• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Only Get 882 on an 800EB

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

CJPC

I can Only Get 882 on an 800EB dualy system.

Anyone know why?

System Temp: 23C
Chip 1 : 39C
Chip 2 : 31C

At times I will get 45C on Chip 1 and around 35C on chip 2 on a full load.

Help

Thanks!

On my first chip, its a bad fan, one of those intel ones. on the second chip i have a coolermaster. I am also at the default voltage.

CJPC, here are some factors that are likely keeping from you to OC higher than 882..

- CPU stepping type/week#/batch

- Both CPU being in the same stepping is highly recommended

- Both CPU must be equally overclockable

- When did you buy the 800EB?

- Did you buy two of them together at the same time?

- Try a better CPU cooling

- Good, highly overclockable RAM? Try single stick?..

- Up the voltage as needed

- The older version of 800EB's usual max OC is 882- 900.

- Check your PSU. Be sure you have plenty of power such as 300+watt or more since u're on Dual 800

But I still think you really did good OC out of your 800EB. 882 is just about close to the max OC'ing if yours is cB0 or older stepping. The newer 800EB's OC like maddness. They go as high as 1Ghz+
Kingslayer has managed to run his dualy 800EB at that speed.

Good luck!!

Thanks for the info.

When I had my single 800 in I got about 984 out of it, with an OEM fan. No cooling, no case fans whatsoever.

I bought them at different times, but I beleive that they are the same.
(Will check it out.)

I bought the first 800, wow, around last november, or mabye feburary. ( It was snowing!)

The second one, I bought around summer-time of this year.

Once Again,

Thanks!

One question, seems kinda stupid.

How do you find out the stepping of the cpu?