?.

__________________
Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.7Ghz (1.39 Vcore)
Idle=34c Load=62c (Corsair H80 Watercooling)
Gigabyte Z68 MA-DH2
8Gb Corsair Vengeance @ 1600mhz
Sapphire Radeon HD 7970 3Gb @ 1225/1700 (1.2v)
Corsair Tx750 V2 Powersupply
Thermaltake Level 10 GT Snow Edition Case
80" Sharp Lc80Le632u Tv
12am is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-09-05, 12:05 PM   #4
Aidenswarrior
Member

 
Aidenswarrior's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio

 
same thing happened to me. so i bought another copy and now i hack like crazy and dont get caught. kind of ironic. but yea. i hate dealing with the steam people.

btw, no models do not count as hacks as long as there isnt a consitency issue. like if you go on a server and it kicks for inconsistant models or w/e. some times steam gets people for that but very rarely

__________________
w/e

http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=40089
Aidenswarrior is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-09-05, 12:12 PM Thread Starter   #5
12am
Member

 
12am's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Calgary AB Canada

10 Year Badge
 
Yea, the models never had any issues on any of the servers that I went to.. it's really a bummer to be banned. I however will not be purchasing another copy if valve doesn't reinstate my account, and will take a long hard look before purchasing any other valve product in the future... Here's to hoping Quake4 will have exceptional multiplay

__________________
Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.7Ghz (1.39 Vcore)
Idle=34c Load=62c (Corsair H80 Watercooling)
Gigabyte Z68 MA-DH2
8Gb Corsair Vengeance @ 1600mhz
Sapphire Radeon HD 7970 3Gb @ 1225/1700 (1.2v)
Corsair Tx750 V2 Powersupply
Thermaltake Level 10 GT Snow Edition Case
80" Sharp Lc80Le632u Tv
12am is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-09-05, 12:19 PM   #6
CorpX
Member

 
CorpX's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Austin, TX

 
um why would you even download a new model?

that's very borderline stuff, imo and i would never mess with any models etc.
CorpX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-09-05, 12:31 PM Thread Starter   #7
12am
Member

 
12am's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Calgary AB Canada

10 Year Badge
 
Why not download new gun and player models? valve never updates them and some of the player made models look awesome... and sometimes you just get tired of looking at the same old models time and time again and you want a change. By the way how is using a new model "borderline"?.

__________________
Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.7Ghz (1.39 Vcore)
Idle=34c Load=62c (Corsair H80 Watercooling)
Gigabyte Z68 MA-DH2
8Gb Corsair Vengeance @ 1600mhz
Sapphire Radeon HD 7970 3Gb @ 1225/1700 (1.2v)
Corsair Tx750 V2 Powersupply
Thermaltake Level 10 GT Snow Edition Case
80" Sharp Lc80Le632u Tv
12am is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-09-05, 01:00 PM   #8
CorpX
Member

 
CorpX's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Austin, TX

 
because new models can easily give you an extra advantage. i've seen screens where the opponent is bright red or neon green. it would be very easy for vac2 to detect something with non standard models.

i also read somewhere that the only safe models are the css + cz models.
CorpX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-09-05, 01:16 PM   #9
blitzkrieg1110
Member

 
blitzkrieg1110's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Pennsylvania

 
im thinking he means gun models but im not sure

__________________
Laptop: Dell Inspiron E1505 | Intel Centrino Duo T2300 1.67Ghz | 2GB DDR2 | Intel GMA 950 GFX |
Heatware 8-0-0
blitzkrieg1110 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-09-05, 02:38 PM   #10
TheGreySpectre
Member

 
TheGreySpectre's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Phoenix, Az

 
cant gun models give an advantage as well by putting a dot right in the center of the screen?

__________________
Laptop: Dell Inspiron 9300 w 6800go and 1.2 gigs of ram
Desktop: intel i7-3770, 16Gb Ram, Radeon 7970, 18.5 Tb HD space, Dell 3008 WFP 30"
TheGreySpectre is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-09-05, 06:17 PM Thread Starter   #11
12am
Member

 
12am's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Calgary AB Canada

10 Year Badge
 
meh they were just plain ole gun model replacements.. none of them added any aim improving devices or hacks... regardless looks like valve won't reactivate my account and I warn anyone else not to use playermade weapon models.

__________________
Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.7Ghz (1.39 Vcore)
Idle=34c Load=62c (Corsair H80 Watercooling)
Gigabyte Z68 MA-DH2
8Gb Corsair Vengeance @ 1600mhz
Sapphire Radeon HD 7970 3Gb @ 1225/1700 (1.2v)
Corsair Tx750 V2 Powersupply
Thermaltake Level 10 GT Snow Edition Case
80" Sharp Lc80Le632u Tv
12am is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-09-05, 06:24 PM   #12
CorpX
Member

 
CorpX's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Austin, TX

 
be sure to make a new account with the new cd key as anything else added to your old account will also be banned.


since you already have all the .gcf files, it'd be prolly more economical for u to just buy a cd key on ebay (for <$20).
CorpX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-09-05, 07:34 PM   #13
3DFlyer
Banned



Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: The Cockpit

 
It's very possible system instability could've also caused it. Tell Steam to prove you were hacking. I bet they can't since you weren't. I am of course taking your word for it. Servers like consistency, that's for sure.
3DFlyer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-09-05, 08:00 PM   #14
apu318
Disabled

 
apu318's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Welland: Most drug use per capita in Canada.

 
All servers do if your files differ is disconnect you. There was another thread like this. The only way that you would get banned is if you were cheating, sharing your account or breaking any other TOS. It is never an accident.
apu318 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-09-05, 10:11 PM Thread Starter   #15
12am
Member

 
12am's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Calgary AB Canada

10 Year Badge
 
I'm not gonna get dragged into a flamewar here.. never cheated before and never will, yes accidents do sometimes get made.. everyone makes them. Now would it be possible that someone else could have gotten hold of my steam acct and been playing with cheats?.

__________________
Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.7Ghz (1.39 Vcore)
Idle=34c Load=62c (Corsair H80 Watercooling)
Gigabyte Z68 MA-DH2
8Gb Corsair Vengeance @ 1600mhz
Sapphire Radeon HD 7970 3Gb @ 1225/1700 (1.2v)
Corsair Tx750 V2 Powersupply
Thermaltake Level 10 GT Snow Edition Case
80" Sharp Lc80Le632u Tv
12am is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-09-05, 10:24 PM   #16
CorpX
Member

 
CorpX's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Austin, TX

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by 12am
I'm not gonna get dragged into a flamewar here.. never cheated before and never will, yes accidents do sometimes get made.. everyone makes them. Now would it be possible that someone else could have gotten hold of my steam acct and been playing with cheats?.
only you can answer that. did you share your account info with anyone?

was your password easy to guess?
CorpX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-09-05, 10:31 PM Thread Starter   #17
12am
Member

 
12am's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Calgary AB Canada

10 Year Badge
 
No I kept the account info to myself, never shared it with anyone. As for the password it was nothing obvious that someone would guess.

__________________
Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.7Ghz (1.39 Vcore)
Idle=34c Load=62c (Corsair H80 Watercooling)
Gigabyte Z68 MA-DH2
8Gb Corsair Vengeance @ 1600mhz
Sapphire Radeon HD 7970 3Gb @ 1225/1700 (1.2v)
Corsair Tx750 V2 Powersupply
Thermaltake Level 10 GT Snow Edition Case
80" Sharp Lc80Le632u Tv
12am is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-09-05, 10:59 PM   #18
Alucard
Member

 
Alucard's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Texas

 
Valve has ****ed me off every since the word on TF2 being released, seems like that my respect for the company has gone waayyy down hill, but I still love CS:S :/

__________________
We existed from all eternity and behold, we are here, and we shall exist till the end of time.. for our being has no end.
CPU: Phenom II x4 940
HDD: WD Raptor 300Gb 16MB Cache / WD 320GB 16MB Cache
PSU: Corsair 750w
RAM: 2x2gb Corsair Dominator 1066
SC: Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
VC: ASUS EAH4870 1GB.
Alucard is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-09-05, 11:32 PM   #19
ps2cho
Member

 
ps2cho's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Socal, no hella here

 
There are a lot of CD keys that have been dubbed during the manufacturing process. When two keys like this are found, the CD Key is disabled.

No models or config changes will result in a VAC Ban.
A VAC Ban will be said, not Account Disabled. It will say:

"The following games have disabled from use due to VAC.: DOD, CS etc..."

I think you got a copied CD Key.
Steam don't do anythign if u get VAC Banned. If this is NOT a VAC banning, contact valve and tell them the deal. I am sure they will ask for the CD + Key + P.O.P to be sent to them in exchange for another copy.

Hope it works out for you.

__________________
Main: i5-2500k @ 4.2GHz:.:P8Z77-V LE Plus Mobo:.:8GB DDR3 RAM:.:AMD 7870 2GB GPU:.:Corsair H50:.:Corsair 520HX PSU
Laptop: Dell XPS12 Ultrabook
Media Server: A6-5400k // ASRock FM2A75 Pro4-M // 4GB DDR3 // 60" Vizio LED 1080p
HDD Server: AMD BE-2300 // 6TB HDD's and stuff

ps2cho is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-10-05, 01:27 AM   #20
whooping_a_panda
Mr Slave Senior

 
whooping_a_panda's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Tucson, Arizona

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ps2cho
There are a lot of CD keys that have been dubbed during the manufacturing process. When two keys like this are found, the CD Key is disabled.

No models or config changes will result in a VAC Ban.
A VAC Ban will be said, not Account Disabled. It will say:

"The following games have disabled from use due to VAC.: DOD, CS etc..."

I think you got a copied CD Key.
Steam don't do anythign if u get VAC Banned. If this is NOT a VAC banning, contact valve and tell them the deal. I am sure they will ask for the CD + Key + P.O.P to be sent to them in exchange for another copy.

Hope it works out for you.
This is most likly the way to go. I've never been banned for using player generated models and it isnt against the TOS, it is however against match play but valve does not monitor that so no worries regarding that.

It was said earlier system instability can cause vac banning and this is also true. I was once given a two week suspention from vac enabled servers for having a memory error, well it happend once and I was kicked and thought it was a fluke, rejoined and sure enough.... two weeks later I dropped my OC at the time and never had the problem again.

__________________
That, my droogs, was real milanky horrorshow

I'm on the karma payment plan. -- My Heatware
whooping_a_panda is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Games
Games Tips and general discussion
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:48 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?