Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > nVidia GPUs
nVidia GPUs
Forum Jump

7800 GT suspect for system crash. Help please

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-11-05, 09:44 PM Thread Starter   #1
MmCheeto
Member

 
MmCheeto's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Dallas , Texas

 
7800 GT suspect for system crash. Help please


Hello. I have been fighting system crashes for a little wile now and I think I have made a little headway. I started a thread in the Mobo section to see if anyone there could find any fault with the mobo or atleast help me find one. Here is the link to that thread. . I just updated my Nvidia drivers and that made a huge difference but its still crashing just not as often now.

System stats
Mobo = Abit AW8-MAX "settings to default"
CPU = P4 2.8g Smithfield HT "it is unOCed to firgure out what the prob is"
Ram = 4 sticks 512 OCZ Gold "Stock volt atm"
VidCard = BFG Gforce 7800 GT OC "UnOCed"
Sound = onboard
HDD = 2x250gig WD SATA1 on stripe raid
Cooling = Robust water cooling see sig for details.

So far I can tell its not heat caused , PSU , CPU , or Ram. Anyone have a program in mind that can record stats on your machine like a black box? Something that can help trace the cause?. Anyways need more data just let me know. thanks in advance.
MmCheeto is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-11-05, 09:50 PM   #2
cornbread
Member

 
cornbread's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: The great USA!

10 Year Badge
 
This is probably a stupid question, but do you by any chance play World of Warcraft? Reason I ask is I was thinking of getting the same card. Then I was browsing the WoW forums and seen several post with people complaining about stability problems with their 7800's and WoW's latest patch.

Probably not related to you, but just curious.

__________________
Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium
Intel i5-2500 CPU @ 3.30GHz
10GB Memory
ATI Radeon HD 7570
cornbread is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-11-05, 10:35 PM   #3
Sentential
Contributing Member

 
Sentential's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Midland, Texas

 
What are your temps like, both on the card and CPU.
Sentential is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-11-05, 10:40 PM   #4
deception``
Member



Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Atlanta

 
Have you noticed any changes in your voltage rails since you installed the 7800GT? I say this because video cards can often place some stress on the system. Personally, I had to adjust my pots a tad when I moved from a 3000+ Venice @ 2.8 GHZ to an Opteron 146 @ 3.0 GHZ.

deception``
deception`` is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-12-05, 05:42 AM   #5
Blackmage
Member

 
Blackmage's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: London.Uk

 
Defrag, Driver clean, tryed any of these?

__________________
Intel Pentinum (E2180) 3.0Ghz (Cooling Freezer 7 pro)
Abit IP35-E
4GB Super Talent DDR2 800MHz
ATI HD 3450
LG GSA-4163B Black 16x16 ħR Dual Layer DVD Writer
200Gb Maxtor Diamondmax Plus 10/250 GB Samsung Spinpoint
Coolerrmaster 310
580W HiperPower Type-R Modular Blue PSU Quiet Dbl Fan
Creative Labs X-Fi Music
Blackmage is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-12-05, 06:22 AM   #6
bapski
Member



Join Date: Jul 2005

 
i know you've checked, but dont think you mentioned any details about
PSU brand, make? its most usually is the culprit.

also i have the same vc. but had no problems ever since i installed it.

__________________
my PRIDE AND JOY IN ACTION
286 FSB 1.4 VCORE | PCMARK05:5996 | 3DMARK04:8238 | AQUAMARK:101,816 | PCMARK04: 8174

INTEL PENTIUM D 830 3.0 @ 4ghz | ASUS P5WD2 PREMIUM | CORSAIR XMS2 TWIN2X1024A-5400UL @360.6 | PLEXTOR 716A | BFG NVIDIA 7800 GT OC 497/1.19
WATER COOLED: STORM WATER BLOCK, MAZE4 GPU BLOCK MCP 655 PUMP, THERMOCHILL PA120.3 with PS120B.3 shroud, 6 PANAFLO FANS (FBA12G12U)
MONITOR: SONY MFM-HT95 | PSU: ANTEC 550 TRUEPOWER | HD: WESTERN DIGITAL 80GB x 4 ULTRA ATA converted to SATA using ROCKETHEAD 100
CASE: CM STACKER
bapski is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-12-05, 06:32 AM   #7
diehrd
Senior SMP Gawd

 
diehrd's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: NY

10 Year Badge
 
I would bump up the ram voltage a tad..and CPU vcore..do 1 at a time see if it makes any change..

__________________
.
diehrd is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-12-05, 06:24 PM   #8
DeepScience
Super Kiwi

 
DeepScience's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: New Zealand

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by bapski
i know you've checked, but dont think you mentioned any details about
PSU brand, make? its most usually is the culprit..
It's in his sig.

__________________
i7 920 -- Asus P6T -- Thermalright Ultra120 -- Hynix 6x4G (24)
Cucial M4 128, Western Digital 2, 4, 2-2-2
Seasonic Platinum 1000W - Stryker
Win8 - Adobe - Vegas Pro
560Ti
<><
DeepScience is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-12-05, 07:53 PM Thread Starter   #9
MmCheeto
Member

 
MmCheeto's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Dallas , Texas

 
OK I found the problem. Drum roll pleas "blrrrrlrllrlrlrlrlrlrllrlrlr" CoolBits ( A program used to overclock some Nvidia cards by adding a file to the reg). After updating Nvidia drivers quite some time agoe I havent played any games up till recent. This issue only pops up when you try to use games with complex shaders or worse HDR. I tride Dling a new version of coolbits but the same result happend. I re downloaded vid driver and same thing. Something about CoolBits and Nvidia 8.85 or 8.84 drivers and 7800gt dont like one another.
MmCheeto is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-12-05, 07:56 PM Thread Starter   #10
MmCheeto
Member

 
MmCheeto's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Dallas , Texas

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by cornbread
This is probably a stupid question, but do you by any chance play World of Warcraft? Reason I ask is I was thinking of getting the same card. Then I was browsing the WoW forums and seen several post with people complaining about stability problems with their 7800's and WoW's latest patch.

Probably not related to you, but just curious.
Yes I did play WOW with this card a while back but it was with older drivers. Everything worked fine no issues. I have not played sence the latest patch though. I did however notice that Nvidia put some ectra HDR and shader updates in the last few patches witch had a direct influence on HL2 Lost coast (witch uses HDR)
MmCheeto is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-12-05, 07:59 PM   #11
SNieX
Member

 
SNieX's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada- Brampton

 
reformt.. reinstall all... take the nvidia drivers -- get from Nvidia.com... install

try out - stress test the whole system.. CPUburn IN, and get 3dmark 05... run them seperatly...
then after that....

install rival tuner.. overclock the card... then see what happens
SNieX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-13-05, 04:25 AM   #12
DeepScience
Super Kiwi

 
DeepScience's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: New Zealand

 
So are you saying that removing coolbits removes the problem for you?

__________________
i7 920 -- Asus P6T -- Thermalright Ultra120 -- Hynix 6x4G (24)
Cucial M4 128, Western Digital 2, 4, 2-2-2
Seasonic Platinum 1000W - Stryker
Win8 - Adobe - Vegas Pro
560Ti
<><
DeepScience is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-13-05, 11:07 PM Thread Starter   #13
MmCheeto
Member

 
MmCheeto's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Dallas , Texas

 
Yea. I did a reformat , Reload windows and all drivers. Installed Nvidia Drivers 81.85. Did a few benchmarks and everything smooth. Loaded Coolbits and it started again. System crash apon game load or in midgame depending on what you run. Unistalled Nvidia drivers + regclean and reload. All is smooth once more. Just to be sure I did this same thing on another WC system that was running in top shape before I tride anything. I Reformat and install windows to have a clean controle. Loaded all drivers and ran benchmarks and tests.

Second system Stats
Gigabyte GA-8Ik1100
P4 3.0 Pres HT 478
Gforce 6800 Ultra OC (By BFG)
512 x 4 paired Corsair = 2gig DDR
Single WD 80gig HD
Same water cooling stats as in my sig.

System ran cool and stable. I loaded Coolbits and same reaction. So I do know its not limited to the 7800GT. Might be a freak thing but 2 systems with 2 different cards with same drivers and coolbits makes the same reaction. I also did a search or 2 and wow there is alot of issues with the new drivers atm so I wasnt shocked.
MmCheeto is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > nVidia GPUs
nVidia GPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:56 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?