Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

XP freezing prob

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-08-06, 03:03 PM Thread Starter   #1
~(o)-(0)~

 
~(o)-(0)~'s Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Qc, Canada

 
Angry XP freezing prob


Ok, so this is the prob, I can usually resolve most of my problems on my own, or with a little searching online, but now I'm at a loss.

I have recently (last week), purchased a new system consisting of an Asus A8n SLI Deluxe, Athlon64 3500+, 2x512mb corsair valueram in dual channel, XFX GeForce 6800 XT pci-e, a 250gb 16mb cache sata maxtor, and some no-name case with a 400 watt power supply.

Now my problem is this, I've tried installing windows XP pro about 8 times, I've tried a pre-SP1 version, one version with SP2, and x64. I've made the most progress with x64, but it still isn't working right. It freezes up after no set amount of time, usually, in fact almost always when I click something. I have all the drivers installed, all the updates are done. With the Sp2 version of xp it BSODs on me right after setup is about complete, at the last reboot.

I've tried running it with only one stick of RAM, with 2 in single channel, and with 2 in dual channel, no difference. I also tried an old PCI video card, it also froze up. I have my OS installed on my 250gig sata drive, formatted at every reinstall.

So I would really appreciate it if anybody had the slightest idea what the heck is going on with my system, it's really annoying cuz I can't use it in the meantime.

thanks
Nick
~(o)-(0)~ is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-08-06, 04:14 PM   #2
RJARRRPCGP
Member



Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA (Springfield, Vermont)

10 Year Badge
 
Did you check the processor temperature when idle?

__________________
Asus Maximus II Gene- Core 2 Quad Q6600 SLACR @ 3.3 Ghz (367x9.0)

Where I come from "Z97" is a radio station
-ICH10R
- eVGA GeForce GT 640-Antec VP-450


" holy cow!! you find a rat in there too!?!?!? " -turbohans
"Reinstall winders." -jivetrky
"I think I am going to need another coke before I start this up." -cadman420
"Soon Windows will be 50 gb! lololol" -Tokae
"NOT FOR SALE IN CALIFORNIA."
RJARRRPCGP is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-08-06, 04:40 PM Thread Starter   #3
~(o)-(0)~

 
~(o)-(0)~'s Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Qc, Canada

 
LoL, guess I should specified that eh :P
ok, proc idle is like 32, mobo 36
voltages all within 5% of their values, except for my -12 wich is at 1.25, but this is through speedfan and I've never gotten an accurate reading on that.

Update:
I copied my xp partition from my sata drive to a pata drive, still the same problem. Also when I try to run the video config for dungeon siege 2 it says I don't have the min. video requirements (32mb), when the drivers r all there and it shows up fine in the device manager.
~(o)-(0)~ is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:59 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?