Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Alternative Operating Systems
Alternative Operating Systems Linux, Mac, Unix Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Help with Gentoo networking setup

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-24-05, 07:51 PM Thread Starter   #1
Soichiro

 
Soichiro's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Indianapolis

 
Help with Gentoo networking setup


In trying to set up Gentoo on my main computer, I've run into an error. It seems that the onboard network card (eth0) does not work, and rc-update doesn't know how to add my pci network card (eth1) to the default runlevel. When I try plugging in the cable to eth0 and then do "ping -c 3 google.com", it pauses for about 1 minute then tells me it can't find the host. When I plug in the cable to eth1, it instantly tells me that it can't find the host. Also, when checking ifconfig, it only shows information for eth0 and localhost (I have the settings in /etc/conf.d/net set for manual config btw, not dhcp). Can anyone help me with this, either by getting the onboard LAN to work or by getting eth1 to work? It's probably something really simple but... yeah, I'm moderately linux inept.

__________________
"Recent studies show that guys who fold for team32 get more girls." - sno.lcn

Intel i7-4770 Haswell @ 3.4 Ghz
ASUS Z87-A
8GB G.Skill DDR3-1333 @ 8-8-8-21
60GB Boot SSD + 3x1TB WD 7200RPM in RAID 5
ASUS Geforce GTX660 2GB


Folding User Stats

Last edited by Soichiro; 10-24-05 at 08:02 PM.
Soichiro is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-24-05, 08:02 PM   #2
khiloa
Open Source Senior

 
khiloa's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: /usa/sc/florence

 
Do you use / have DHCP?

__________________


Say NO to ads!

Did someone just help you? Thank them.

Along with F@H, please help support some of our other teams.

khiloa is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-24-05, 08:37 PM Thread Starter   #3
Soichiro

 
Soichiro's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Indianapolis

 
I don't use DHCP, but I do have the dhcpcd package (just in case).

__________________
"Recent studies show that guys who fold for team32 get more girls." - sno.lcn

Intel i7-4770 Haswell @ 3.4 Ghz
ASUS Z87-A
8GB G.Skill DDR3-1333 @ 8-8-8-21
60GB Boot SSD + 3x1TB WD 7200RPM in RAID 5
ASUS Geforce GTX660 2GB


Folding User Stats
Soichiro is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-24-05, 08:54 PM   #4
Gnufsh
Senior Member

 
Gnufsh's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: June Lake, California

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soichiro
In trying to set up Gentoo on my main computer, I've run into an error. It seems that the onboard network card (eth0) does not work, and rc-update doesn't know how to add my pci network card (eth1) to the default runlevel. When I try plugging in the cable to eth0 and then do "ping -c 3 google.com", it pauses for about 1 minute then tells me it can't find the host. When I plug in the cable to eth1, it instantly tells me that it can't find the host. Also, when checking ifconfig, it only shows information for eth0 and localhost (I have the settings in /etc/conf.d/net set for manual config btw, not dhcp). Can anyone help me with this, either by getting the onboard LAN to work or by getting eth1 to work? It's probably something really simple but... yeah, I'm moderately linux inept.
You need to coy the net.eth0 script over to net.eth1 to be aable to add it to a runlevel. It also sounds like you don't have the correct driver for eeth1. If you compiled it as a module, you need to modprobe it. If you didn't compile it, you should do so (either built-in or as a module). What PCI NIC do you have?

__________________
Lost access to the classifieds? Look here.
Forum Policies
Sig Rules

"Men occasionally stumble over the truth, but most of them pick themselves up and hurry off as if nothing ever happened."
-Sir Winston Churchill
Gnufsh is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-24-05, 09:11 PM Thread Starter   #5
Soichiro

 
Soichiro's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Indianapolis

 
The adapter is a D-link something or other. Not sure of the model. But I'll go through the kernel config junk and make sure I compiled it, and if it's not compiled then I'll recompile the kernel with the eth support in there.

__________________
"Recent studies show that guys who fold for team32 get more girls." - sno.lcn

Intel i7-4770 Haswell @ 3.4 Ghz
ASUS Z87-A
8GB G.Skill DDR3-1333 @ 8-8-8-21
60GB Boot SSD + 3x1TB WD 7200RPM in RAID 5
ASUS Geforce GTX660 2GB


Folding User Stats
Soichiro is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-24-05, 09:41 PM   #6
Gnufsh
Senior Member

 
Gnufsh's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: June Lake, California

 
Do you know what driver you need? What about the chipset of the NIC?

__________________
Lost access to the classifieds? Look here.
Forum Policies
Sig Rules

"Men occasionally stumble over the truth, but most of them pick themselves up and hurry off as if nothing ever happened."
-Sir Winston Churchill
Gnufsh is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-25-05, 06:32 AM Thread Starter   #7
Soichiro

 
Soichiro's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Indianapolis

 
After recompiling the kernel with the drivers built-in (they were installed as modules before), the eth1 adapter works. I wasn't exactly sure which driver to choose, so I just selected all the ones that looked like they might work, and apparantly one of them did work. Thanks for the help.

__________________
"Recent studies show that guys who fold for team32 get more girls." - sno.lcn

Intel i7-4770 Haswell @ 3.4 Ghz
ASUS Z87-A
8GB G.Skill DDR3-1333 @ 8-8-8-21
60GB Boot SSD + 3x1TB WD 7200RPM in RAID 5
ASUS Geforce GTX660 2GB


Folding User Stats
Soichiro is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Alternative Operating Systems
Alternative Operating Systems Linux, Mac, Unix Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:23 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?