Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

Need help, memory doesnt run at FSB400 when it's rated to run at that speed

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-14-05, 10:14 PM Thread Starter   #1
dkim086
Registered

 
dkim086's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: California

 
Need help, memory doesnt run at FSB400 when it's rated to run at that speed


I have Corsair ValueSelect PC3200 DDR400 512MB ram.

My cpu fsb is 333mhz and I have an asus a7n8x-e deluxe mb. I oc'd the fsb to 200mhz and left the multiplier alone at 11.5. I primed it for only 6mins and already there were errors. I know it is not the cpu as I tested the cpu alone. So obviously I guess it is the ram. I tryed oc'ing the fsb to 195mhz and I've been priming it for about 3 hours and it works fine. I was wondering why the ram can't run at its rated speed of DDR400?
dkim086 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-14-05, 10:47 PM   #2
Vio1
Member



Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Toronto Canada

 
whats the rams suggested voltage? What is the voltage setup in the bios?

__________________
Heatware
Vio1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-14-05, 10:54 PM Thread Starter   #3
dkim086
Registered

 
dkim086's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: California

 
the bios has the memory set at 2.6volts and the memory is rated at 2.5volts. whoops but wait the bios doesnt let me set it to 2.5volts. it only goes to 2.6-2.8. But does .1 volt matter?
dkim086 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-14-05, 11:27 PM   #4
Vio1
Member



Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Toronto Canada

 
no. The problem would be if it was way too low or too high.

How did you test the cpu alone at that overclock? Did you test it at that clock with any ram? If not, then perhaps the oc is too much when you need to power up ram as well.

__________________
Heatware
Vio1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-14-05, 11:39 PM Thread Starter   #5
dkim086
Registered

 
dkim086's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: California

 
there's an option for Prime95 to test the cpu more then the memory. Plus my temps for the cpu stay at around 35C-40C even under 100% load.
dkim086 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:31 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?