Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

Confusion over P5WD2 Premium dividers.

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-23-05, 12:23 AM Thread Starter   #1
krag
Classifieds Moderator

 
krag's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Vancouver, Washington

10 Year Badge
 
Confusion over P5WD2 Premium dividers.


I'm an AMD person but have a Intel P5WD2 Premium setup. I am using 2x1gig Crucial pc-6400. The lable on the anti-staic bag says CL5...thats it for mem timings. I have the 640 set to stock and my mem set to 800mhz. CPU-s 1.30 says my mem timings are 4-4-4-18. And my cpu is at 14x200=2810mhz. Sandra give me a score of 5260.

Does the mobo change the divder on the mem automatically? I am very confused with this Intel OC'ing. Any help is appreciated!!

__________________
I.M.O.G. "It's a plugin issue," ...



2600k
Asus P8P67 Pro
4g Corsair Dominator 667
6970 Crossfire
1t Hitachi
Win 7
krag is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 11-23-05, 12:50 AM Thread Starter   #2
krag
Classifieds Moderator

 
krag's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Vancouver, Washington

10 Year Badge
 
The FSB is at 250 and CPU-z says 1000. I know the 250 is quad pumped. But the Sandra bench score is way low. This is with timings of 5-5-5-15


__________________
I.M.O.G. "It's a plugin issue," ...



2600k
Asus P8P67 Pro
4g Corsair Dominator 667
6970 Crossfire
1t Hitachi
Win 7
krag is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-23-05, 01:02 AM   #3
mjgent
Registered

 
mjgent's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tucson

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by krag
I'm an AMD person but have a Intel P5WD2 Premium setup. I am using 2x1gig Crucial pc-6400. The lable on the anti-staic bag says CL5...thats it for mem timings. I have the 640 set to stock and my mem set to 800mhz. CPU-s 1.30 says my mem timings are 4-4-4-18. And my cpu is at 14x200=2810mhz. Sandra give me a score of 5260.

Does the mobo change the divder on the mem automatically? I am very confused with this Intel OC'ing. Any help is appreciated!!
From what I understand, as you raise the fsb in bios you'll see the mem ratio speed change when you look at the selections. e.g. ddr2-667 at 200fsb will change to ddr2-367 at 220fsb. These are 3:5. (667/2=333) (200/333=3:5)
mjgent is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-23-05, 05:41 AM   #4
Illyest
Member



Join Date: May 2005

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by krag
at 14x200=2810mhz. Sandra give me a score of 5260.

Does the mobo change the divder on the mem automatically? I am very confused with this Intel OC'ing. Any help is appreciated!!
The 640 clocking down to 2.8ghz is the Intel Enhanced Speed Steep functionality kicking in when there are no "strenuous" operations running. So it's not the divider that is changing automatically but the cpu multiplier.

As for the "low" sandra scores; If you're indeed running your memory at 800mhz (should be the auto detect on that board for your memory) then yeah, 5200ish is a little low. However, I wouldnt expect better than 200-300 more pts on that score in "default" settings.

If you run the cpu:memory 1:1 and up the FSB to 250 you should hit the low to mid 6000's easily. IMHO, the default dividers on ASUS boreds leave a little something to be desired unless you o/c with a divider set.

Hope this helps a little bit.

__________________
QuadStation Vista Ultimate 64-bit
Thermaltake Armor Super Tower
Silverstone ST85F 850W PSU
eVGA 780i A1 Bios P05p
C2Q Q9450 @ 3200Mhz w/TRUE
2x2GB OCZ DDR2-1066 HPC Reaper
2xEVGA Geforce GTX260 SC SLI 602/1020
Acer 26" AL2616 Widescreen LCD
2xWD 320GB Raid 0
Plextor 12x SATA DVD Writer/Asus 20x IDE DVD Writer
Creative X-Fi Fatal1ty Xtreme Gamer
Logitech Z5500 5.1 Speakers
Illyest is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-23-05, 08:14 AM   #5
BigStan
Member



Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Dallas, TX

 
Quote:
I'm an AMD person but have a Intel P5WD2 Premium setup.
The mem ratios and dividers for this mobo are designed to speed mem up. Not slow it down like the dividers for the DDR1 mem on the amd systems. Your 6400 mem default speed is DDR800 ~ or a frequency of 400mhz. It is not likely you will get your fsb up to 400 where you can run you cpu:mem at 1:1. So you use one fo the mem ratios to get more speed out of your mem once you have reached the max of your cpu.
BigStan is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-23-05, 12:28 PM   #6
crimedog
Member

 
crimedog's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: South of Boston

 
Welcome Krag, you're gonna have fun with this board.

First off you shouldn't worry about all the marketing values. Let's refer to fsb as a mhz, ram speed as a mhz (no ddr2-blahblah), and forget about the quad-pumped bus. When you're in the Jumperfree section, set the fsb then look directly under it at the ram setting. The numbers it shows there are the dividers, but they are in ddr2-blahblah format. They change with the FSB, unlike AMD. So, if you're set to 250mhz fsb, 1:1 will appear as DDR2-500(250mhz ram), and 1:2 will appear as DDR2-1000 (500mhz ram). Then there are all the dividers inbetween.

You will see the cpu at a 14x multi instead of a 16x multi when it's idle, unless you disable C1 Enchanced whatever in the cpu section of the bios. If you want to run the 14x multi you have to enable C1 and set the speedstep to minimum value.

__________________
i'm packing heat
crimedog is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-23-05, 12:34 PM Thread Starter   #7
krag
Classifieds Moderator

 
krag's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Vancouver, Washington

10 Year Badge
 
Awesome bro! That really helps! So the first mem divider selection below the CPU frequency is 1:1?

DDR-400 = 1:1
DDR-533 = 1:2
DDR-600 = ?
DDR-677 = ?
DDR-800 = ?

It seems to me that when I was messing with this board earlier that the 1:1 divider changed after a certain FSB increase. I think it was after 250 in the CPU frequency. Anyone else notice that?

__________________
I.M.O.G. "It's a plugin issue," ...



2600k
Asus P8P67 Pro
4g Corsair Dominator 667
6970 Crossfire
1t Hitachi
Win 7
krag is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-23-05, 12:39 PM   #8
crimedog
Member

 
crimedog's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: South of Boston

 
i'm not sure about change but the first one for me is usually a backwards divider (ram slower than fsb) then the second is 1:1

@ 200fsb
DDR-400 = 1:1
DDR-533 = 3:4
DDR-600 = 2:3
DDR-677 = 3:5
DDR-800 = 1:2

__________________
i'm packing heat

Last edited by crimedog; 11-23-05 at 03:47 PM.
crimedog is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-23-05, 02:15 PM   #9
mjgent
Registered

 
mjgent's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tucson

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by crimedog
i'm not sure about change but the first one for me is usually a backwards divider (ram slower than fsb) then the second is 1:1

@ 200fsb
DDR-400 = 1:1
DDR-533 = 1:2
DDR-600 = 2:3
DDR-677 = 3:5
DDR-800 = 1:2
Shouldn't DDR-533 = 4:5?
mjgent is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-23-05, 03:46 PM   #10
crimedog
Member

 
crimedog's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: South of Boston

 
oops you're right i copied from krag
400:533 = 3:4 though

__________________
i'm packing heat
crimedog is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-23-05, 04:24 PM   #11
mjgent
Registered

 
mjgent's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tucson

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by crimedog
oops you're right i copied from krag
400:533 = 3:4 though
That's it. I forgot about that ratio.
mjgent is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-23-05, 11:58 PM Thread Starter   #12
krag
Classifieds Moderator

 
krag's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Vancouver, Washington

10 Year Badge
 
Hmmm, well the confusion continues. I am testing this crucial pc6400 2gig set here and I have CPU-z open while I am benching Sady and I can't believe my eyes. The multi is changing...from 14x to 16x. The multi is at 14x when the system is at idle. Then when I enable the benchmark the multi changes to 16x immediately. Anyone know anything about this??? Very wierd to an AMD boi!

These speeds aer at DDR-1000 2.3v on "auto" mem frequency

At idle right after a bench...14x multi
Attached Images
 

__________________
I.M.O.G. "It's a plugin issue," ...



2600k
Asus P8P67 Pro
4g Corsair Dominator 667
6970 Crossfire
1t Hitachi
Win 7

Last edited by krag; 11-24-05 at 12:12 AM.
krag is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-24-05, 12:15 AM   #13
speed bump
Member

 
speed bump's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Montana tech Butte mt.

 
Its called intel EIST or speed step or something its there thermal throttleing technology I believe you can turn it off in the bios though, but I am not sure where as my board isn't here yet.

__________________
Big changes coming: Intel e4300, DFI Blood iron, Crucial DDR2-8500, ATI x859xt, MCW-6002>Ehiem 1250>Bip3 with 3 nidec beta Vs, Sunbeam Zorro, Corsair 650 watter
Stuff I should be using but don't: Finally got around to running that stuff.

Ever run a benchmark? support our forums by posting it in the 3dmark team and system benchmarking team sections.
My heatware

Silence may be golden but performance is platinum
speed bump is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-24-05, 12:16 AM Thread Starter   #14
krag
Classifieds Moderator

 
krag's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Vancouver, Washington

10 Year Badge
 
This one is during the bench...16x multi Sorry about the bogus pics
Attached Images
 

__________________
I.M.O.G. "It's a plugin issue," ...



2600k
Asus P8P67 Pro
4g Corsair Dominator 667
6970 Crossfire
1t Hitachi
Win 7
krag is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-24-05, 12:17 AM   #15
crimedog
Member

 
crimedog's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: South of Boston

 
in the cpu section of the bios you wanna turn off C1 enchancement, thermal throttling, and set the speed step option to disabled (i can't remember it's title sorry). that should keep it at 16x.

__________________
i'm packing heat
crimedog is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-24-05, 12:18 AM Thread Starter   #16
krag
Classifieds Moderator

 
krag's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Vancouver, Washington

10 Year Badge
 
Jeeeesh, I hate it already.

Ok, the cpu-z shot of the mem timings is blank.
Attached Images
 

__________________
I.M.O.G. "It's a plugin issue," ...



2600k
Asus P8P67 Pro
4g Corsair Dominator 667
6970 Crossfire
1t Hitachi
Win 7
krag is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-24-05, 12:32 AM Thread Starter   #17
krag
Classifieds Moderator

 
krag's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Vancouver, Washington

10 Year Badge
 
Changed it. Its at 16x now. It even made the OC a bit more stable too. I was able to complete 16k Super Pi and a small bit into 1mb before it failed. before I failed them all straight out. WAaaahoooooo....16k Super Pi stable....Heh!

__________________
I.M.O.G. "It's a plugin issue," ...



2600k
Asus P8P67 Pro
4g Corsair Dominator 667
6970 Crossfire
1t Hitachi
Win 7
krag is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-24-05, 08:20 PM   #18
RangerXLT8
Member

 
RangerXLT8's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Asheville NC

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by krag
Jeeeesh, I hate it already.

Ok, the cpu-z shot of the mem timings is blank.
You need to set your memory timings manually, I believe in bios it's under chipset, and then configure memory timings manually. then set them to your rated clocks. The crazy timings are the reason for the poor sandra BW benches.

__________________
Core 2 Xeon 3210 Quad Core 2.4GHz
Gigabyte EP-35C-DS3R
Patriot Viper DDR3 4GB 6-6-6-20
ATI HD4870 512MB
OCZ Vertex 2 120GB
2x150GB Raptors
1x320GB Western Digital HDD
LiteOn DVDRW
Heatware 44-0-0
RangerXLT8 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:08 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?