Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

anyone know vc for a Pentium I

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-21-01, 03:59 PM Thread Starter   #1
Yoric
Registered

 
Yoric's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Montana

 
anyone know vc for a Pentium I


I found this pentium 1 200Mhz lying around and I want to stick it into a mobo that I have but I am not sure what voltage setting I should put it at
Yoric is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-21-01, 06:52 PM   #2
DAppel
Member



Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Brazil - RS

 
The Pentium Classic uses 3.3VCore. You should set the motherboard to VRM , or manually to 3.3V.

The Pentium MMX uses 2.8V. Some people may mistake Classic vs MMX and run the MMX at 3.3V, wich is not very good if you don't really know what you are doing. Please make sure you know wich version is this chip.
DAppel is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-21-01, 07:26 PM Thread Starter   #3
Yoric
Registered

 
Yoric's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Montana

 
thanks that information should help
Yoric is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-21-01, 07:33 PM   #4
Bmxpunk86pl
Member

 
Bmxpunk86pl's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: CT/Poland

 
dude, dont do what i did!! i was playin around with the VRM on my 430vx and ended up blowing the ide controllers up!! serously, i looked onto the motherboard and i saw the center of the IDE controller missing!!
Bmxpunk86pl is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-21-01, 07:41 PM   #5
DAppel
Member



Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Brazil - RS

 
Quote:
Originally posted by Bmxpunk86pl
dude, dont do what i did!! i was playin around with the VRM on my 430vx and ended up blowing the ide controllers up!! serously, i looked onto the motherboard and i saw the center of the IDE controller missing!!
Hey, I did the same thing ! But in my case it was a piece of the Northbridge that flew across the room.

Those VRM really can be dangerous to mess with if you don't know what you are doing. I should have remembered to post it before.
DAppel is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:45 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?