Notices

Overclockers Forums > Discussions > Vendor Discussion
Vendor Discussion Likes and Gripes about Vendors. No Post Count.
Forum Jump

Does UPS use trains for shipping

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-14-05, 08:00 PM Thread Starter   #1
meionm
Member

 
meionm's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004

 
Does UPS use trains for shipping


As the tile says does ups use trains for ground shipping, I thought most of the delievers were done through trucks. I went on Ups website to check status of my delievery. It says Exception, reason Late train caused that delay.

__________________
Dell XPS 1330 T8300, 4GB PC6400, LED Monitor, DVD Burner, Intel 4965 wireless, Bluetooth 360, 9cell battery, Windows Vista Ultimate, Remote

Q9550, Gigabyte ex38 ds4, 4GB Corsair Dominator PC8500, evga 8800gt, Corsiar 520w psu, WD 640GB HD, LG Eide Dvd Burner, Antec P182

HEATWARE
meionm is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-14-05, 08:28 PM   #2
gixxer420
Member

 
gixxer420's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: USA

 
yes we do I'm a supervisor for them

__________________


:: 8400 @ 4.2
:: Giga Ud3p
:: Ballistix Tracer 2gb
:: Evga GTX 260 / 216
:: CM 690
:: OCZ GameXstream 600
gixxer420 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-14-05, 10:10 PM   #3
d94
$30 a phone

 
d94's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: 48302

 
any way to estimate when im gettin ma package? lol
http://wwwapps.ups.com/WebTracking/p...=39&track.y=15

__________________
Antec 300 Intel Q6600 @ 3.7 - X48-DS4 - 4gb ddr2 - 500w Earthwatt's - 52" Sharp Aquos LC-52D64U
1x 640GB WD - 2x 1TB Greenpower - 2x 400GB Seagate - ATI 4830 512mb @ 680/975
3DMark Vanage 7402 3DMark05 20,447 3DMark06 13,693

Emachines amd x2 5000+ @ 2.9ghz w/foxconn bios - 2gb ddr2
stock POS 300w - 400gb Seagate - diNovo + VX Revolution

MacBook Air - 1.6ghz c2d - 2gb ddr2 - 80gb

heatware
d94 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-14-05, 11:03 PM   #4
z0n3

 
z0n3's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hoosier Land

 
Yeah they do, about 2 days ago my package got delayed because of a train.

__________________
In other words, look for shiny books.-Frodo Baggins
OK Oni...I've told ya about rubbing David before. Keep it private, eh?-LutaWicasa
I just caught myself putting my credit card into the DVD drive of my computer ... -ghettocomp
LOL if I was sapphire I would leave ruby on there and take her shirt off instead...-Rattle
What do you most want to accomplish with your life? Ban SilverSinkSam-cw823
Ooo. that 1 comes with a mouse!-WarriorII
last friday I got back from annual training and downloaded my duffelbags to my house.-SuperFarStucker
Thank goodness the downtime was not any longer I almost got myself a life-UnseenMenace
I live in a steel reinforced cave/bunker so unless he is on my list of bad guys to kill, I don't pay too much attention to politics.-TommyHolly
z0n3 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-14-05, 11:38 PM   #5
saltytheseagull
Member



Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Indiana

 
Not that you really need more confirmation, but they do. I've had packages be late b/c they missed trains (particularly shipments out west) and packages fall off the train.
saltytheseagull is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-15-05, 12:45 AM   #6
BLcK
Member

 
BLcK's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ca, Los Angles

 
yah they do ive had a package delayed because of one

__________________
E6300 C2D..................Q6700
Intel DG965WH............Intel DG33TL
2X512MB PC2-4300 .....Mushkin 2X1GB PC2-6400
ATI X1600 Pro..............EVGA 8800GT SC
P180B.........................NSK-3480
F@H-=FOLD @ HOME=- User name: BLcK : Team#32
BLcK is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-15-05, 05:57 PM   #7
icyicy
Member

 
icyicy's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: New York

 
Need to pake my stuff very well next time. I thought all pakages were shipped by air.
icyicy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-15-05, 08:57 PM   #8
baltoos
Member

 
baltoos's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Steger, IL or the Dark Side of the Moon; I'm not sure!

10 Year Badge
 
Most UPS packages are shipped via ground transportation (trucks & railroads). Longer trips use what the railroads call "Piggyback" or TOFC (Trailer On Flat Car).The truck trailer is loaded onto a railcar & hooked to a train & sent cross country.
UPS has a huge new sorting facility near Chicago in Hodgkins, IL. & the Santa Fe Railroad built a railyard right next to it to handle the huge number of trailers going thru that UPS facility.
-Dave

__________________
O'tooles Commentary on Murphy's Law: Murphy was an Optimist!!!

IF ALL ELSE FAILS, READ THE DANG INSTRUCTIONS!!!

Abit IP35 Pro w/ Bolt mod
Xeon E3110 @ 4140 Q806A227
4 x 1GB PC2-6400
Nvidia 7900GT 512
2 x 74GB WD Raptor WD740GD
baltoos is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-16-05, 02:14 AM   #9
gixxer420
Member

 
gixxer420's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: USA

 
very well put and describe

might you work for UPS

__________________


:: 8400 @ 4.2
:: Giga Ud3p
:: Ballistix Tracer 2gb
:: Evga GTX 260 / 216
:: CM 690
:: OCZ GameXstream 600
gixxer420 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-16-05, 03:22 PM   #10
baltoos
Member

 
baltoos's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Steger, IL or the Dark Side of the Moon; I'm not sure!

10 Year Badge
 
A few years back I was driving a truck for a company whose business was primarily dealing with trailers in & out of railyards - Intermodal - is the term they use.
-Dave

__________________
O'tooles Commentary on Murphy's Law: Murphy was an Optimist!!!

IF ALL ELSE FAILS, READ THE DANG INSTRUCTIONS!!!

Abit IP35 Pro w/ Bolt mod
Xeon E3110 @ 4140 Q806A227
4 x 1GB PC2-6400
Nvidia 7900GT 512
2 x 74GB WD Raptor WD740GD
baltoos is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-21-05, 02:18 PM   #11
ATF 2GTalon
Member

 
ATF 2GTalon's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by saltytheseagull
and packages fall off the train.
I would be so ****ed if that happened to one of my packages. Although that may explain the condition of some of the packages I've received.

"Um, sorry sir, your package fell off the train and got trampled by several dozen rail cars...."

They probably would never admit to it happening though.

__________________
Joe
Asus P5N-E SLI Rev 1.01G // C2D E8400 @ 3.54GHz // Scythe Ninja SCNJ-1000P
GSkill 2x1GB PC26400 2GBNQ 5-4-4-15

MSI GTX 260 OCv4 Core216 // OCZ700MXSP 700W PSU
X-Fi XtremeGamer // Soyo Topaz S 24" WS LCD DYLM24D6
Seagate 320GB SATA 16MB 7200.11 // Maxtor 200GB SATA 8MB // LiteOn 52246S CDRW

eVGA NF75 630i 7100 // C2D E6420 @ 2.475GHz (300x8 1.25V)
2x1GB Corsair XMS 6400C4 4-4-4-12

8600GT 540/1188/700 // Asus Xonar D1 // Samsung Syncmaster 710N 17" LCD
Hitachi 40GB 2MB // Maxtor 200GB 8MB // NEC 3500A DVDRW // Samsung SC-148C CDRom

Denon 1610 // tSC P6,RC1 // HSU STF-1
ATF 2GTalon is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Discussions > Vendor Discussion
Vendor Discussion Likes and Gripes about Vendors. No Post Count.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:40 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?