Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Which CPU for my new setup :)

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-30-05, 12:36 AM Thread Starter   #1
huey
Member

 
huey's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2005

 
Which CPU for my new setup :)


I am upgrading my computer, and looking at cpu's. Alots changed since the day of the newcastle and the winchester 939's. I want to get a chip with a good amount of cache that also has a good amount of speed. I dont want to spend more than 300 on the chip. I was wondering what would be a good chip for my budget/rig.

Heres what i will be running
2x512 GSKILL FX's
DFI lanparty ultrad
ocz powerstream 520.
7800 GT
Watercooling. (not a kit)

__________________
AMD 3800x2 @ 2700mhz prime95 and superpi32m stable
G.Skill fx's @ 300mhz 2.5-4-3-7
ocz powerstream 520
homegrown wc
DFI Ultra-d ad0
x800GTO2-550/600 16pipes
huey is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-30-05, 12:44 AM   #2
castroman
Member

 
castroman's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cortland, NY

 
Well I love my 3700+ Sandy you can get them for as low as 202 with free 2 day shipping

__________________
Desktop Specs:

CPU: Intel Core I7 920 Stock
Heat Sink: Corsair H100
Mobo: EVGA X58 FTW3 1366 Intel
RAM: CORSAIR DOMINATOR 12GB (6 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 560 Ti 2
Case: Corsair Graphite Series 600T
PSU: Silverstone ST1000-P 1000W
OS: Windows 7 x64 Professional
castroman is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-30-05, 01:43 AM   #3
IWasHungry
Member

 
IWasHungry's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Seattle, WA

 
Definetly looks like San Diego core will be the way to go with this setup. Here are your choices:
- 3700+
- Opteron 144
- Opteron 146
- Opteron 148

If you buy any one of these, chances are you'll be able to overclock it to >2.5GHz

IWasHungry is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-30-05, 01:53 AM   #4
darksparkz
Member

 
darksparkz's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Chicago, IL

 
All the 144, 146, and 148 should OC to 2.9ghz or so, results vary, but many have done it.

If you are willing to break $300, you'd get a great CPU, the Opteron 165 dual core, just by spending that extra bit of money, you'd have a huge upgrade from the 148s.

__________________
Antec P182 w/ 3 Yate Loon D1SL-12
Intel DG965WH Motherboard
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
G.Skill 4x2GB DDR2 PC6400 4-4-4-12
WD Raptor WD1500ADFD 150GB
OCZ Vertex2 60GB SSD
eVGA 8800GTS 512MB
Asus DRW-24B1ST
Corsair HX520
Scythe Ninja w/Panaflo 120mmx38mm FBA12G12M

[Heatware] <---Or rather lack of heatware
darksparkz is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-30-05, 01:55 AM   #5
funnyperson1
Senior Member

 
funnyperson1's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Northern VA

10 Year Badge
 
It would be like 20 bucks out of your budget, but imho dual core would be worth an extra 20 bucks. http://www.mwave.com/mwave/viewspec....iteria=BA22051

If not, I think the 146 Opteron gives a nice balance of high clock speeds with high HTT speeds.

__________________

"Strong with the fold this boy is, fold you must"-NASSoccer
its a shame you cant ban people for being ignorant fanboys....
My Heatware
[Gigabyte MA790X-UDP4][PHII 940BE][Thermalright Ultra90][2x2GB OCZ Reaper HPC][Palit HD4850][Enhance 5150GH][Windows 7,Ubuntu 12.04]
funnyperson1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-30-05, 03:02 AM   #6
The Coolest
Senior Member

 
The Coolest's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

10 Year Badge
 
I would also suggest you consider adding those $20-30 and get the dual core 165 Opteron.

__________________
"<The_Coolest> You can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 or 8800 Ultra / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.
Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors

Heatware
The Coolest is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-30-05, 03:33 AM Thread Starter   #7
huey
Member

 
huey's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2005

 
Ok, going to go with the 165

__________________
AMD 3800x2 @ 2700mhz prime95 and superpi32m stable
G.Skill fx's @ 300mhz 2.5-4-3-7
ocz powerstream 520
homegrown wc
DFI Ultra-d ad0
x800GTO2-550/600 16pipes
huey is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:59 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?