Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

My Rig keeps freezing..:(

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-12-05, 03:24 PM Thread Starter   #1
G70GT
New Member



Join Date: Dec 2005

 
My Rig keeps freezing..:(


I recently upgraded to a new computer with PCI-Express.
When I play anything cpu/graphics intensive, the computer freezes and i have to restart.

Here are the specs:
Athlon 64 3000+ Venice @ 1.550v
DFI LANPARTY nF4 Ultra-D
1GB Corsair PC3200 Value Ram
eVGA GeForce 7800GT

I am suspecting the power supply is at fault. It is a rosewill 500w with a 20 to 24 pin adapter.
Is the 24 pin adapter causing some kind of voltage issue? or is the power supply a bad brand?
G70GT is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 12-12-05, 03:34 PM   #2
Romulox
Member

 
Romulox's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NJ

 


So you went from a agp to a pci-e board? Did you reinstall the operating system during this upgrade. If you change boards with different different chip sets it is best to reinstall or repair the OS. They're many ppl who also think they need to reinstall after a video card upgrade but I've never had a problem.
For the PSU ,I don't think its that. A 500w rosewill should be enough without an Overclock but just to make
sure download speedfan and monitor the voltages.

__________________

AMD 3800X2
2GB OZC GTX
Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe
xfx 8800gts
Audigy ZS2
Antec III 550/Super lanboy
Samsung 206BW
Romulox is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-12-05, 03:56 PM Thread Starter   #3
G70GT
New Member



Join Date: Dec 2005

 
I went from a VIA K8T800 Pro to nForce 4, so i had to reinstall windows.
The CPU is a Athlon 64 3000+ overclocked from 1.8GHz to 2.7GHz.
Also, i should add that the PSU makes squeaking sounds and is very hot.
The 12v line is at 11.78v and the 5v line is at 4.83v
G70GT is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-12-05, 04:01 PM   #4
apu318
Disabled

 
apu318's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Welland: Most drug use per capita in Canada.

 
Put everything back down to stock clock speeds and try to play games. If it doesn't crash, then you know your overclock is not stable. Most likely that it is your PSU. those voltage are quite low for an overclock of such magnitude. What are your CPU temps like? Could you check your ram and CPU voltage under load with Speedfan? They're probably drooping down severly because of your weak PSU.
apu318 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-12-05, 04:14 PM   #5
ocZer
Member



Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Norway - subzero watercooling in winter :D

 
I agree. Try at stock speeds. What kind of noise is the PSU making? 500W should be enough though. Just make sure it not your OC that's too high.
ocZer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-12-05, 08:55 PM Thread Starter   #6
G70GT
New Member



Join Date: Dec 2005

 
The PSU is making high pitched sqeaks about every half second. It also has a "heated" plastic smell to it. I want to overclock my CPU though. It was stable at 2.7GHz before the switch to the DFI.
G70GT is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-12-05, 10:00 PM   #7
Romulox
Member

 
Romulox's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NJ

 
I didn't realize you where overclocking when I first read the post, I kinda ignored the voltage when I didn't see a speed rating. Those are signs that your PSU is failing. I would suggest lowering the OC to stock for now until you get a new PSU. At this point there isn't any other option If you want to OC with your current setup becuase a OCing pci-e system takes a better quality PSU espically with a 7800. If your PSU is still reacting the way you descibed at stock you should leave the comp off until you get a new PSU. A failing power supply can be bad for your system.

__________________

AMD 3800X2
2GB OZC GTX
Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe
xfx 8800gts
Audigy ZS2
Antec III 550/Super lanboy
Samsung 206BW
Romulox is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-13-05, 03:45 AM   #8
ocZer
Member



Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Norway - subzero watercooling in winter :D

 
That does not sound good at all. If I where in your shoes I would just keep it off and unplug the PSU. Apparantly it's heating up inside, and might just take a few components to it's grave when it fails. You do not want that to happen.
ocZer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-13-05, 02:56 PM Thread Starter   #9
G70GT
New Member



Join Date: Dec 2005

 
Yea, i wouldn't want that to happen. I have been doing some research, and I found the FSP Fortron Blue Storm 500 Watt PSU. Is this power supply any good? It has plenty of good customer reviews.
G70GT is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-13-05, 04:48 PM   #10
ocZer
Member



Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Norway - subzero watercooling in winter :D

 
Fortron PSU's are excellent. Several other companys buy from them and stick their name on them. I was about to buy one, but then I went for an Enermax.
ocZer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-14-05, 02:47 PM   #11
Sniper.nkc
Member



Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Palmdale CA

 
I am not sure what MB bios version you have. I had some problem and I flashed my motherboard bios to version 623-3. That solved my problem.

__________________
CPU: AMD 1090T Black EditionThuban
Cooler: Corsair H50 Hydro Series (push/pull)
MB: Asus Crosshair IV Formula 890FX
SSD: OCZ Vertex 2 60 Gb
HD: 2 x WD Caviar Blue (Raid 0)
Mem: OCZ Gold series DDR3-1600
GPU: Sapphire HD 6970 in CrossfireX
PS: Corsair HX1000W Modular
Case: AZZA Solano 1000
Sniper.nkc is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-14-05, 02:58 PM   #12
Albaholic
Member

 
Albaholic's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Oahu, Hawaii

10 Year Badge
 
those bluestorm psu's are awesome i wouldnt hesitate to buy another one

__________________
Heat
Albaholic is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-15-05, 12:55 AM Thread Starter   #13
G70GT
New Member



Join Date: Dec 2005

 
i have the latest 6/23/05 bios.

Update: It seems to always freeze after 15-20 mins of game play, with the room smelling like "hot" plastic. The PSU hasn't blown yet....
G70GT is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-15-05, 06:56 AM   #14
Tiesto
Member

 
Tiesto's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005

 
i'm surprised nobody told you this yet:

http://www.dfi-street.com/forum/showthread.php?t=10785

DFI specifically says to use 24-pin PSU, not 20pin-to 24-pin converters.

also, Rosewill are POS units. and a POS 500W couldnt keep up with a good 400W power supply. Get something with a proven track record, like an Enermax, Antec, Fortron, Tagan, PC&C. If you get a PSU that's almost half the price of similar units from these companies, than you're getting screwed. you get what you pay for.
Tiesto is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-16-05, 04:35 PM   #15
fatguy
Member

 
fatguy's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: New York City

10 Year Badge
 
The smell of hot plastic might be your PWM chip frying...what are you're PWMIC temps?

This is a sure sign that you don't have all 4 power connectors hooked up to the board. All 4 must be connected for stability:

** Image Linked from DFI-Street (http://www.dfi-street.com/forum/showthread.php?t=34504) **


__________________



HEATWARE
fatguy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-19-05, 11:55 AM Thread Starter   #16
G70GT
New Member



Join Date: Dec 2005

 
I'm pretty sure that the plastic smell is coming from the power supply itself.
I have all four power connectors plugged in.
The PWM Temperatures seem normal (115 F)
G70GT is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-20-05, 05:49 PM   #17
apu318
Disabled

 
apu318's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Welland: Most drug use per capita in Canada.

 
Your PSU is crapping out on you. You will need a new one. If there is one thing you listen to strangers on the internet about, it's this. You'll be kicking your own ass (after we do) if your PSU fails and friends your hardware.
apu318 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-20-05, 09:30 PM   #18
Electric Bill
Registered

 
Electric Bill's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rhode Island, USA

 
Rosewill=Junk.
OCZ, Enermax, Antec, Fortron are all good and reasonably priced.
I just went from an Antec 480 NeoPower to a OCZ 520 PowerStream on my nF4 Ultra-D.
I like it a lot.

__________________
ASRock 970 Extreme3
FX-4100 w/Coolermaster GeminII S cooler
M Station HT-1100 HTPC Media Center case
Antec 480 NeoPower PSU
Kingston HyperX Blu 8GB KHX1600C9D3B1K2/8GX
Gigabyte GV-R467ZL 4670/1GB video card
Hitachi HDS721050CLA362 500GB SATA hd
Windows7 Ultimate x64 & Ubuntu 10.04 LTS (partitioned)
Pioneer DVR-215D SATA DVD burner
Samsung 40" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV LN40C630


You can teach an old dog; it just takes longer.
Electric Bill is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-20-05, 09:43 PM   #19
RJARRRPCGP
Member



Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA (Springfield, Vermont)

10 Year Badge
 
Check the fan in the power supply. The power supply fan may not be spinning!

__________________
Asus Maximus II Gene- Core 2 Quad Q6600 SLACR @ 3.3 Ghz (367x9.0)

Where I come from "Z97" is a radio station
-ICH10R
- eVGA GeForce GT 640-Antec VP-450


" holy cow!! you find a rat in there too!?!?!? " -turbohans
"Reinstall winders." -jivetrky
"I think I am going to need another coke before I start this up." -cadman420
"Soon Windows will be 50 gb! lololol" -Tokae
"NOT FOR SALE IN CALIFORNIA."
RJARRRPCGP is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:15 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?