• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Opteron 148 Memory Overclocking with DFI SLI-D

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Indyxc1

Ok, guys I'm new to AMD, but so far I have my Opteron 148 at 3005, here are the settings:

CPU Mult: 11
HTT:273
LDT:4x
Memory at: 166
Memory settings: Auto on everything

The cpu does the small FFT (Max FPU stress) prime 95 test all day long, but when I got to blend (test lots of ram), it throws an error 10 mins in.

Here is the memory:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820146845

Can I assume the chip is stable with blend, or possible could the memory controller on the chip causing the problems? Just not sure what part is not stable from here.

What part is unstable, if the memory is runn at 333 and still the ram prime 95 test is failing?

Thanks
Indyxc

I lowered the LDT to 3x, and it's still giving me trouble.

The problem is I can't get it to pass the Prime 95 blend test, but it passes the FFT test no problem.

With the Prime 95 test the max stable in the Blend prime 95 test.
HTT 250
LDT 3X
Memory 1:1

And then around 2800 it begins to throw errors with the memory at 1:1 in the Blend test in Prime 95. Yet, no problems with the FFT test.

Next I tried setting the memory to 100, so low speed on the memory, and I run the blend test with the CPU at 2800, but it fails after about 10mins. So I try the FFT MAX FPU stress test and it passes it all day long. It even passes the FPU test at 3000mhz.

So the situation is the chip passes the FPU test at any speed, but NOT the Blend Prime 95 test at any speed over HTT 255, NO matter what speed the memory is running at.

I'm still not sure what's unstable at this point. CPU, motherboard, Memory. I browsed around and no one else has had an odd problem like this.