Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

Fastest hard drive out there

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-28-06, 02:16 PM Thread Starter   #1
jdrake90
Senior Member

 
jdrake90's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: North Carolina

 
Fastest hard drive out there


http://www.techreport.com/reviews/20...m/index.x?pg=1

Check it out... found this story on www.digg.com....

Interesting concept, although I don't like the fact that you can lose data if you unplug your comp.

Jdrake90

__________________
Catch the Official OCF Podcast every other Saturday right here on the the forum!


The Podcasting Rig
17" MacBook Pro, 2.33ghz Intel Core 2 Duo, 3gb DDR2 RAM, ATI X1600 XT 256mb DDR3
External Display: Dell 22in Widescreen LCD - W00T!
Alesis USB 8 Mixer, Rhode NT1a Studio Condenser Mic
jdrake90 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-28-06, 02:28 PM   #2
dicecca112
Member



Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: MA, USA

 
posted and been talked about a ton
dicecca112 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-28-06, 03:41 PM   #3
DDR-PIII
Disabled

 
DDR-PIII's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: 6p6

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdrake90
http://www.techreport.com/reviews/20...m/index.x?pg=1

Check it out... found this story on www.digg.com....

Interesting concept, although I don't like the fact that you can lose data if you unplug your comp.

Jdrake90
wouldnt lose any data, it does get power VIA the PCI slot, but it also does have an onboard BATT, burrently its limited but the speed of sata, only 150MB/sec, they plan to use it on SATAII AND PCI-E, PCI-E Meaning directly though the PCI-E interface getting 8GB/sec is it ?, not to bad all around through, considering you could boot to your desktop in 4 seconds flat. and heh lets remember you can alsways run the sata versions in RAID 0.
DDR-PIII is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-28-06, 03:46 PM   #4
EvilCloudStrife
R. Kelly is my roll model

 
EvilCloudStrife's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Mesa, Arizona

10 Year Badge
 
thats not really a hard drive FYI

__________________
Name: Apocalypse
Motherboard: DFI NF4 Ultra-D Bios 623-3
CPU: AMD 939 Opteron 148 CABYE 0536 & XP-120 W/ Sanyo Denki 120mm Fan - 11x264 - 2900Mhz - 1.52V - 25C Idle - 38C Load
RAM: OCZ Gold Edition 2GB (2 x 1GB) - UCCC - 1:1 - 264Mhz - 3-4-3-8 - 2.68V
Videocard: Evga 7800GT 256-P2-N518 (500/1200)
DVD: NEC 16XDVD+/-RW
Hard Drives: (1)Western Digital 7200 250GB 16MB SATA2, (2)Western Digital 7200 250GB 16MB SATA2, Western Digital 7200 200GB 8MB IDE, (1) Westen Digital 7200 250GB 2MB IDE, (2) Western Digital 7200 250GB 2MB IDE, (3) Removable Western Digital 7200 250GB 2MB USB2 Enclosure
PSU: OCZ 520W SLI Powerstream

Chuck Norris owns the greatest Poker Face of all-time. It helped him win the 1983 World Series of Poker despite him holding just a Joker, a Get out of Jail Free Monopoloy card, a 2 of clubs, 7 of spades and a green #4 card from the game UNO
EvilCloudStrife is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-28-06, 08:41 PM   #5
Revivalist
Member

 
Revivalist's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Fresno, CA

 
4 Gigs max? And an average cost of about $500 for that much memory?

. . . Or a RAid 0 array with a wopping 8Gigs for $1000? . . .

I think it's still gonna be a while until solid state can replace current hard drives for the common user. Especially since the prolonged read and write speed of the I-RAM was hardly faster than the current high performance HDDs. That was rather surprising.

__________________
Opteron 185 (dual core) @ 2.80GHz --- DFI LanParty SLI-DR Expert @ 255MHz
2 x 1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC DDR510 (3-4-3-8, 1T) --- 4 x 160GB Raptors (RAID 0) & 750GB WD (backup)
Two EVGA 8800GTS 640MB in SLI @ 675MHz core, 1080MHz memory --- PCP&C 1000W
Water-cooling: BIX III radiator, MCP655 pump, 1/2" tygon tubes, 6 Panaflo 114CFM fans (in push-pull)
TEC-cooling: 245W-320W TEC in Maze4-1 CPU block, Meanwell 480W PSU
Thermaltake Armor+ case -- Hanns-G 25" 1080P LCD
Revivalist is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-28-06, 10:19 PM   #6
DDR-PIII
Disabled

 
DDR-PIII's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: 6p6

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Revivalist
4 Gigs max? And an average cost of about $500 for that much memory?

. . . Or a RAid 0 array with a wopping 8Gigs for $1000? . . .

I think it's still gonna be a while until solid state can replace current hard drives for the common user. Especially since the prolonged read and write speed of the I-RAM was hardly faster than the current high performance HDDs. That was rather surprising.
yeah it is quite $$$, but actually they also got one that will take 2GB ddr modules, so 16GB 8xRAID 0
DDR-PIII is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-28-06, 10:36 PM   #7
Soichiro

 
Soichiro's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Indianapolis

 
Yay, that would make it about $2000 for 16GB. That's even stupider than spending $300 on a 150GB Raptor, especially at this point with the limitations of SATA150.

__________________
"Recent studies show that guys who fold for team32 get more girls." - sno.lcn

Intel i7-4770 Haswell @ 3.4 Ghz
ASUS Z87-A
8GB G.Skill DDR3-1333 @ 8-8-8-21
60GB Boot SSD + 3x1TB WD 7200RPM in RAID 5
ASUS Geforce GTX660 2GB


Folding User Stats
Soichiro is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-28-06, 10:54 PM   #8
Bios24
Member

 
Bios24's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Kansas City, MO

 
It has its uses. I was seriously thinking about buying one, then I saw that they were $150 without ram. Last I heard they were going to be $50, but I guess that was just a rumor.

This does have some serious applications though. My first thought was to have a dedicated page file drive. This could also be used for a photoshop scratch drive, or any other ram-intensive program. If you had a game you really like you could probably even do that. Although some games are larger than 4gb now.

Also- you wouldn't need uber-fast ram to fill this. An article said that even DDR200 wouldn't saturate the bandwidth. You could probably find 1gb sticks for as low as $50, making the 4gb drive a total of $350. 8gb Raid 0 would be $700, 16gb Raid 0 $1400. Is this a little much for a 16gb drive? Yes. Would anything else on the market match the speed and latency? Not even close.

__________________
Antec P180 - Corsair HX520W - Dell 2005fpw
Opteron 165 <Currently 280x9 1.35v>
DFI NF4 Ultra-D - 2gb G.Skill 3-4-4-8@250mhz
320gb+200gb Seagate - XFX 6800GS 500/1.2ghz
Sound Blaster X-Fi - BA7900 5.1 Surround
Thermalright XP-90C - <The Quiet Overclock>
[ HEATWARE ]

Last edited by Bios24; 01-28-06 at 10:59 PM.
Bios24 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-29-06, 01:10 AM   #9
michaelpi
Member

 
michaelpi's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: texas

 
its so stupid if you lose power on that eveything goes and its only 4 gigs so there is no point for that now

__________________
dell xps gen 3 main comp
pent 4 3.4 ghz 1gig ddr2 at 533mhz
250 gig sata hd with winxp ati radeon x300

sever running samba
amd 2800+ oced 50% 2500mhz
160 gig ide 100 ide 1 sata 100 running centos
1 gig ddr ram
michaelpi is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-29-06, 01:49 AM   #10
tom10167
Member

 
tom10167's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Phoenix. YOUR HAIR IS GOOD TO EAT

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soichiro
That's even stupider than spending $300 on a 150GB Raptor, especially at this point with the limitations of SATA150.
Yeah, especially considering RAIDing crappy drives is even faster than a Raptor!!1
tom10167 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-29-06, 09:10 AM   #11
Vyncennt
Registered



Join Date: Sep 2005

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelpi
its so stupid if you lose power on that eveything goes and its only 4 gigs so there is no point for that now
Read the article. I has a 10 hour Lithium-Ion battery in case of power-loss.
Vyncennt is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-29-06, 09:10 AM   #12
Vyncennt
Registered



Join Date: Sep 2005

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom10167
Yeah, especially considering RAIDing crappy drives is even faster than a Raptor!!1
No. It's not.
Vyncennt is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-29-06, 10:42 AM   #13
josh478
Member

 
josh478's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: jawja

 
wow, thats the biggest waste of money EVER. you could buy two sata 500gb hd's and run them in raid. definately wont even think twice about this pos.
josh478 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-29-06, 11:19 AM   #14
tom10167
Member

 
tom10167's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Phoenix. YOUR HAIR IS GOOD TO EAT

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vyncennt
No. It's not.
Note the "1" at the end of the post, I was being entirely sarcastic.

Who would want an incredibly fast HDD? That's dumb.

Anyways, I just bought a $500 watercooling system to get an extra 300Mhz out of my CPU.
tom10167 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-29-06, 12:49 PM   #15
Amarkarian
Member



Join Date: May 2005

 
the future is solid state but, ram prices have to go down a lof for this to be worth it
Amarkarian is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:49 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?