Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

Dual channel memory on an NF4 Ultra-D

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-27-06, 01:03 PM Thread Starter   #1
Fathom1990
Member

 
Fathom1990's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Not here

 
Dual channel memory on an NF4 Ultra-D


Hi, I've just built a system based on an Ultra-D and I wanted to know which slots the ram has to be in for dual channel to work. I have two 1GB sticks of Geil and I heard that the sticks should be in slots 2 and 4, the orange slots, but my Thermalright SI-120 covers up slot 4. Does it have to be like that for dual channel to work?

__________________
i7 920 with Antec KÜHLER H₂O 620, Gigabyte X58-UD3R, 6GB PC-12800 OCZ Gold DDR3, 2x 5850 1GB CF, 2x 250GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11, 1TB WD Caviar Black, 22" Samsung 226CW, 20.5" LG L207WT, Logitech G16 and G5 with Icemat v2
Fathom1990 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 01-27-06, 07:05 PM   #2
Know Nuttin
Senior Member

 
Know Nuttin's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada

 
no, 1 and 3 should be fine. Some have gotten better results with 2 and 4 when overclocking. I will find out when I get my stuff installed tomorrow

__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 965BE, Asus M5A88-V Evo, 8GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3-1600 , Coolermaster Hyper212+, OCZ Vertex Plus 60GB, Seagate 7200.11 500GB, Antec EA-380
Lenovo X200, P8400 C2D, 8GB, 120GB OCZ Vertex 3.
Know Nuttin is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-01-06, 08:25 PM   #3
osiris999
Member



Join Date: Aug 2005

 
orange slots seem to be the only ones that work right for me. i think i heard somewhere but im not sure that the yellow slots work best for when set the mem votage jumper on the board to the other setting to allow 3.0 or higher and use memory that like the high volts.

__________________
3770k @ 4.5 ghz
asrock z77 extreme6
G.SKILL Sniper Gaming Series 16GB
asus 5870
water cooled
corsair 850 hx
osiris999 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-02-06, 01:18 PM   #4
squads
Member

 
squads's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Philadelphia

10 Year Badge
 
I was just looking through my manual wondering the same thing. I am just waiting on a couple parts before I put this together. They should have this kind of stuff IN THE MANUAL!

also, Am I right in assuming I should have the video card in PCI-E 1, or can it also go in PCI-E 4?

__________________
Phoenix:

Phenom II X4 940BE Stock | Core Contact Freezer | Gigabyte GA-MA790X-UD4 | 4gb Patriot DDR2-800 4-4-4-12
MSI 8800GT 512mb | 2x640gb WD AAKS (no RAID) | Corsair 520HX | Kingwin KT-436B-WM | XP Pro & Ubuntu 9.04


HEAT!
squads is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-02-06, 09:19 PM   #5
osiris999
Member



Join Date: Aug 2005

 
you can use either one. i have mine in the bottom one because of the video card touching the chipset fan.

__________________
3770k @ 4.5 ghz
asrock z77 extreme6
G.SKILL Sniper Gaming Series 16GB
asus 5870
water cooled
corsair 850 hx
osiris999 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-02-06, 09:22 PM   #6
adriana
Member

 
adriana's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: Los Angeles

 
my neo4-f 1 and 2 is dual channel, weird

__________________
case: COOLER MASTER 690
motherboard: GIGABYTE X58 UD4P F13 BIOS
processor: INTEL i7 DO HT&TURBO @ 4011 1.2V (summer cool-down 3.7 @ 1.168)
ram: OCZ PLATINUM 7-7-7-24 1.66V
air cooling: SUNBEAM CORE CONTACT FREEZER
power supply: XFX 850W
video card: NVIDIA 7900 GTX
hard drive: INTEL 80GB X-25M G2, WESTERN DIGITAL BLACK 1TB
speakers: 2.1 KLIPSCH SPEAKERS
monitor: DELL 2408WFP

HeatWare
adriana is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-07-06, 07:00 PM   #7
gvblake22
Member

 
gvblake22's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Tempe Desert

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by adriana
my neo4-f 1 and 2 is dual channel, weird
Well, yeah. Every board is going to be different. Even the DFI nF4 Infinity series boards have slots 1 & 2 or 3 & 4 set up for dual channel. Same with the Chaintech VNF4 Ultra. It all just depends on the board.

__________________
|| Intel E8400 @ 400x8 + Coolink U8-120 || MSI P35 Neo2-FR || 2x1GB SuperTalent DDR2 800 (4-4-3-8) || Asus HD 4850 + Accelero S1 & Turbo Module || Auzentech HDA Xplosion || 320GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 || 150GB Western Digital Raptor X || Corsair VX550 PSU ||
Mod Projects:
|| My First Custom Modded Case || Custom HDD Cooling/Silencing || Custom 6800GT Cooling || Custom Modded CoolerMaster Cavalier 3 || Blue Flame PS2 Stand || "Secret of the Ooze" Case Project ||
|| Heatware ||
Say Thank You!
gvblake22 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:44 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?