Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Internet, Networking, and Security
Internet, Networking, and Security Networking and Viruses/Malware trouble. Get the answers here.
Forum Jump

DSL modem question/poll

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-29-05, 01:11 PM Thread Starter   #1
Tithulta
Member

 
Tithulta's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Cleveland, TN

 
Question DSL modem question/poll


I going to go DSL, again, finally and I was wondering if the USB modems are still to be avoided?

Had dsl at parents
moved no dsl avail
got married...still no dsl avail
bought house
DSL available

__________________
Future APU system; Coming soon
AM3 3.6ghz x4 975 4gb ddr3 1600
AM2 Tricore 2.4ghz 2gb ddr2 800
A64 3000+ 2 systems 939
tforce 6100's w/2gb ddr400
7600gs and 2 3650's
Heatware
Tithulta is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-29-05, 07:51 PM   #2
don256us

 
don256us's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Bridgman, MI

10 Year Badge
 
My rule is to always aviod a USB modem. For all services DSL or otherwise. I feel that USB asks too much of the host machine. Call me silly if you feel the need but that's what I think.

__________________
Core i7-920 @ 3.66 | EVGA X58 SLI | 2x 256 GB Samsung 830 SSD RAID 0 | 1.5 TB WD Green | 6x4GB DDR3 1600 CAS 8 |2 X R9 280XFolding
AMD 1035T X6 | Win 7 Pro |Zalman 7000 Cu | DDR3 1333 (16 GB) | 500 GB SATA x 2 | 240 GT | Not folding.
AMD Athlon II x3 440 @ x4 B40 | Win SBS 2008 | 120 GB | DDR3 1600 (4 GB) | ATI 4200 | 2 x DVD-DL | Folding.


Folding User Stats
My Heatware
Fold for team 32.
don256us is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-29-05, 08:47 PM   #3
jajmon
Member

 
jajmon's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Burnsville, Minnesota

 
I would stay away from USB if possible, like Don said. Go ethernet if you can. Cards are cheap these days, $10 or so if you shop around and most mobo's these days have ethernet built in.
jajmon is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-29-05, 10:44 PM   #4
PCphreak
Member

 
PCphreak's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Dayton, Ohio

 
If you go with a USB modem, and then later deciede to add a network...you'll have a problem. Your host computer will have to stay on for the other computer's Internet access.
If you go with a ethernet modem, then you can always just add a router later when you need that network.
PCphreak is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Internet, Networking, and Security
Internet, Networking, and Security Networking and Viruses/Malware trouble. Get the answers here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:04 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?