Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Internet, Networking, and Security
Internet, Networking, and Security Networking and Viruses/Malware trouble. Get the answers here.
Forum Jump

Linksys BEFW11S4 router not working

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-12-05, 11:39 AM Thread Starter   #1
Weezynin3r
Registered



Join Date: Jul 2005

 
Linksys BEFW11S4 router not working


Hey all,

My Linksys BEFW11S4 router has stopped working. The 4 ethernet ports seem to be broken. When there is a network cable plugged into anyone of those (ports 1,2,3, and 4) the light doesn't come on. The Power, Wireless-B, and Internet lights all come on when everything is plugged in but not the ethernet lights on the router. I've tried different cables to no success and I've tried resetting the router via pressing in the reset button on the back of the router for 10 seconds. Should I try to upgrade the firmware? Is it even worth it.? In a couple of weeks I'm planning to wire my house with cat5e or cat5 and I was going to get a Linksys WRTG54 then. Right now all computers are on wireless and I can't wait to get them wired.

The serial number is C2760D3F1471 E1 if that helps at all.
Weezynin3r is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-12-05, 11:44 AM   #2
Kevin007
Member

 
Kevin007's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: 321 Florida

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weezynin3r
Hey all,

My Linksys BEFW11S4 router has stopped working. The 4 ethernet ports seem to be broken. When there is a network cable plugged into anyone of those (ports 1,2,3, and 4) the light doesn't come on. The Power, Wireless-B, and Internet lights all come on when everything is plugged in but not the ethernet lights on the router. I've tried different cables to no success and I've tried resetting the router via pressing in the reset button on the back of the router for 10 seconds. Should I try to upgrade the firmware? Is it even worth it.? In a couple of weeks I'm planning to wire my house with cat5e or cat5 and I was going to get a Linksys WRTG54 then. Right now all computers are on wireless and I can't wait to get them wired.

The serial number is C2760D3F1471 E1 if that helps at all.
updating firmware would be the first thing to do, especially if the one it has is really old.

__________________
AMD Phenom II X6 1055T
4.00 GB Mushkin
Gigabyte GA-890GPA-UD3H (Socket M2)
ATI Radeon HD 4800
Kevin007 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-12-05, 12:08 PM Thread Starter   #3
Weezynin3r
Registered



Join Date: Jul 2005

 
Just fixed it! I did a long-reset, pressed reset button in for 30 seconds while on, and the light came on after I restarted. Then I reconfigured the router using the CD and voila! It worked.
Weezynin3r is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Internet, Networking, and Security
Internet, Networking, and Security Networking and Viruses/Malware trouble. Get the answers here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:13 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?