Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Forum Jump

How many amps does a gaming PC pull?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-31-05, 12:37 AM Thread Starter   #1
Stryfe

 
Stryfe's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

 
How many amps does a gaming PC pull?


My roomate and I would like to have some friends over for some LAN action but we live in a 100 year old apartment block and power is limited so I need to be careful how much we put on each circut. How many amps does an average gaming PC draw from the wall?

__________________
Join the OC Seti Team
My SETI@Home Machines:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.8ghz------------Intel Core i5 750 @ 4.0ghz
Thermalright Venomous X----------------Thermalright Ultra 120
Asus P8Z68-V Pro-------------------------Asus P7P55D Pro
2x4096mb Patriot DDR3 1600-----------2x2048mb Patriot DDR3 1333
eVGA GTX 670 2gb -----------------------Asus Radeon 5850 1gb
Samsung 840 Pro 240gb-----------------Samsung F1 1TB
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit----------------Windows Server 2k8 R2 64bit
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
My Heatware
Stryfe is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-02-06, 12:56 AM Thread Starter   #2
Stryfe

 
Stryfe's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

 
*bump*
Anyone?

__________________
Join the OC Seti Team
My SETI@Home Machines:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.8ghz------------Intel Core i5 750 @ 4.0ghz
Thermalright Venomous X----------------Thermalright Ultra 120
Asus P8Z68-V Pro-------------------------Asus P7P55D Pro
2x4096mb Patriot DDR3 1600-----------2x2048mb Patriot DDR3 1333
eVGA GTX 670 2gb -----------------------Asus Radeon 5850 1gb
Samsung 840 Pro 240gb-----------------Samsung F1 1TB
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit----------------Windows Server 2k8 R2 64bit
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
My Heatware
Stryfe is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-02-06, 01:05 AM   #3
Electron Chaser
Senior Delta Fanatic

 
Electron Chaser's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: I live by a Delta

 
On average they will pull between 3 to 5 Amps @ 120 VAC depending on what you have you are running in the rig and the size/type of the monitor.

__________________
I am the Senior Omega of the Delta ... Fan Users :burn:
Custom 48" X 24" X 12" Case- Abit IC7-MAX3 - Pentium 4 3.4 EE @ 4.2 |Mach II Phase Cooled
BFG 6800 Ultra @ 470 | NV-68 Water Cooled -1.5 GB PQI PC4400 -1 KW PCP&C -
2 X Raptor 150GB RAID 0 , 2 74GB Raptor RAID 1, 1 36GB Raptor, 1 250GB WD SATA
BIX3 w/ 3 GFB1212VHW Fans (660 CFM Total) -Case Fans 5 EFB1212SHE (710 CFM Total)
MB / RAM Cooler 2 TFB1212GHE (440 CFM Total)

:cool: 1800+ CFM of Pure Delta Coolness :cool:
Someone Help you out? Post a Thank you here. Project Denali Heat
Electron Chaser is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-05-06, 12:01 AM   #4
kimochii72
Member

 
kimochii72's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, Fl

 
I just ran a test using my seasonic power angel with my opteron 170 oc'd to 2770 with both cores maxed out on sp2004 and benched with 3dmark 03 and 05 for a minute on each program. AA/AF was fully maxed and 6800GT maxed to 420/1130.
The monitor read an average of 2.8-4.0 amps pull during the test
kimochii72 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-05-06, 04:41 AM   #5
GigaForce310
Member

 
GigaForce310's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2003

 
I usually figure 5 amps per computer (600 watts), I always overestimate because popping a circuit with a computer on it is a bad idea. If I have too many computers to power, then I will actually calculate how much power draw that is being used and distribute accordingly. I don't care if I break the cirucit that monitors or other equipment are on so I group those together if need be. I have tapped into lighting circuits with connectors to get more power. One time I even unplugged my main refrigerator (dedicated circuit) and used my mini fridge for drinks so I could squeeze a couple more computers in. I've since split up my wiring onto more breakers so I don't have that problem again.
GigaForce310 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-05-06, 07:43 PM Thread Starter   #6
Stryfe

 
Stryfe's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

 
Thanks for the replies guys, they'll help me out a lot. Especially thank you to kimochii72 for actually going to the trouble of testing this out.

__________________
Join the OC Seti Team
My SETI@Home Machines:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.8ghz------------Intel Core i5 750 @ 4.0ghz
Thermalright Venomous X----------------Thermalright Ultra 120
Asus P8Z68-V Pro-------------------------Asus P7P55D Pro
2x4096mb Patriot DDR3 1600-----------2x2048mb Patriot DDR3 1333
eVGA GTX 670 2gb -----------------------Asus Radeon 5850 1gb
Samsung 840 Pro 240gb-----------------Samsung F1 1TB
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit----------------Windows Server 2k8 R2 64bit
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
My Heatware
Stryfe is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-05-06, 08:55 PM   #7
kimochii72
Member

 
kimochii72's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, Fl

 
I can do some more tests if you like as this device is fun to use. The above number of amps was a round-about number, but I don't remember it hitting over 4amps draw with the whole system loaded.

Last edited by kimochii72; 01-05-06 at 09:16 PM.
kimochii72 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:38 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?