Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

CrossFire and Apple 30" LCD

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-20-05, 02:54 AM Thread Starter   #1
Pf.Farnsworth
Member

 
Pf.Farnsworth's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2005

 
CrossFire and Apple 30" LCD


After doing some homework on the nvidia forums and other places I have learned that you can indeed run the 30" Apple LCD in SLI mode with 2 7800 GTX's. There were problems with this due to hardware limitations in the 6800 but the 7800 has worked out all the problems and everything works great.

Now what I could not find is why I am asking.

Can you run the Apple 30" LCD in CrossFire mode with 2 ati cards? Keeping in mind that as far as I know ati's CrossFire requiers the two cards to be linked together via DVI to DVI cable in the back. That means that 1 DVI output on each card is taken up. Now the 30" Apple LCD monitor requiers dual DVI. The monitor cord has 2 DVI connectors on the end and needs to have both pluged in to work. Now I guess my question here is since 1 DVI on each card is taken up do you plug one in to one card and the other in to the other card? That is if you can run that monitor on ATI's CrossFire mode period.
Pf.Farnsworth is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-20-05, 03:05 AM   #2
Vrykyl
Tornado Guy

 
Vrykyl's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: UK

 
afaik with the new x1800xt cards you can run an apple 30" screen of just one card - if i remember they have dual link dvi outputs....
Vrykyl is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-20-05, 04:52 AM   #3
-_{MoW}_-Assasi
Member

 
-_{MoW}_-Assasi's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Gday from Melbourne Australia!

 
yea, but he wants to know whether he can run with 2 cards, coz u can obviously run with 1

__________________
My Name is -_{MoW}_-Assasin, but the forum wont let me put my full name in, so ill just be a fail Assassin
Intel Xeon X3440 @ 4.0Ghz (200x20) 1.35v - XSPC RX240
32GB Patriot Viper III @ 800Mhz - 1.65v
ASUS nVidia GTX 670
ASUS P7P55D EVO
OCZ Vertex 2 120GB SSD
Hitachi HDD 2x RAID 0
Corsair AX850 PSU
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy - dead Sennheiser PC131 | Auzentech X-Fi Forte Klipsch ProMedia Ultra 5.1

Heatware
-_{MoW}_-Assasi is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-20-05, 08:28 AM   #4
PottaCoola
Member

 
PottaCoola's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: UK

 
My quess would be yes you can because the only reson the the cards are linked like that is half the screen is coming on one card and the other coming of the other card. if you plug the apple monitor in both cards thay will work the same, the apply will get half the screen from the dvi at the crossfire card and the other throught the other dvi in the other card. if ou catch my drifft
PottaCoola is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-20-05, 11:46 AM Thread Starter   #5
Pf.Farnsworth
Member

 
Pf.Farnsworth's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2005

 
I would think so too. I was wondering if anyone saw any information anywhere about this. I found out the details on the nvidia end pretty fast, multiple users trying to get it to work with sli and how it turned out, forum posts, reviews. But nothing on ATI and crossfire. Crossfire being pretty new I expected it but still. Would be nice to get some information where this was actually tied and not only in theory. I would hate to spend $1200 on 2 cards only to find out it wont the knife doesnt cut the cheese. And I really want to go with ATI and crossfire, ati is great and the impovements they made in crossfire vs sli are nice, I would love to support them but I cant lay down so much money untill I know for sure. Ironicaly one guy on nvidia forums was trying to get his to work with SLI and lost a bunch of money on buying, selling and buying different cards before he figured out that the 6800 didnt cut it but the 7800 did He was the gini pig there for the sli folks. But I am to broke to be one so I'll have to wait for someone to try haha
Pf.Farnsworth is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-20-05, 02:23 PM   #6
hyperasus
Member

 
hyperasus's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vrykyl
afaik with the new x1800xt cards you can run an apple 30" screen of just one card - if i remember they have dual link dvi outputs....
What about the X1800XL? Would this run a apple 30".

__________________
Motherboard: ASUS Maximus IV Gene-Z/GEN3 Z68
CPU: Intel i7-2700K
Memory: 16GB Crucial Ballistix 1600 (2 x 8GB) 8-8-8-24
Hard Drives: Intel 520 240GB + 4TB Seagate 7200rpm
Video Card: Integrated Intel
Power supply: Antec EarthWatts Platinum 450watt

Heatware
hyperasus is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-20-05, 08:52 PM Thread Starter   #7
Pf.Farnsworth
Member

 
Pf.Farnsworth's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2005

 
should, but the million dollar question is will the monitor run on dual card setup with crossfire on and functioning properly.
Pf.Farnsworth is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-21-05, 12:13 AM   #8
Highendtoys
Member



Join Date: Sep 2005

 
When using a Crossfire card as it is now, X850, X800 you can only come out of one DVI to a monitor. This is info that came straight from ATi. The question was asked because a bunch of my friends and myself run dual monitors. I am not talking about tech support but a product manager.

As far as the Apple...well I just need to get my butt in gear and get one. I have never seen a monitor need two DVI connections to run.

Ohh crap, I just thought about something....the X800, X850 could not run that display...there is a 1600*1200 limit on them. Now the new X1800 cards will use a different system and you will be fine Crossfiring (don't look at me, I did not make the name up) them.

Do you have a pic of the connectors the Apple uses. I am not sure if my wife will let me drop that kind of $ this weekend with X-mas so close.

Also, yes the X1800 will run the Apple display. You cannot tell the difference between a dual link DVI and a single link DVI just by looking at it. The X1800 has two dual links and the 7800 cards have one of each.
Highendtoys is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-21-05, 12:47 AM   #9
Sentential
Contributing Member

 
Sentential's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Midland, Texas

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by hyperasus
What about the X1800XL? Would this run a apple 30".
Any X1k card has dual-linked DVI ports. This includes even the X1300SE. So the anwser is yes across the board
Sentential is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-21-05, 01:28 AM Thread Starter   #10
Pf.Farnsworth
Member

 
Pf.Farnsworth's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2005

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Highendtoys
As far as the Apple...well I just need to get my butt in gear and get one. I have never seen a monitor need two DVI connections to run.
Well this one does. From what I know from reading and talking to apple reps the card sees the 30" panel as 2 seperate smaller panels that make up the total size that is 30".

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sentential
Any X1k card has dual-linked DVI ports. This includes even the X1300SE. So the anwser is yes across the board
well we already know it can run on any X1k card. What we don't know is 1. Will it run on 2 of them in crossfire mode. And 2. will the crossfire mode work properly.

Aside from guesses, assumptions and estimates we don't really have any concrete data. No official statement nor any personal accounts of it working.
Pf.Farnsworth is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-21-05, 09:26 PM   #11
koontz946
Member



Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: ridgewood, NJ

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Highendtoys
Ohh crap, I just thought about something....the X800, X850 could not run that display...there is a 1600*1200 limit on them. Now the new X1800 cards will use a different system and you will be fine Crossfiring (don't look at me, I did not make the name up) them.
this is actually not true, as i was just playing around on my x800pro and set my resolution (albeit over 2 monitors) to 2560x1024


__________________
Core2Duo E6600 | 2*2048 Patriot PC2-6400
-=/Salute 3200+ Venice=-
Asus P5W DH Deluxe
EVGA GTX260 (216)
Dell 2407WFP
2x 7200.10 320GB Seagate SATA II Perp. in RAID-0 | 2x120GB WD SATAII 8mb in RAID-0 | 640GB SATA II storage drive | Philips SPD2413P
Corsair HX520W PSU | Antec Super LanBoy Case
Scythe Infinity w/ 2x FM121s
Aiwa 5.1 Surround Sound

heat
koontz946 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-21-05, 09:40 PM   #12
hyperasus
Member

 
hyperasus's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA

 
my asus X800XL runs my dell 24" with DVI at 1920x1200.

__________________
Motherboard: ASUS Maximus IV Gene-Z/GEN3 Z68
CPU: Intel i7-2700K
Memory: 16GB Crucial Ballistix 1600 (2 x 8GB) 8-8-8-24
Hard Drives: Intel 520 240GB + 4TB Seagate 7200rpm
Video Card: Integrated Intel
Power supply: Antec EarthWatts Platinum 450watt

Heatware
hyperasus is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-21-05, 11:02 PM   #13
Quailane
Member

 
Quailane's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Who stole my white stars?

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pf.Farnsworth
Well this one does. From what I know from reading and talking to apple reps the card sees the 30" panel as 2 seperate smaller panels that make up the total size that is 30".



well we already know it can run on any X1k card. What we don't know is 1. Will it run on 2 of them in crossfire mode. And 2. will the crossfire mode work properly.

Aside from guesses, assumptions and estimates we don't really have any concrete data. No official statement nor any personal accounts of it working.
I'm pretty sure it will work since one X1K card can run two of them fully.


Quote:
Originally Posted by koontz946
this is actually not true, as i was just playing around on my x800pro and set my resolution (albeit over 2 monitors) to 2560x1024

Really you have 1280x1024 on each monitor.

__________________
I DRIVE A HYUNDAI AND I'M PROUD OF IT!
Quailane is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-22-05, 11:28 AM   #14
koontz946
Member



Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: ridgewood, NJ

 
^ yep, 1280x1024 on 2 monitors, desktop stretched via CCC

__________________
Core2Duo E6600 | 2*2048 Patriot PC2-6400
-=/Salute 3200+ Venice=-
Asus P5W DH Deluxe
EVGA GTX260 (216)
Dell 2407WFP
2x 7200.10 320GB Seagate SATA II Perp. in RAID-0 | 2x120GB WD SATAII 8mb in RAID-0 | 640GB SATA II storage drive | Philips SPD2413P
Corsair HX520W PSU | Antec Super LanBoy Case
Scythe Infinity w/ 2x FM121s
Aiwa 5.1 Surround Sound

heat
koontz946 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-24-05, 02:51 AM Thread Starter   #15
Pf.Farnsworth
Member

 
Pf.Farnsworth's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2005

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quailane
I'm pretty sure it will work since one X1K card can run two of them fully.
actually that's a fallacy. Thats is comperable to saying one monitor will run on SLI so two monitors will run too, as we know SLI does not support multiple monitors yet (to my knowledge). So no, just because it works on one card does not constitute it will work on two of them nor that crossfire will function.
Pf.Farnsworth is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-24-05, 03:01 AM   #16
lowfat
Member

 
lowfat's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: stoon, sask, can

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by koontz946
this is actually not true, as i was just playing around on my x800pro and set my resolution (albeit over 2 monitors) to 2560x1024


he meant in crossfire.

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600.
Gigabyte GA-P35-DQ6.
4GB Crucial PC2-8000.
eVGA 8800GTS 320 Superclocked.
Cooler Master Stacker 830.
OCZ GameXStream 700W.
DTek Fuzion + Weapon 302 Heatercore + AquaXtreme 50Z.
JVC RX6042, Soundstage Center 5 + Surrounds, Athena A1-B1s.

3D06-11115 3D05-19593 3D03-37303 3D01-61781
lowfat is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:19 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?