Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling > Water Cooling
Water Cooling Discussion devoted to blocks, pumps, radiators, reservoirs, tubing, and everything else to get you running smooth on a water loop
Forum Jump

Best way to get tubes on?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-19-05, 05:46 PM Thread Starter   #1
Brinnswift
Member

 
Brinnswift's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: St. Louis

 
Best way to get tubes on?


What is the best way to get tubing all the way on? Any sort of lubricant? Or is it best just to muscle it into place?
Brinnswift is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-19-05, 05:47 PM   #2
WarriorII
Moderator #666

 
WarriorII's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Moderating

10 Year Badge
 
Use a pan of boiling water on the stove.

dip the hose, let it get soft & then jam it on there.

don't burn your hand. use a "mit" or something.


__________________
To Honor Those who went before their time.
God Bless them all
Fight the Fight worth Fighting
FOLD for Team 32
IS THERE A CURE AMONG US?

Black Belt Overclocker MyHeatware under WarriorII
WarriorII is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-19-05, 05:49 PM Thread Starter   #3
Brinnswift
Member

 
Brinnswift's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: St. Louis

 
awesome, thanks for advice!
Brinnswift is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-19-05, 05:52 PM Thread Starter   #4
Brinnswift
Member

 
Brinnswift's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: St. Louis

 
Any advice on how to get it off if it's stuck on there?
Brinnswift is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-19-05, 06:00 PM   #5
crimedog
Member

 
crimedog's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: South of Boston

 
cut it off

__________________
i'm packing heat
crimedog is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-19-05, 06:01 PM   #6
WarriorII
Moderator #666

 
WarriorII's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Moderating

10 Year Badge
 
Razor blade.

__________________
To Honor Those who went before their time.
God Bless them all
Fight the Fight worth Fighting
FOLD for Team 32
IS THERE A CURE AMONG US?

Black Belt Overclocker MyHeatware under WarriorII
WarriorII is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-19-05, 06:02 PM   #7
Xoligy
Member



Join Date: May 2005

 
what about a monkey rench and steam from a kettle? will that work? it not then call the firebregade and see what thay say lol
Xoligy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-19-05, 06:42 PM   #8
four4875
Member



Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: I can see walmart, 44906

 
the heat makes it sorta melty and really flexible and stretchy,and the water keeps it from getting tooo hot and burning, and gives an even application of heat as opposed to say a lighter or heat gun. then when the hose cools it goes back to the normal tougher state. you might be able to give them good pull, heat it, or just slice it up the side to get it off. slicing it obviously wil lshorten the tube and could make some pieces unusable.

__________________
Student of Electronic Engineering as of September 20, 2010
four4875 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-19-05, 08:18 PM   #9
Aphex_Tom_9
Member

 
Aphex_Tom_9's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: NY (Long Island)

 
sometimes you dont even need to heat up the tube, just a little water can be enough to get the hose to slide all the way on

__________________

MONOLITH - Xeon W3540 (testing) - Rampage 2 Extreme - 12 GB G.Skill Ripjaws 1600 - GTX 570 - 120 GB OCZ Vertex - Antec TruePower New 750W - Corsair 700D - Apogee XT - XSPC 360
Hack1nt0sh - Core2Duo E4600 (11x335 : 3685) - 4 GB G.Skill (894) - HD 3850 (810/2120)- Asus P5W DH - OSX86 10.5.1 / Win 7
MacBook Pro - i7 2.66 - 4 GB - GT 330M - OSX 10.6.4

Opty 148 3504mhz
Core2Duo 3917mhz
Aphex_Tom_9 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-19-05, 08:20 PM   #10
thegreek
Member

 
thegreek's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Philadelphia

 
a heatgun also works

__________________
I always tell the truth even when I lie. - scarface
I know it sounds like I'm in denial, but I'm not. - unknown
thegreek is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-19-05, 08:29 PM   #11
d94
$30 a phone

 
d94's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: 48302

 
i just twist it on

__________________
Antec 300 Intel Q6600 @ 3.7 - X48-DS4 - 4gb ddr2 - 500w Earthwatt's - 52" Sharp Aquos LC-52D64U
1x 640GB WD - 2x 1TB Greenpower - 2x 400GB Seagate - ATI 4830 512mb @ 680/975
3DMark Vanage 7402 3DMark05 20,447 3DMark06 13,693

Emachines amd x2 5000+ @ 2.9ghz w/foxconn bios - 2gb ddr2
stock POS 300w - 400gb Seagate - diNovo + VX Revolution

MacBook Air - 1.6ghz c2d - 2gb ddr2 - 80gb

heatware
d94 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-19-05, 10:03 PM   #12
Icedfire101
Member

 
Icedfire101's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004

 
i m kinda lazy so instead of waiting for water to boil with a pan, i put some unfiltered tab water in a coffee cup (make sure it is microwave safe) and then just bring the cup to were i m working and dip the end of the tube in
Icedfire101 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-19-05, 10:18 PM   #13
Valk
Member

 
Valk's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chocobo Alley, Aht Urgan Whitegate

10 Year Badge
 
I didnt even need to do that heh. i use the cheap cheap tubing ringt now as im still experimenting *tygon is much too expensive when you replumb your water system almost weekly trying to figure out how it flows best*
I just filled a rubbermaid with the hottest water i could get from my tap and submerged the whole run of tubing into it for a few minutes. just pulled out as much as i needed, cut, went over the barbs like butter.
Made plumbing the loop REALLY easy.

__________________
Yurisa - Desktop, first upgrade in 6 years lol
Intel Core i5 4670k@4.5ghz 1.25v - Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD3H - 8GB Kingston HyperX 1600 Grey - AMD Radeon 5850 1gb - Crucial C300 64gb SSD - HP LP2475W sips/HP f2105 sips - Custom liquid cooling; Raystorm/d5/apogee1u on gpu - Windows 7 Home Premium : still to come; finish rebuilding case, black ice SR1-360, Samsung 740 evo, new storage drive


My Other Stuff
Heat - Watercooled Lian Li PC-V600 - HIME, Watercooled SFF - RCtech.net; Sanwa/VBCRacing/HobbywingUSA/TeamOrcaUSA
Valk is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-20-05, 09:02 AM   #14
Joe Camel
Senior Camel Kicker

 
Joe Camel's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: ---> NEW HOUSE 7/17/09 !! <---

 
i use:

hair dryer to heat the tube and a little "prison-lube" (spit) on the fitting

GOOD LUCK!!

__________________
-->> Help US fight: CANCER, Alzheimer's, Parkinson's & MORE with YOUR computer <<--
Joe Camel is FOLDing for Team 32
R.I.P pete_scout I wish we could have FOLDed a cure, for you.
HEAT
"So you see, it's not at all pointless, you just have to look for a different point" ... hafa 5/17/04
6800 EX Conroe @ 4740 MHz (395 x 12) - - Dry-Ice in The Camel Pipe -
- X1900 CrossFire @ 846/945 - - MachII Slave, D-Ice Master -
- 2x gig Corsair XMS 6400 CAS3 @ 494 MHz 4-4-3-1 -
- ASUS P5W-DH - - 700w "Mr Zippy" PSU
Joe Camel is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-20-05, 09:50 AM Thread Starter   #15
Brinnswift
Member

 
Brinnswift's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: St. Louis

 
I bought the swiftech apex kit, and man was the tubing hard to get on the pump. I put the tubing in hot water and still I had a rough time with it but it went on... Finally, though I'm not sure if the tubing is far enough on. I got about a little less then .5 inch on it before it just would not go any further, though I had such a hard time getting it on I can't imagine it coming off anytime soon. I did a leak test for 3 hours and it was fine
Brinnswift is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-20-05, 12:05 PM   #16
voigts
Member

 
voigts's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Tennessee

 
You don't even need boiling water. Just put the end of the hose under hot faucet water and then just put a little bit of dishwashing soap (like just rub a light, really thin coat with your pinky) on the inside of the tube end. It'll slide right on but won't suds up as the end stays on the barb.
voigts is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-20-05, 02:55 PM   #17
situman
Member



Join Date: Sep 2003

 
do like a pregnant woman and PUSH and breath and push really hard.

__________________
Asus Rampage Formula X48
Intel Q9650 @ 4.33GHZ
OCZ Platinum DDR2-800
Palit 4870x2
Creative Xi-Fi Extreme Music
Corsair HX1000
LL 343B Case
Thermochill 120.3
2xMCP355
KL 350AT
KL 4870X2 FC WB
DD Chipset Block
situman is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-20-05, 03:08 PM   #18
Bugsmasher
Member



Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Oklahoma City, Ok

 
Better yet hit a local pharmacy and grab some glycerin...its cheap and works wonders.

__________________
System - AMD Opteron 165, ATI X1900XT, 2G (1Gx2) G-Skill PC3200, Asrock 939 DualSATA2, Raptor 74G Sata 16meg 10k drive, SB Audigy2 ZS

Watercooling Setup - MCP600, T-Line, Home-made Monster Reservoir, MCW6002, Fedco 2-199 w/home-made shrouds in a push/pull config, 4 Sanyo Denki 120mm beasts (undervolted to 7), 7/16"ID-5/8"OD MasterKleer tubing
Bugsmasher is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-20-05, 03:18 PM   #19
WarriorII
Moderator #666

 
WarriorII's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Moderating

10 Year Badge
 
18 Posts on how to put on tubing........

C'mon guys. I think he gets the idea.

Enuff with the spam.

__________________
To Honor Those who went before their time.
God Bless them all
Fight the Fight worth Fighting
FOLD for Team 32
IS THERE A CURE AMONG US?

Black Belt Overclocker MyHeatware under WarriorII
WarriorII is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-20-05, 07:21 PM   #20
ls7corvete
Member



Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tampa, FL

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by WarriorII
18 Posts on how to put on tubing........

C'mon guys. I think he gets the idea.

Enuff with the spam.
Its something we all go through, a right of passage you might say, no wonder people wanna talk about it.

Anyways, I say a lil astroglide, they say you can get a buick into a dog house with enough of that stuff.
ls7corvete is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling > Water Cooling
Water Cooling Discussion devoted to blocks, pumps, radiators, reservoirs, tubing, and everything else to get you running smooth on a water loop
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:01 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?