• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

is this REALLY that safe

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

willybeef

ok, im a student from england in college doin a network course, but im a little concerned about one of the teachers, he started taking out pci cards & configuring jumpers while the pc was on, he even removed the cmos battery to proove it wiped bios... he didnt electricute himself but on the other hand is this safe? i was told not to ever mess around with the motherboard while its on, but this was in the old AT days.... he also crushed a laser mouse in his hand because the cursor couldnt move :s... i just want feedback so i can provide evidence to the health and safety that he is putting himself and the class at great risk

Other than the components inside the power supply it is safe for the instructor. Not a good plan for the computer. 12V probably won't hurt the instructor, a *lot* less than than can destroy the computer.

This man sounds disturbed. I would document everything, band together with the other students and report the situation to a dean at the school. I don't think it reflects well on the school to have an instructor acting one taco short of a combo platter.:)

Well I don't know if it's actually dangerous, but I've done just about everything short of taking out the CPU while a computer is on and I'm still here.

rseven said:
This man sounds disturbed. I would document everything, band together with the other students and report the situation to a dean at the school. I don't think it reflects well on the school to have an instructor acting one taco short of a combo platter.:)

I like the analogy.