Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

what's the big difference between the EPoX EP-9NDA3J and the epox ep-9nda3+

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-17-06, 08:09 PM Thread Starter   #1
Francocomp
Registered



Join Date: Dec 2005

 
what's the big difference between the EPoX EP-9NDA3J and the epox ep-9nda3+


what are the key differences
Francocomp is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 01-20-06, 09:32 AM   #2
zetachi
Registered



Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: NYC

 
I believe that the 3+ has 4 SATA ports as opposed to 2 on the J model. I have the J and it is a great board but the biggest issue I have had so far is that on my J model the 2 SATA ports are right next to the AGP slot. Not horrible if you have a regular AGP card with a small stock cooler. With my XFX 6600AGP with Zalman VF700 there was barely enough room for a SATA cable to fit. Then I went an bought an X800 Pro with Arctic Silencer 5 ouch too big so I had to buy an add on SATA card.

__________________
Opteron 144
EPOX 9NDA3J
Sapphire X800 Pro VIVO unlocked to 16 pipes w/ Arctic Silencer 5
Patriot 2GB PC3200
WD 20GB, 30GB, 40GB HD's
Cooling Thermalright XP 90C
Antec True 550 PSU
zetachi is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-20-06, 05:26 PM Thread Starter   #3
Francocomp
Registered



Join Date: Dec 2005

 
I looked at both and it seems, like zetachi said, that the only difference between the 2 is the fact that the 3+ has 4 sata ports while the J model only has two. But i don't know if the J model supports dual channel. It doesn't show the option on newegg.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...Ntk=all&page=2

can someone verify if it does?
Francocomp is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-21-06, 08:34 PM   #4
zetachi
Registered



Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: NYC

 
dual channel confimed on the J model mine is running opty 144 and 2 x 1gb patriot LL 3200 dual channel. the Opty is running great with the lattest BIOS

__________________
Opteron 144
EPOX 9NDA3J
Sapphire X800 Pro VIVO unlocked to 16 pipes w/ Arctic Silencer 5
Patriot 2GB PC3200
WD 20GB, 30GB, 40GB HD's
Cooling Thermalright XP 90C
Antec True 550 PSU
zetachi is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-22-06, 12:55 AM   #5
Spion
Member



Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: KC

 
all s939 board support dual channel b/c the memory contoller on the processor. s754 chips have a 64bit (single channel) memory controler so all s754 boards only support single channel. s939 chips have a 128bit (dual channel) memory controller so therefore all s939 boards support dual channel

@zetachi
did you happen to look at the stepping/week before you installed your 144?

__________________
Nova
AMD FX-8120 | 4x4GB RAM | Visiontek HD4850 | BIOSTAR TA990FXE
Seasonic S12 620W | WD 640GB Black Edition | 128GB OCZ Petrol
HTPC Frontend
OEM Production E350-10B0 | AMD E-350 | 4GB RAM
Openelec Beta - Eden | 30GB OCZ Agility
Fileserver
ASUS E35M1-M PRO | AMD E-350 | 8GB RAM
Freenas 8 (Customized) | 5x2TB in ZFS RaidZ
OCForums Metal Club member #3 | Heatware
Spion is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-22-06, 09:03 AM   #6
zetachi
Registered



Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: NYC

 
cab2e 0540

__________________
Opteron 144
EPOX 9NDA3J
Sapphire X800 Pro VIVO unlocked to 16 pipes w/ Arctic Silencer 5
Patriot 2GB PC3200
WD 20GB, 30GB, 40GB HD's
Cooling Thermalright XP 90C
Antec True 550 PSU
zetachi is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-23-06, 10:15 PM   #7
Electric Bill
Registered

 
Electric Bill's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rhode Island, USA

 
When I put the X800GTO card in my 9NDA3+ it interfered with my SATA 1 and 2 headers.
Since these ports are locked and SATA 3 & 4 aren't I took a hair dryer and heated the data cable connector for about 5 minutes then carefully bent it with 2 pairs of needle nose pliers about 45 - just enough to clear the card.
Works great.

__________________
ASRock 970 Extreme3
FX-4100 w/Coolermaster GeminII S cooler
M Station HT-1100 HTPC Media Center case
Antec 480 NeoPower PSU
Kingston HyperX Blu 8GB KHX1600C9D3B1K2/8GX
Gigabyte GV-R467ZL 4670/1GB video card
Hitachi HDS721050CLA362 500GB SATA hd
Windows7 Ultimate x64 & Ubuntu 10.04 LTS (partitioned)
Pioneer DVR-215D SATA DVD burner
Samsung 40" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV LN40C630


You can teach an old dog; it just takes longer.
Electric Bill is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:09 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?