Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Oldest rig that's still running, or still CAN run

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-08-06, 04:03 AM Thread Starter   #1
K15
Member

 
K15's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005

 
Oldest rig that's still running, or still CAN run


Just wondering who here has the oldest "working" computer (by working, there are no hardware failures, or none that would make the computer useless).
Asking mostly due to curiosity's sake, and wondering if the rig I just built will last until 2016.
Oldest running computer we have is a Pentium 166, 32MB RAM, Win 95, 6x CD-ROM, 2MB video card (or maybe 1MB, it's a PCI card, as far as I know), 1.2GB WD hard drive. The hardware was put in that case in 1996. In 10 years of off/on as well as 24/7 use, that drive STILL runs like it did when it was new. It's not even that loud.
I uninstalled all unnecesary things, so after boot, there is 1 or 2 processes running and the memory is about 90-95% free
It has an old ethernet card and it connects to the internet just fine. I think I put IE 5 on it. It can do basic stuff very nicely. Browsing the web is about as quick as it is on my rig. Though it can't do anything that I would find useful (any media work would be useless, a 1.2GB drive is TINY). Though I could always put a newer drive in it (16.6MB/s IDE haha
My aunt is using the computer now (daily, like I said, it's on 24/7 I think).
I hope she keeps it until something fails (most likely the HDD). The PSU already failed in 1999 or so. It's weird to browse the web and stuff on such an old computer.

__________________
<CPU>AMD A64 3700+ 2.2ghz San Diego | <Motherboard>Asus A8N5X | <Case>Cooler Master Centurion 530 | <PSU>Antec TPll 380 watt | <Hard drive>Seagate 7200.9 SATA2 160GB | <RAM>1GB Kingmax DDR400 PC3200 | <Video card>Cheap ATI X300 PCI E16 (save money)
K15 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-08-06, 05:10 AM   #2
_slh_
Member

 
_slh_'s Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Sheffield, UK

10 Year Badge
 
Ive got a zx81 thats still working. Doesnt get much older than that.

__________________
- Toshiba Satellite Pro C660 --- Xbox 360 -
- Sony PSP Phat ---Nintendo DS Mk1 -
- Samsung Galaxy s5 --- Samsung Galaxy Tab -
_slh_ is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-08-06, 05:13 AM   #3
ghettocomp
Master of teh Ghetto Mods

 
ghettocomp's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Choosing between two evils, I might pick the one I've never tried before.

 
and the winner is:
_slh_
I havent seen one of those in a very long time.

__________________
I find that most people are like Slinkies.. They are not really good for anything, but can still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs. :P
ghettocomp is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-08-06, 10:25 AM   #4
Gnufsh
Senior Member

 
Gnufsh's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: June Lake, California

 
My old school still has a bunch of Apple II Es that they use for stuff.

__________________
Lost access to the classifieds? Look here.
Forum Policies
Sig Rules

"Men occasionally stumble over the truth, but most of them pick themselves up and hurry off as if nothing ever happened."
-Sir Winston Churchill
Gnufsh is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-08-06, 12:34 PM   #5
dfonda
Senior Member that
wants to Be Banned
Premium Member #16



10 Year Badge

 
dfonda's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: PA. N. of Splat W. of Torin

 
Packard Bell 166 powerleaped to a 233mhtz only goes back to 96 but still runs perfect. Upgraded everything in it except the MB.

__________________
#1Win72600k@4.5GHZ(Hyper212+)Msi P67 G65 16GB RAM evga560Ti
#2 Ubuntu 4P 6172's 48 cores on a SuperMicro
Phones:Nexus 5(Love It) N4,N7, iphone5
Folded for Tim and his wife, Mark and his wife,Pete_Scout Oldskool and Adak..."He was the Best of us".
Last Steam App Update..."Allow App to Magically start itself and login by itself" is on list of permissions!
dfonda is offline Author Profile Folding Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-08-06, 01:04 PM Thread Starter   #6
K15
Member

 
K15's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by _slh_
Ive got a zx81 thats still working. Doesnt get much older than that.

Haha, I had to look that up. Never seen/heard of them. Then again, they were out 7 years before I was born
I have to suffer using my 5 year old rig, P3 600mhz @ 690mhz. 512MB ram. It wouldn't be THAT bad, but I have to use a Seagate U Series 5 drive
HD Tach tells me it has 19.7ms access, giving it a 14ms seek!

__________________
<CPU>AMD A64 3700+ 2.2ghz San Diego | <Motherboard>Asus A8N5X | <Case>Cooler Master Centurion 530 | <PSU>Antec TPll 380 watt | <Hard drive>Seagate 7200.9 SATA2 160GB | <RAM>1GB Kingmax DDR400 PC3200 | <Video card>Cheap ATI X300 PCI E16 (save money)
K15 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-08-06, 01:19 PM   #7
andyl33t
Member

 
andyl33t's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: U.K

 
damn a zx81!
andyl33t is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-08-06, 03:10 PM   #8
Schalldampfer
Member

 
Schalldampfer's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Under a ceiling.

 
Haha... what the heck are zx81's? I've not heard of them.
Schalldampfer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-08-06, 03:12 PM   #9
Soichiro

 
Soichiro's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Indianapolis

 
http://www.honneamise.u-net.com/zx81/

That, apparantly. o_o; That is old...

__________________
"Recent studies show that guys who fold for team32 get more girls." - sno.lcn

Intel i7-4770 Haswell @ 3.4 Ghz
ASUS Z87-A
8GB G.Skill DDR3-1333 @ 8-8-8-21
60GB Boot SSD + 3x1TB WD 7200RPM in RAID 5
ASUS Geforce GTX660 2GB


Folding User Stats
Soichiro is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-08-06, 03:12 PM   #10
lowfat
Member

 
lowfat's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: stoon, sask, can

 
HP pentium 166 MMX @ 200

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600.
Gigabyte GA-P35-DQ6.
4GB Crucial PC2-8000.
eVGA 8800GTS 320 Superclocked.
Cooler Master Stacker 830.
OCZ GameXStream 700W.
DTek Fuzion + Weapon 302 Heatercore + AquaXtreme 50Z.
JVC RX6042, Soundstage Center 5 + Surrounds, Athena A1-B1s.

3D06-11115 3D05-19593 3D03-37303 3D01-61781
lowfat is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-08-06, 03:57 PM   #11
castroman
Member

 
castroman's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cortland, NY

 
I have one of the older IBM PS / Notes with windows 3.1 lol great for playing chips challenge

It's the one with out the rubber node on the keyboard for moving the mouse

__________________
Desktop Specs:

CPU: Intel Core I7 920 Stock
Heat Sink: Corsair H100
Mobo: EVGA X58 FTW3 1366 Intel
RAM: CORSAIR DOMINATOR 12GB (6 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 560 Ti 2
Case: Corsair Graphite Series 600T
PSU: Silverstone ST1000-P 1000W
OS: Windows 7 x64 Professional
castroman is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-08-06, 04:25 PM   #12
Audioaficionado
Super Moderator

 
Audioaficionado's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Medford, Orygun

10 Year Badge
 
Just my trusty 486DX2/66 and Pentium PRo 200 duallie.

__________________
.....................................My HeatwareMyFAH Stats
.......................Folding is a marathon, not a sprint audioaficionado
Asus Commando, 8GB GSkill 5-5-5-15-2t PC6400, Q6600 @3.0GHz >SMP2+GPU3 FAH 24/7
Gigabyte DS3, 3GB GSkill 5-5-5-15-2t PC6400, E6400 @3.0GHz
Asus P5Q PRO Turbo, 4GB GSkill 5-5-5-15-2t PC6400, E6600 @3.0GHz
Iwill DH800, 2GB OCZ4002048PFDC-K 2.5-3-3-8-1t, Dual 2.4 M0 Xeons 1.5v/880/3300
Help improve overclockers.com! Get involved!

You have over 101 posts and Can't see the classifieds???Click This Link
Anyone we catch cookie stuffing at this site will be banned on the spot!!
Audioaficionado is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-08-06, 04:36 PM   #13
deRusett
Member

 
deRusett's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Midland, Ontario

 
Took a Panasonic Desktop Personal Work Station appart about 2 years ago that was working no problems,

Proprietary OS, which was upgraded in January of 1981, Which it told you at every boot.

640K Hard drive, stock, dual 5-1/4" floppies. don't remember many other details, oh Mono crome Green 13" Monitor. I'm sure it would still be working had I needed the space, but I could not install anything on it, and Tetris was more fun on my Nintendo.

__________________
Success is..
At age 4 .... success is .... not peeing in your pants.
At age 12 .... success is .... having friends.
At age 17 .... success is .... having a driving licence.
At age 20 .... success is .... having sex.
At age 35 .... success is .... having money.
At age 50 .... success is .... having money.
At age 60 .... success is .... having sex.
At age 70 .... success is .... having a driving licence.
At age 75 .... success is .... having friends.
At age 80 .... success is .... not peeing in your pants
At Any Age ... success is ... Folding for Team 32
deRusett is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-08-06, 05:01 PM   #14
Schalldampfer
Member

 
Schalldampfer's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Under a ceiling.

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soichiro
http://www.honneamise.u-net.com/zx81/

That, apparantly. o_o; That is old...
Oh wow... I'm at a loss of words...
Schalldampfer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-08-06, 05:28 PM   #15
_slh_
Member

 
_slh_'s Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Sheffield, UK

10 Year Badge
 
Thats the one. Its got a massive 1k of RAM, but Ive got the 16k expanison for that. Although, as was always the case with the zx81, unless you plug it in then secure it with tape or something, the slightest knock to the table its sitting on will cause it to crash. Still have the tape deck and games as well. I still have a 48k spectrum in the loft as well, in full working order. The one with the rubber keyboard.

__________________
- Toshiba Satellite Pro C660 --- Xbox 360 -
- Sony PSP Phat ---Nintendo DS Mk1 -
- Samsung Galaxy s5 --- Samsung Galaxy Tab -
_slh_ is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-08-06, 08:31 PM   #16
Wiggles
Member

 
Wiggles's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sanford, NC

 
My parents have a 486dx (I think 50MHz) that still runs. Of course, It hasn't been ran in a while, but I plugged her up about 2 months ago, and it started right up.

My oldest computer is my P2 400MHz that I'm using right now. It's not really old, but it's lasted me longer than I ever thought it would (got it back in 1998).
Wiggles is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-08-06, 09:41 PM   #17
SuperFarStucker
Member

 
SuperFarStucker's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: Seattle, WA

 
I have a pentium II 233 on active duty as a traffic shaper/firewall. Works like a champ although its guts have been upgraded to a more modern 128 MiB CF card with a parallel ata adapter I reckon it nearly cut the boot time in half! Too bad it never needs to be rebooted.
SuperFarStucker is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-08-06, 10:24 PM   #18
aeiou
Member



Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Madison, WI

 
we have a p pro 180 dually sitting around..... I works mostly, although I've gutted some of the components out, so I'd have to fix that. My parents used it with windows 98 (on a dually..... smack!) for quite a whil until it just got too slow.

__________________
20" iMac 2.4Ghz C2D 4GB ram
aeiou is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-08-06, 10:50 PM   #19
Audioaficionado
Super Moderator

 
Audioaficionado's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Medford, Orygun

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by aeiou
we have a p pro 180 dually sitting around..... I works mostly, although I've gutted some of the components out, so I'd have to fix that. My parents used it with windows 98 (on a dually..... smack!) for quite awhile until it just got too slow.
That's what I had to do with my PPro200. I couldn't afford to pay the extra $600 for a second processor and $100 more for NT4. So I ended up with one processor and 95b for over $3k and that lasted for over 5 years. Then upgraded to 98lite for awhile. I eventually got a second processor and VRM module for $50. Finally I got an original w2kpro gold edition holograph disk with the legit key for $70 from a guy I met online. However the first SMP OS that computer ever ran on was Knoppix Linux live CD.

__________________
.....................................My HeatwareMyFAH Stats
.......................Folding is a marathon, not a sprint audioaficionado
Asus Commando, 8GB GSkill 5-5-5-15-2t PC6400, Q6600 @3.0GHz >SMP2+GPU3 FAH 24/7
Gigabyte DS3, 3GB GSkill 5-5-5-15-2t PC6400, E6400 @3.0GHz
Asus P5Q PRO Turbo, 4GB GSkill 5-5-5-15-2t PC6400, E6600 @3.0GHz
Iwill DH800, 2GB OCZ4002048PFDC-K 2.5-3-3-8-1t, Dual 2.4 M0 Xeons 1.5v/880/3300
Help improve overclockers.com! Get involved!

You have over 101 posts and Can't see the classifieds???Click This Link
Anyone we catch cookie stuffing at this site will be banned on the spot!!
Audioaficionado is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-08-06, 10:59 PM   #20
OkydOky
Member



Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada

 
I have a Pentium3 650 Running.
I am currently working on making an original Pentium @ 200MHZ to work.
OkydOky is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:21 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?