• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

How much voltage can I safely give a water cooled 640?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Killaapp

Hey guys,

I just recently installed water cooling on my P5AD2-E rig to cool my 640. The chip is stable at 263fsb at 1.425volts (in bios). Load temp is about 33-34c.

I recently bumped the fsb to 270 and increased the volts to 1.475 (in bios) and still was not dual prime stable. When the bios was set to 1.475volts it delivered about 1.416 volts under dual prime load. Chip was 35c under load.

My question is, what is the safe max voltage I can feed this processor, and should I base that off the bios setting, or the load voltage.

I have zero experience with Prescott's under water cooling, any advice would be great.

Thank you

while i don't know from first hand experience, judging by ppls sigs and personal accounts from a few forums, 1.5-1.55 should be fine. your 775 mobo is much more robust than you 478 mobo. afaik, on 775 your real limits should be temps, not so much on the vcore.

someone with 775 knowledge needs to hop in here ;)

I think you are being excessively conservative. The default VID of my P4 506 is 1.4V, so I don't lose a moment's sleep running it at 1.5V if required. My particular chip requires 1.44V loaded Vcore to completely stabilize at my 4GHz target clock rate, and it will live essentially forever at that voltage.