Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Internet, Networking, and Security
Internet, Networking, and Security Networking and Viruses/Malware trouble. Get the answers here.
Forum Jump

Help with AIM ads?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-23-06, 08:16 AM Thread Starter   #1
orionlion82
Member



Join Date: Jul 2004

 
Help with AIM ads?


i cant take it anymore.

movies playing at 3:30am, songs, announcements.
crap popping up when youre trying to do other things.

its all got to end forever. no more ads on AIM, period.

i know it might be done, but how.
i had it stopped at one point but i cant remember how i did it.
a little help would win alot of appreciation.
orionlion82 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-23-06, 09:30 AM   #2
TalRW
Member

 
TalRW's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Irvine, CA

 
you could try switching to a alternate AIM client such as GAIM or trillian. I use trillian and get 0 ads. Also you could get aim adhack I've never tried it but I know one of my friends did so I can't vouch for how well it works personally.

You can get trillian here: http://www.ceruleanstudios.com/
and gaim here: http://gaim.sourceforge.net/
AIM adhack: http://aftermath.dyndns.org:8888/~aimadhack/

__________________
CPU: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3400+
MOBO: Asus K8N4-E Deluxe
HARD DRIVE:
MEMORY: 3.0GiB
POWER:
VIDEOCARD:
GNU/Linux Distribution: Trisquel 5.0 (Dagda)
Support software freedom! Try one of the nine FSF endorsed distros.
Got a wireless network? Secure it!
TalRW is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-23-06, 10:07 AM   #3
dicecca112
Member



Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: MA, USA

 
vote for ad hack or gaim
dicecca112 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-23-06, 11:10 AM Thread Starter   #4
orionlion82
Member



Join Date: Jul 2004

 
oh, yummy aim ad hack. oh so good!
thanks talRW!
orionlion82 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-23-06, 12:02 PM   #5
=ACID RAIN=
Member

 
=ACID RAIN='s Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Kingwood, TX

 
Been using trillian myself for years. I love it.

__________________
MY HEAT | Websense who? | Windows lockdown
Mine: Q6600 . IP35 Pro . 8GB RAM . Velociraptor 150 . Win7 Enterprise
Wife: E6600 . GA-G31M-ES2 . 4GB RAM . Buncha drives . WinXP Pro
Domain Controller: E6600 . GA-G31M-S2L . 2GB RAM . 36GB Raptor . 2 x 1.5TB WD Green . 2008 R2
HTPC: E6300 . P5B . 1GB RAM . 320GB . Win7 Enterprise
Sandbox 1: Dell Optiplex GX270 SFF (new caps) . 1GB RAM . 120GB . FreeBSD 7.2
Sandbox 2: 3800+ X2. K8N Neo4 (new caps) . 1GB RAM . 4 x 400GB RAID0 . 2008 R2 (WDS, WSUS)
Sandbox 3: Opteron 146 . 768MB RAM . 120GB . 2008 R2 (headless, no video, remote only)
Laptop: Vostro 1700 . 4GB RAM . Win7 Enterprise
=ACID RAIN= is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-23-06, 12:06 PM   #6
Dreamstalker
Member

 
Dreamstalker's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Brookline, MA

 
If you can figure out where the ads are loading from, you could pop it in a hosts file pointing to 127.0.0.1

I have aimtoday.aol.com pointed to the loopback address, but the page still tries to load (intensely annoying as it opens a new browser window).

__________________
"allright, i am declaring myself a sovereign nation...." --orionlion82
"I will not be pushed, filed, stamped, indexed, briefed, debriefed, or numbered! My life is my own." --The Prisoner
My Heatware
Navi 2.0 under construction
Dreamstalker is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-23-06, 12:41 PM   #7
stratcatprowlin
Senior Member

 
stratcatprowlin's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: MG,Brazil

 
Theres something called viewpoint killer and I think it's the viewpoint player that allows those popups so that might be an option too if it works.I havn't tried it yet because I don't get those popups.
The reason I stick with aim is for the file transfer ease and everyone I know uses it hehe.
stratcatprowlin is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-23-06, 01:14 PM   #8
twoeyes
Member

 
twoeyes's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2005

 
twoeyes is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-23-06, 01:34 PM   #9
Archer36
Member

 
Archer36's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Michigan, US

 
I would say use a different client, I use Trillian on windows and GAIM while in linux. Both are excellent and I love the multi protocal support of each.

__________________
"We will always remember. We will always be proud. We will always be prepared, so we may always be free."
-- Fmr. President Ronald Reagan

"We must all hang together, gentlemen...else, we shall most assuredly hang separately"
-- Benjamin Franklin

"Freedom is not free, that it comes with the highest of sacrifices. The price of blood"
-- 300

Archer36 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-23-06, 01:53 PM   #10
mikieboyblue
Member



Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: NY

 
The only problem with GAIM in windows is the troublesome file transfer support and picture sharing (I use it at work). But otherwise it does well. Of course I get rid of AIM ads two ways. First, I make sure to remove any and all traces of the damn viewpoint software. That should be deemed spy/adware. Second, I run a back level of AIM (so I can talk while away) and a copy of DeadAIM...
mikieboyblue is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Internet, Networking, and Security
Internet, Networking, and Security Networking and Viruses/Malware trouble. Get the answers here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:24 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?