Notices

Overclockers Forums > Overclockers.com Teams > Folding Team
Folding Team Join the Overclockers.com Protein-Folding Team and support medical research!
Forum Jump

Folding and Dual core?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-16-05, 09:07 PM Thread Starter   #1
Brinnswift
Member

 
Brinnswift's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: St. Louis

 
Folding and Dual core?


I have a new rig with the 3800+ and folding will only use one of the cores. Is there a way to get it to use both cores? Thanks
Brinnswift is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-16-05, 09:15 PM   #2
muddocktor
Retired

 
muddocktor's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New Iberia, LA

10 Year Badge
 
You need to set up a second folder with the console version in it; since the present client isn't SMP aware you have to run 2 clients. When you set the second client up, assign it a different machine ID under advanced properties if you set up manually like I do. Someone else can help you out if you use the Wedo one click install method.

I just upgraded my Epox machine to an X2 4400 and it's presently processing a p1481 and a p1149 at almost 900 points/day average.
muddocktor is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-16-05, 09:23 PM   #3
LandShark
Super Shark Moderator

 
LandShark's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Deep Blue Sea (Maryland)

10 Year Badge
 
Wedo's OneClick for dual client is your answer!!

__________________
~~~ Currently Inactive Mode ~~~

Got SOLD? MOVE your own thread!


Folding User Stats
How many GHz of Intel + Nvidia folding power? Dunno! Lost count!

| F@H Vista Sidebar gadget | F@H Yahoo Widget | F@H iGoogle gadget |

| My Heatware | My New HTPC 3.0: Server/Client setup + Better energy efficiency |
LandShark is offline Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-16-05, 09:23 PM   #4
z0n3

 
z0n3's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hoosier Land

 
Download Wedo's 1-click for Duals.

__________________
In other words, look for shiny books.-Frodo Baggins
OK Oni...I've told ya about rubbing David before. Keep it private, eh?-LutaWicasa
I just caught myself putting my credit card into the DVD drive of my computer ... -ghettocomp
LOL if I was sapphire I would leave ruby on there and take her shirt off instead...-Rattle
What do you most want to accomplish with your life? Ban SilverSinkSam-cw823
Ooo. that 1 comes with a mouse!-WarriorII
last friday I got back from annual training and downloaded my duffelbags to my house.-SuperFarStucker
Thank goodness the downtime was not any longer I almost got myself a life-UnseenMenace
I live in a steel reinforced cave/bunker so unless he is on my list of bad guys to kill, I don't pay too much attention to politics.-TommyHolly
z0n3 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-16-05, 09:26 PM   #5
Captain Newbie
Senior Django-loving Member

 
Captain Newbie's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Right seat with a bored "don't kill me" expression

 
Or, as mentioned above, create a second F@H directory for the second CPU, with the console version, ...

__________________
B.S. Computer Science, B.A. Political Science | Commercial Pilot Airplane Single and Multiengine Land, Instrument Airplane
"And, while with silent lifting mind I've trod
The high untresspassed sanctity of space
Put out my hand, and touched the face of God."

Strong * Focused * Safe
Apple Mac Pro 4,1, Two Nehalem Xeons 2.26GHzx4 (Hyperthreaded), 12 GB DDR3 FBDRAM | MacBook Pro 15" (2009)
Captain Newbie is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-16-05, 10:35 PM Thread Starter   #6
Brinnswift
Member

 
Brinnswift's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: St. Louis

 
I'm up and running! Thanks for the help!
Brinnswift is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-20-05, 11:08 AM   #7
Captain Newbie
Senior Django-loving Member

 
Captain Newbie's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Right seat with a bored "don't kill me" expression

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brinnswift
I'm up and running! Thanks for the help!
Fold on!

__________________
B.S. Computer Science, B.A. Political Science | Commercial Pilot Airplane Single and Multiengine Land, Instrument Airplane
"And, while with silent lifting mind I've trod
The high untresspassed sanctity of space
Put out my hand, and touched the face of God."

Strong * Focused * Safe
Apple Mac Pro 4,1, Two Nehalem Xeons 2.26GHzx4 (Hyperthreaded), 12 GB DDR3 FBDRAM | MacBook Pro 15" (2009)
Captain Newbie is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-22-05, 03:48 PM   #8
White Runner

 
White Runner's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Over Here!

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brinnswift
I have a new rig with the 3800+ and folding will only use one of the cores. Is there a way to get it to use both cores? Thanks
I just installed my 3800, got the one-click for duallies; but i was wondering if there is a way to further optimize my computer? Assign one core for large wu's and the other for small ones? I dunno, hence my post.

__________________
Asrock Extreme4--Z68 / / / I7 2600K @ 4.5Ghz
Phanteks PH-TC14-PE / / / DDR3-1600 2x8
Gigabyte 290-X WF3 / / / Clocks 1100/1475
OCZ Vertex3 120GB / / / 2 x 4TB WD Black
Corsair HX850 PSU / / / Corsair Air-540

\m/ OverClockers mATX L33T Club \m/ >>>JOIN NOW<<<
White Runner is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-22-05, 03:56 PM   #9
pik4chu
Senior Yellow Forum Rat

 
pik4chu's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Highlands Ranch, Colorado

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by White Runner
I just installed my 3800, got the one-click for duallies; but i was wondering if there is a way to further optimize my computer? Assign one core for large wu's and the other for small ones? I dunno, hence my post.
by changing the config files and set one to bigpackets=yes and the other to no. but thats about it.

__________________
DFI X58-T3EH8 | I7-920 C0@3.0 (V8) | 6*2GB Corsair Dominator @1800-7-7-7-18 | eVGA 285 | 1.5 TB RAID 0 | Win7 64-bit (456Watts)
Main Server (WIP): DFI X58-T3EH8 | I7-920 C0@3.6 | 3*2GB Corsair Dominator @1800-7-7-7-18 | 8*1.5TB in RAID 5 (283Watts)

Folding User Stats
Team 32 Countdown heatware
pik4chu is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-22-05, 11:26 PM   #10
White Runner

 
White Runner's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Over Here!

 
one thing i noticed is that when my pc starts up... both folding programs do as well... any idea how to keep them from starting right away?

__________________
Asrock Extreme4--Z68 / / / I7 2600K @ 4.5Ghz
Phanteks PH-TC14-PE / / / DDR3-1600 2x8
Gigabyte 290-X WF3 / / / Clocks 1100/1475
OCZ Vertex3 120GB / / / 2 x 4TB WD Black
Corsair HX850 PSU / / / Corsair Air-540

\m/ OverClockers mATX L33T Club \m/ >>>JOIN NOW<<<
White Runner is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-22-05, 11:31 PM   #11
Nexus Realized
Member



Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: FL

 
Under services.msc you can change them to manual and start them once you're booted up and ready to fold.
Nexus Realized is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-22-05, 11:49 PM   #12
White Runner

 
White Runner's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Over Here!

 
thanks for the reply

__________________
Asrock Extreme4--Z68 / / / I7 2600K @ 4.5Ghz
Phanteks PH-TC14-PE / / / DDR3-1600 2x8
Gigabyte 290-X WF3 / / / Clocks 1100/1475
OCZ Vertex3 120GB / / / 2 x 4TB WD Black
Corsair HX850 PSU / / / Corsair Air-540

\m/ OverClockers mATX L33T Club \m/ >>>JOIN NOW<<<
White Runner is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-23-05, 09:02 AM   #13
DManeKid
Member

 
DManeKid's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Brick, NJ USA

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by White Runner
one thing i noticed is that when my pc starts up... both folding programs do as well... any idea how to keep them from starting right away?
well that happens because they are set up to run as a service.. which is actually helpful in most cases... if you dont mind me asking, why wouldnt you want it this way?
DManeKid is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-23-05, 04:20 PM   #14
White Runner

 
White Runner's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Over Here!

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by DManeKid
well that happens because they are set up to run as a service.. which is actually helpful in most cases... if you dont mind me asking, why wouldnt you want it this way?

I just installed a new processor, and when am workin on overclocking, it gets tiring to have to stop both processes... When i am satisfied with my overclock and stable, then i wont have a problem with em both starting.....

__________________
Asrock Extreme4--Z68 / / / I7 2600K @ 4.5Ghz
Phanteks PH-TC14-PE / / / DDR3-1600 2x8
Gigabyte 290-X WF3 / / / Clocks 1100/1475
OCZ Vertex3 120GB / / / 2 x 4TB WD Black
Corsair HX850 PSU / / / Corsair Air-540

\m/ OverClockers mATX L33T Club \m/ >>>JOIN NOW<<<
White Runner is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-23-05, 04:47 PM   #15
Morpheus
Grandfather of Crunchers Senior

 
Morpheus's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: San Diego, CA

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brinnswift
I have a new rig with the 3800+ and folding will only use one of the cores. Is there a way to get it to use both cores? Thanks
Sure, you can switch to Berkeley's BOINC software (that will let you choose as many cores as you have--up to 16, I think).... and then run either Predictor@home or Rosetta@home.

This will not get you any credits for Team 32, but will let you work with protien folding nonetheless... There are many other Overclockers.com BOINC teams too...

__________________
Kris

Notice to signature reader: The entire physical universe, including
this signature, may one day collapse back into an infinitesimally
small space. Should another universe subsequently re-emerge,
the absence of this signature in that universe cannot be guaranteed.

OverClocking the Search for Extra Terrestrial Intelligence
Morpheus is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-23-05, 08:27 PM   #16
White Runner

 
White Runner's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Over Here!

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Morpheus
Sure, you can switch to Berkeley's BOINC software (that will let you choose as many cores as you have--up to 16, I think).... and then run either Predictor@home or Rosetta@home.

This will not get you any credits for Team 32, but will let you work with protien folding nonetheless... There are many other Overclockers.com BOINC teams too...

Unless aliens have an almighty cure, im gonna stick with folding for now but thank you for the info

__________________
Asrock Extreme4--Z68 / / / I7 2600K @ 4.5Ghz
Phanteks PH-TC14-PE / / / DDR3-1600 2x8
Gigabyte 290-X WF3 / / / Clocks 1100/1475
OCZ Vertex3 120GB / / / 2 x 4TB WD Black
Corsair HX850 PSU / / / Corsair Air-540

\m/ OverClockers mATX L33T Club \m/ >>>JOIN NOW<<<
White Runner is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-23-05, 08:31 PM   #17
ChasR
Senior Member

 
ChasR's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Atlanta

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by White Runner
I just installed a new processor, and when am workin on overclocking, it gets tiring to have to stop both processes... When i am satisfied with my overclock and stable, then i wont have a problem with em both starting.....
Run services.msc and set FAH services to manual. Set them to automatic when you've got a stable oc you plan to stick with.

__________________

All ppd from friends and family. Many thanks to HayesK for his support and congrats on being the #1 Folder on Team 32. Special thanks to ChrisC and ColinC


Folding User Stats
ChasR is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-24-05, 02:30 AM   #18
Morpheus
Grandfather of Crunchers Senior

 
Morpheus's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: San Diego, CA

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by White Runner
Unless aliens have an almighty cure, im gonna stick with folding for now but thank you for the info
errr... methinks these are all BOINC projects... I run 3 on my system at all times...

Predictor@home: investigate protein-related diseases
Rosetta@home: help researchers develop cures for human diseases
Climateprediction.net: study climate change
Einstein@home: search for gravitational signals emitted by pulsars
LHC@home: improve the design of the CERN LHC particle accelerator
SETI@home: Look for radio evidence of extraterrestrial life
Cell Computing biomedical research (Japanese; requires nonstandard client software)
World Community Grid: advance our knowledge of human disease. (Requires 5.2.1 or greater)

As you can see there are four different projects working with diseases and cures...

I like the World Community Grid which is sponsored by IBM and United Devices. It is a generalized grid framework which can be used for a variety of scientific tasks. Currently, it supports just one task: the analysis of human proteome folding. This project differs from Folding@Home in that the Human Proteome project is focusing on the science of protein folding and not simply the assessment of specific diseases.

__________________
Kris

Notice to signature reader: The entire physical universe, including
this signature, may one day collapse back into an infinitesimally
small space. Should another universe subsequently re-emerge,
the absence of this signature in that universe cannot be guaranteed.

OverClocking the Search for Extra Terrestrial Intelligence

Last edited by Morpheus; 11-24-05 at 02:42 AM.
Morpheus is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Overclockers.com Teams > Folding Team
Folding Team Join the Overclockers.com Protein-Folding Team and support medical research!
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:16 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?