• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Bad 3dMark 03 Scores, whats wrong?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

M Powered

I just ran 3dMark 03 with my new system OC to 3.6 Ghz and my score was 4207.

My system specs is P4 640, 2 GB DDR2, and a PNY Geforce 6600.

Load temps? Almost sounds like it might be thermal throttling. List your motherboard and cooling.

batboy said:
Load temps? Almost sounds like it might be thermal throttling. List your motherboard and cooling.

Hey Batboy, Thanks for your effort to help me on overclocking my system in the previous thread.

Anyways, here is another path that I have little or no experience with that I seek your wisdom :)

To answer your question,

P5WD2 Premium motherboard

And that Coolmaster Hyper 48 with AS5 thermal paste.

Do you have links too good software that monitor system temps accurately?

Ah yes, I didn't even look at the name of who posted the question. I know your system quite well now. Didn't Asus provide monitoring software on the install CD? Another alternative is download MBM5 if they have a version that supports your mobo.

Nasgul said:
Sounds to me a like a good score, after all it's a 6600 not a GT.

Even though it may have 256MB, those 256 are not GDDR3 which back in the day I remember my old vanilla 6800 was slower in 3DMarks than my 6600 GT both with 128MB of memory but the GT's GDDR3 was better, even with the 4 less pipelines.

Which BTW, even a GS is faster in several benchmarks (time demos) even though it sports only 12 pipelines compared to the 6800 GT which comes in 16 pipelines, so I guess the clock speeds makes up for the 4 missing PL.