Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

AMD 2800 upgrade

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-18-05, 05:51 PM Thread Starter   #1
[SaS]hornet
Member



Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Doncaster, UK

 
AMD 2800 upgrade


i was planning on upgrading my whole system b4 xmas, but this is gonna have to wait till late spring/early summer 2006 now. what i wanna know is, is it worth me buyin a 3200XP and an SI-97A, or sticking with my 2800, buying an SI-97A and crankin me FSB 200?

the rest of my system is ok for now, but i find my processer lacking a little.

__________________
|||2500K@4.3-CMV8|||ASUSP8P67|||EVGAGTX760FTW4GB|||XMS3-16GB
|||250GBSSD + 4TB-HD's|||CM700SILENTPRO
|||CMSCOUT|||
[SaS]hornet is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-18-05, 06:18 PM   #2
rseven
Member



Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: New Jersey

 
Sadly, that would be a waste of money for the most part. The modest increases in performance would still leave you with a system nearly 3 years past it's prime.You would be much better off to keeping all your gear with the exception of your CPU and mobo and building a 939 based system. You could get a ULI1695 chiset based mobo and either a Venice or a new 939 opteron CPU. You can do this for as little as $250 including a HSF. This would be a far better upgrade path to take. Good luck with it.
rseven is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-18-05, 06:21 PM   #3
leeashton
Member



Join Date: Aug 2005

 
I agree with the guy above ^
leeashton is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-18-05, 06:24 PM   #4
CanadianTSi
Member



Join Date: Aug 2004

 
Agree'd, pretty much worthless to upgrade your Socket A CPU.

On another note, there's no reason that your K7N2 Delta can't do 200FSB, mine would run my Locked 2800 at over 200fsb.

__________________
AMD X2 3800+(CCBWE 0528) 2.5ghz
Big Typhoon (21 Idle/ 38 Load)
DFI NF4 Ultra-D
1 Gig OCZ PC3200 Gold (222mhz 2-2-2-5, 2.8v)
BFG 7900GS (670/880) (Unlocked to a GT)
OCZ Powerstream 520w
CanadianTSi is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-18-05, 07:18 PM Thread Starter   #5
[SaS]hornet
Member



Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Doncaster, UK

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by CanadianTSi
Agree'd, pretty much worthless to upgrade your Socket A CPU.

On another note, there's no reason that your K7N2 Delta can't do 200FSB, mine would run my Locked 2800 at over 200fsb.
what sort of speed was it running at?

__________________
|||2500K@4.3-CMV8|||ASUSP8P67|||EVGAGTX760FTW4GB|||XMS3-16GB
|||250GBSSD + 4TB-HD's|||CM700SILENTPRO
|||CMSCOUT|||
[SaS]hornet is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-18-05, 07:55 PM   #6
CanadianTSi
Member



Join Date: Aug 2004

 
2500 was totally stable (200FSB)

Max screenie I got was somewhere around 2650.

__________________
AMD X2 3800+(CCBWE 0528) 2.5ghz
Big Typhoon (21 Idle/ 38 Load)
DFI NF4 Ultra-D
1 Gig OCZ PC3200 Gold (222mhz 2-2-2-5, 2.8v)
BFG 7900GS (670/880) (Unlocked to a GT)
OCZ Powerstream 520w
CanadianTSi is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-18-05, 08:10 PM Thread Starter   #7
[SaS]hornet
Member



Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Doncaster, UK

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by CanadianTSi
2500 was totally stable (200FSB)

Max screenie I got was somewhere around 2650.
NICE!!!! was that on air cooling?

__________________
|||2500K@4.3-CMV8|||ASUSP8P67|||EVGAGTX760FTW4GB|||XMS3-16GB
|||250GBSSD + 4TB-HD's|||CM700SILENTPRO
|||CMSCOUT|||
[SaS]hornet is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-18-05, 08:35 PM   #8
AngelfireUk83
Member

 
AngelfireUk83's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: England

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by CanadianTSi
2500 was totally stable (200FSB)

Max screenie I got was somewhere around 2650.
I can say it is the 2500+ is pretty stable as you can see I've got mine stable for 2.2ghz standard OC for a 2500+ Barton. Never pushed it any further but I'm happy with the increase I'm keeping this system and starting to buy part by part my A64x2 after the new year.

This system is too good to get rid off and it's my first system I've built I still reckon she's got another 2 years for the games I play. Plus LAN games like Diablo 2 my mates on my 4 port router is great fun they bring there laptops and share the connection it's great.

__________________
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit SP1
Board: Gigabyte Z68AP-D3 Rev.1 F8
CPU: INTEL i7 2600k 3.40ghz (Stock)
RAM: Crucial Ballistix Elite 8GB 1866mhz DDR3 (1600mhz@1.60v)
OS Storage: Crucial 128GB M4 SSD (FW 040H)
Spare Storage: Seagate 500GB 7,200rpm, Hitachi 1TB 7,200rpm (Back-Up HDD)
GPU/Audio: HIS 7850 2GB GDDR5 PCI-E Card (OC: 920/1270)
PSU: OCZ Fatality 750w Modular PSU
Optical: LG GH24NS90 24x DVD-RW
AngelfireUk83 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-18-05, 08:41 PM   #9
CanadianTSi
Member



Join Date: Aug 2004

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by [SaS]hornet
NICE!!!! was that on air cooling?
Yep, just a cheap Vantec cooler.

I'm sure the CPU has more in it but the board is limited to 1.8vcore.

But that Rig is retierd now, gave it to my little Sis.

__________________
AMD X2 3800+(CCBWE 0528) 2.5ghz
Big Typhoon (21 Idle/ 38 Load)
DFI NF4 Ultra-D
1 Gig OCZ PC3200 Gold (222mhz 2-2-2-5, 2.8v)
BFG 7900GS (670/880) (Unlocked to a GT)
OCZ Powerstream 520w
CanadianTSi is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:16 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?