Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

What do you think about K8NF-9 board ?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-21-05, 10:08 AM Thread Starter   #1
sony_87
New Member



Join Date: Oct 2005

 
What do you think about K8NF-9 board ?


Hello everyone..I'll buy new motherboard but i have only 80-85$ max so I choose this:
picture
What do you think about this mb ? I'm not going to overclock it too much...i have A64 3000+ and i think @to 2000-2200MHz max..
What is the best mb about this money?
sony_87 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 10-23-05, 08:55 AM   #2
mackica
Registered

 
mackica's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005

 
I have GA-K8N Ultra-9, and I'm very pleased with it. Ultra version can handle some OC, my Winchester 3000+ is stable @ ~2350MHz. I don't know how good is non-Ultra version, but theese boards have same PCB and many components so i think it would beheve similar to the ultra version.
mackica is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-23-05, 02:22 PM Thread Starter   #3
sony_87
New Member



Join Date: Oct 2005

 
What about PCI lock? Is it working correctly? I heard there is no S.M.A.R.T. function in BIOS... ?
sony_87 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-24-05, 12:37 PM   #4
mackica
Registered

 
mackica's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005

 
Just to say again i have ULTRA version, pci lock is ok, and there is S.M.A.R.T. but you should check again for non-Ultra version.
Sory I'm not much of a help.
mackica is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-22-05, 06:03 AM   #5
El Muerte
Registered



Join Date: Aug 2004

 
I have GA-K8NF-9 non-Ultra model and I must say that Im not pleased at all.

-First of all, the chipset is hot,hot,hot (sometimes over 60 degrees) so that means you'll have to buy some cooler if you want to OC.

-2nd, GA-K8NF-9 is not very impressive for OC (at least im my case it wasn't)
Got myself 3000+ Venice, but i couldn't OC it more then 1.97Ghz cos i can't rise motherboard's freq more than 218.I changed my memory stick just to make sure...but no.........problem is in motherboard alright.....

-Third, this motherboard does not have much manual settings. There is NO MANUAL settings for memory timings at all!
Just bunch of automatic-top-performanse-crapy ones.
My advice is : DON'T BUY IT.

Go and buy some good ABIT model. I hear that some MSI motherboards are quite good.
El Muerte is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-23-05, 06:30 AM   #6
El Muerte
Registered



Join Date: Aug 2004

 
Angry


Ok....today i found out more about my motherboard:
By pressing CTRL+F1 in BIOS you can unlock advanced options for overclocking such as memory timings etc.
But still......mootherboard has such bad cooling system that i could't do anything at all.
One moment it works on 218Mhz and sometimes it can;t work on 210Mhz...
I gonna buy some coolers for that chipset>>>hope it will do the trick but im not too much optimistic.

just buy some other motherboard...
El Muerte is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-03-06, 04:19 AM   #7
mblue
Member

 
mblue's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: York, PA

 
I have the GA-K8NF-9 and first things first, it is a fine board. You can flash it to the ultra f3 bios, which I think ocs better. Yes, you will have to add cooling to the chipset; know idea why they don't put that on anymore. Also, pull the heat sink off and get that crappy pad off and put as5 or what ever your poison is on it. After that I could oc to 240*10 with an HT of 3, couldn't go higher than 3. Had to bump the cpu voltage up by .05. After all that it runs fine have not gone any higher.

__________________


MSI P6N-Sli, E8400 C2D @ 3.6 Ghz, 2 x 2 Gb of DDR2 800 Geil, EVGA 9800GTX+ 512 sli, 22" WS and Vista Ultimate X64, SP1

MSI P6N-Sli, E2160 @ 3 Ghz, 2 x 1 Gb of DDR2 800 Geil, ATI X1950XTX,19" LCD and Vista Ultimate X64


MSI P6N-Sli, E2160 @ 3 Ghz, 2 x 1 Gb of DDR2 800 Geil, Asus 3850-512, 19"LCD and Vista HP X64
mblue is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-17-06, 08:26 AM   #8
El Muerte
Registered



Join Date: Aug 2004

 
OK...new update.
Had myself replaced gray thermal paste.
Also find out that my kingstone (DDR 400) is not very good working with this motherboard, so i loosen timings to minimum.
Now flashed bios to F9. Then I managed to go 7x329Mhz that is @ 2.30Ghz, (Venice 3000+) while my HT=1
I can't boot it if HT is 1.5 or 2.0 and also can't get 2.30ghz at any other multiplier.
I also have some crappy Codegen 350w power sopply so i think to get rid of it for start
Any advice ???
How could i go higher?

Last edited by El Muerte; 01-17-06 at 08:32 AM.
El Muerte is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:59 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?