Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

urgent help needed

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-09-05, 12:38 AM Thread Starter   #1
ssjwizard
Has slightly less legible writing
than Thideras, Member

 
ssjwizard's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Rio Rancho, NM

10 Year Badge
 
urgent help needed


so im not realy sure which forum this fits best so if it will get better result in a diffrent forum please let me know or move it im despirate.
before i get into details a bit of information onthe system.

im running 1gig of DDR400
althlon 64 3000+
chaintech motherboard(cannot recall model number)
and a geforce fx 6400 pci-x16
running on an antec 350W psu

ok so ive ben using windows 2k pro for quite some time and ive run into just about ever problem imaginable. ok so here we go i was in windows lastnight and the system shutoff and stoped responding. so after abou 10 mins tring to get it up(pressing power button failed to yeild any result) i disconected power from the wall unhooked all input devices and all power/ide cables and allowed the system 30 mins to sit. after reconecting all cables and devices presing the power button allowed the system to turn on but unable to boot intow windows. after tring safemode and all the tricks i know that dont inolve a reinstall i went ahead and formated the hdd and attempted to reinstall. after several atempts and lots of strange hdd errors i declared the hdd FUBAR and swaped it out with a western digital 60gig ata 100 i had in storage for just such a situation. after fdisk and format the install went smoothly although very slow. apon completion i can boot into windows but my cpu is running at 100% usage with ANY window open before i installed any drivers or any software. my cpu is currently NOT overclocked nor has it ben since i built it 3 months ago. cpu temps are running around 35C. acording to cmos boot all 1gig of ram test ok. my volts are running a tad low but nothing drastic. my +12v is running at around 11.92 and 3.3v at 3.2 and change. any ideas on what hardware/software/cmos might be messed up i realy need to get the system back online ASAP

ok a bit of new info ok so i got some of the mboard drivers installed(nforce 4) and it didnt realy clear anythingup. i dont think its the cpu in my experence a cpu either works or it doesnt please correct me if im wrong. i need to do this as cheeply as possible and as quickly as possible so any advice on testing current gear or repairing it im open to any sugestions.

__________________
Life is what you make of it, we exist for the sole purpose of existing. Dont waste the universe efforts!
All statements, imagery, and ideas contained within any posts are merely retold tales of fictional acts by a figment of the universe imagination.

So your looking for an AMD FX motherboard, things you need to know. Whats the max safe temps/volts for an FX?

Green Gorilla, CM 690-II nVidia, FX 8320, GTX 670, liquid cooled
Liquid Fusion, CM 690-II, A8+6670 Dual GFX, liquid cooled
Extreme evaporative water loop 450mm^3 water cooled beast - Incomplete
ssjwizard is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-09-05, 02:04 AM   #2
Gnufsh
Senior Member

 
Gnufsh's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: June Lake, California

 
Did you try clearing the cmos? Did you try with a minimal setup? Have you tried memtest86 (much more through than the post memory check).

__________________
Lost access to the classifieds? Look here.
Forum Policies
Sig Rules

"Men occasionally stumble over the truth, but most of them pick themselves up and hurry off as if nothing ever happened."
-Sir Winston Churchill
Gnufsh is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-09-05, 01:20 PM Thread Starter   #3
ssjwizard
Has slightly less legible writing
than Thideras, Member

 
ssjwizard's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Rio Rancho, NM

10 Year Badge
 
yes i have tried reseting the cmos, and win2k just installs with a standard configuration so no way to test that. no i havnt tried that memory program which is why im asking any tools that can run a test id be happy to get and try.

__________________
Life is what you make of it, we exist for the sole purpose of existing. Dont waste the universe efforts!
All statements, imagery, and ideas contained within any posts are merely retold tales of fictional acts by a figment of the universe imagination.

So your looking for an AMD FX motherboard, things you need to know. Whats the max safe temps/volts for an FX?

Green Gorilla, CM 690-II nVidia, FX 8320, GTX 670, liquid cooled
Liquid Fusion, CM 690-II, A8+6670 Dual GFX, liquid cooled
Extreme evaporative water loop 450mm^3 water cooled beast - Incomplete
ssjwizard is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-09-05, 02:15 PM   #4
Gnufsh
Senior Member

 
Gnufsh's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: June Lake, California

 
Try memetest86. By minimal configuration, I meant hardware, ie installing only what you need to boot (no extra drives or expansion cards).

__________________
Lost access to the classifieds? Look here.
Forum Policies
Sig Rules

"Men occasionally stumble over the truth, but most of them pick themselves up and hurry off as if nothing ever happened."
-Sir Winston Churchill
Gnufsh is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-11-05, 12:16 AM Thread Starter   #5
ssjwizard
Has slightly less legible writing
than Thideras, Member

 
ssjwizard's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Rio Rancho, NM

10 Year Badge
 
ya tried that didnt work. i actualy had some substitute ram from another case that i know works and reformated/installed same problem. i can only figure its either the cpu or the motherboard at this time. so i figure ill use the rma i have on the cpu since i have the 3yr warentee on this one. and if its still not going then i soupose ill have to pocket a new motherboard.

__________________
Life is what you make of it, we exist for the sole purpose of existing. Dont waste the universe efforts!
All statements, imagery, and ideas contained within any posts are merely retold tales of fictional acts by a figment of the universe imagination.

So your looking for an AMD FX motherboard, things you need to know. Whats the max safe temps/volts for an FX?

Green Gorilla, CM 690-II nVidia, FX 8320, GTX 670, liquid cooled
Liquid Fusion, CM 690-II, A8+6670 Dual GFX, liquid cooled
Extreme evaporative water loop 450mm^3 water cooled beast - Incomplete
ssjwizard is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:57 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?