• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Confused by FSB/HTT

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Vitalix

Registered
Hey guys and gals,

I am new to overclocking, and new to AMD as well, so please bear with me if this sounds stupid, but...

I just recently purchased:
eVGA nForce4 NF41 mobo
Athlon 3800+ X2 (Manchester) - stock HSF
2X512MB OCZ PC3200 Platinum Rev 2 (TCCD)
Geforce 7800GT (stock)

After playing around for 2 days with HTT and voltages all over the place, it seems that my rig was mostly stable at 240HTT. Running CPU multiplier at 10, running at 2.4GHz. Running memory at 2-3-3-6 1T at 1:1. Running at 250 required me to loosen timings or run a divider on memory and actually benched lower.

What's interesting is that when I ran the HTT multi at x3 (720FSB), my Sandra CPU and memory were at 20263/6304 for Drystone CPU/Memory Bench. When I upped the multi to x4 (960FSB) all other elements the same, the scores were 20255/6272!

What does the increased FSB do for the system? Even in gaming, Half Life 2 and Far Cry played smoother on the 720FSB. Far Cry BSOD-ed at one point at the 960FSB point after about 45 mins.

Did I misconfigure something?

(By the way, anyone thinking of the eVGA NF41 board that comes bundled with the eVGA 7800GT card, it looks like mine tops out at 265FSB (x8 CPU) before losing stability and needing the CMOS cleared).

Thanks in advance as always!