• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Can i get more out of my CPU?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

tmaniac

Hey guys, i have a little question (plz don't go telling me i'm a noob :p )

I've recently bought more memory for my set-up so i could OC my CPU a bit more.
I've read some stuff about overclocking itself but i just want to know the opinion of you guys.

I wonder if it's possible and if so...how i can get more out of my CPU without losing a lot of stability.

my specs:
Memory: 1GB (matched pair) Kingston HyperX PC4000 ddr cl3 (@2.7v)
CPU: Intel Pentium 4 2.6Ghz @ 3.250Ghz (@1.6v)
Mobo: Asus P4P800
GPU: Albatron Geforce 4 Ti4800 SE
Cooling: Koolance External watercooling (CPU, North, GPU, HDD)

here's some screenies of cpu-z

specs.jpg

CareFull! Your pretty close to 1.7 V VCore and that has been known to cause SNDS....and that will abrubtly end your overclocking fun

That voltage is pretty high on the vCore. Are you running water? If not, you might actually want to turn it down some. With water it would be OK, and with phase it would definitely be OK, but if you are running air, it's too high.

You may be running into droop issues with the board itself. There are mnay droop mods that can b done to alleviate this issue. It is common, and even more common with the Asus boards.

Also, you might wanna try a 5:4 divider instead of the 3:2 you are using now. I've read that those boards do not like 3:2 dividers.

I would also enable PAT. Right now, CPU-Z is showing it disabled. Run it in Auto in your BIOS. You might also try bumping the ram voltage up to 2.8v and test the results. Different RAM responds differently to voltage. if it doesn't respond well, or you see no increase in performance or OC'ability, turn it back down.