• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

My first Custom computer

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Odald

Hello overclockers forums :) My name is charlie. my story starts here(lol)

Well about 3 years ago my dad bought me my first computer, it was a dell.. yes you heard me right, a dell. Well when i first got this computer all i wanted to do was play starcraft and diablo 2.. And then i got into CS 1.6, now.. the computer i got is a dell 2350, it cant handle cs 1.6 good at all. about 3 months ago i bought a 512 MB stick of memory for it and it improved the performance a lot, around that time i started playing WoW, and seeing my friend get his new comp and playing CS:S on it got me thinking "Wow.. id really like a computer that can perform like that."

After all this thinking.. i decided to get a job and get some cash to buy my own computer. So last month i started buying computer parts off from Newegg.com.

Here is a list
Case: Xion 2 (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16811208008) (I'm using PSU that came with it)
CPU: AMD 64 3000+ (venice core)
HD: 160 gb Hitachi (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16822145088)
RAM: Rosewill 1gb (2x512) (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820223030)
Mobo: JetWay 939GT4-SLI-G (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813153030)
GPU: GIGABYTE Geforce 6600gt (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16814125156)

not gonna list the rest heh partially cause there not too important for this post heh.

well. the rest of my parts will be getting here tomorrow, and i will hopefully get it up and running without breaking something lol.. hopefully the research i have done will be enough to get it running and after a few days maybe Overclocking (ooooo).