Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

Mobos that are socket AM2 ready...

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-21-05, 04:01 PM Thread Starter   #1
TheReds
Registered



Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: So Cal

 
Mobos that are socket AM2 ready...


Which motherboards are capable of handling the new socket once it comes out??? For the ones that do, does that mean they can take DDR and DDR2???


cheers
TheReds is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 12-21-05, 04:07 PM   #2
pwnt by pat
Member

 
pwnt by pat's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Cranberry Twp. PA

 
ddr2 only. supposedly

Asus KAM2N-SLI/CF
ABIT KAM2
MSI KAM2N Platinum

__________________
Intel 630
ASUS P5LD2-VM
2x256 WINTEC AMP-X
Raptor 360gb + Seagate sata 400gb
Pioneer DVR-106
Antec True350
Cheapest black USB keyboard from the Egg + Razer Viper

Some people don't deserve to have anything electronic other than a TV, and maybe a toaster, becuase they may hurt themselves and possibly someone else.
pwnt by pat is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-21-05, 04:13 PM   #3
azu
Member

 
azu's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2005

 
what happened to the ASROCK uli 1695 chipset? it has 'support' for M2 but its DDR loll..
azu is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-21-05, 10:29 PM   #4
darksparkz
Member

 
darksparkz's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Chicago, IL

 
Good point, the ASRock board does claim to be able to take AM2 socket, but what about the DDR2. I think it would take a while for actual stable AM2 boards to be released.

__________________
Antec P182 w/ 3 Yate Loon D1SL-12
Intel DG965WH Motherboard
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
G.Skill 4x2GB DDR2 PC6400 4-4-4-12
WD Raptor WD1500ADFD 150GB
OCZ Vertex2 60GB SSD
eVGA 8800GTS 512MB
Asus DRW-24B1ST
Corsair HX520
Scythe Ninja w/Panaflo 120mmx38mm FBA12G12M

[Heatware] <---Or rather lack of heatware
darksparkz is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-22-05, 10:54 AM   #5
Avg
Senior Member

 
Avg's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: NY, Long island

 
Remenber that mem support is not up to the chipset anymore but to the chip being used, and their is no point in selling a board now with ddr2 as a dimm if their is no mem controller to support it.

__________________
Avg is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:02 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?