Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling > Water Cooling
Water Cooling Discussion devoted to blocks, pumps, radiators, reservoirs, tubing, and everything else to get you running smooth on a water loop
Forum Jump

May not water cool now

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-02-06, 03:36 PM Thread Starter   #1
opsed121
Registered



Join Date: Jan 2006

 
May not water cool now


I was reading this forum for quite sometime trying to decide to WC. I did decide then went out and bought the following items.


ClearFLEX 60 Tubing 1/2" ID / 5/8" OD 12 ft
Swiftech Apogee Extreme water block
Black Ice Pro II Dual 120mm Radiator - Black
Barb Size: 1/2" Chrome Fittings
Zerex Racing Super Coolant - 4oz Bottle
Dangerden Fillport - Silver
didn't buy a pump

The Apogee won't work on my Socket A and I don't want to spend more $$$ on a Socket 939 64 system jusy to accomadate that Block.
I know this pic is of an 8rda+, but my A7N8X is the same layout, same problem.

anyone interested in these items email me, or I might trade the Apogee for a nice looking black and silver mcw6000 for socket A
Attached Images
 

Last edited by opsed121; 02-02-06 at 05:13 PM.
opsed121 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-02-06, 03:44 PM   #2
3vil_l337
Registered



Join Date: Nov 2005

 
why dony you try and jerry rig something up to use it on your soket A? or maybe just buy a difrent block? i dunno jsut seems like kinda a waste. im prety sure if you tried you could make something work, like maybe get the mounting stuff for the 6000 and use them in some jerry riged way to make it clamp on the soket A bracket? im jsut throughing out ideas for you i would buy the block for my opty but im thinking im going to go either quiet air or phase change. well at any rate i hope you get what you want for the stuff and good luck
3vil
3vil_l337 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-02-06, 03:45 PM   #3
Millzee
Member



Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UK (London)

 
Bet you don't llive in the UK?

__________________
Rig1:
AMD64 3000+ Winnie (0457) OC'd to 2502Mhz @1.52v| XP120 HSF | DFI LP NF4 SLi DR | OCZ 3200 Plat LE (bh6)@3.4v 2.2.2.5@250Mhz | XFX 6600GT SLi| Seasonic SS12 500w
Rig2:
AMD64 3200+ Venice LBBLE 0516GPMW OC'd to 2700Mhz(300x9)@1.52v | water cooled | DFI LP NF4 D Ultra | Corsair 3200XL Pro 4x512@245 2.5-3-3-7@2.6v| BFG7800GTXOC @ stock|Seasonic SS12 500w

Millzee is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-02-06, 04:53 PM Thread Starter   #4
opsed121
Registered



Join Date: Jan 2006

 
No UK Sorry
Ski Country USA
opsed121 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-02-06, 04:58 PM Thread Starter   #5
opsed121
Registered



Join Date: Jan 2006

 
Actually all I need to do is put it to a bench grinder and grind away the fin that is hitting the caps, and I know I could do it about 3 minutes, after the clearance to to caps is good I'll use the motherboard bolt on method,but the thought of doing that to a nice shiny silver piece of equipment doesn't seem right, and believe me I love to mod or improve everything.

Last edited by opsed121; 02-02-06 at 05:25 PM.
opsed121 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-02-06, 05:22 PM   #6
AZNBoiOnFIYA
Member

 
AZNBoiOnFIYA's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Tucson, AZ

 
i had to rig something up to fit an mcw6002 to my mobo. it took 1 day to make a bracket for the hold down clips and an extra day to make a backplate after i found out i had 4 mounting holes on the mobo and decided to go with that. it really should be that hard to make a bracket as long as you have a dremel, some aluminum and some nuts and bolts.

__________________
3400+ Venice @2.75GHZ 1.55V Air
1GB Teamgroup Xtreme BH5
ECS KN1 Lite
7600GT @ 600/800 Air
Coolmax CTG-850 Quad Rail PSU :D

Heat
AZNBoiOnFIYA is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-02-06, 05:32 PM   #7
MVC

 
MVC's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Hell's Kitchen, NYC

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by opsed121
Actually all I need to do is put it to a bench grinder and grind away the fin that is hitting the caps, and I know I could do it about 3 minutes, after the clearance to to caps is good I'll use the motherboard bolt on method,but the thought of doing that to a nice shiny silver piece of equipment doesn't seem right, and believe me I love to mod or improve everything.
Go for it!!! Half of the fun of this forum, and half (if not more) of the idea behind this forum, is to make "stuff" do what you want it to do, not what it's manufacturer wanted it to do. The manufacturer may never have even thought of what you want/need. So, just make it work. Take your time, do as a professional a job as possible, but don't be afraid to modify! In this case, grind away
MVC is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-02-06, 05:36 PM   #8
d94
$30 a phone

 
d94's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: 48302

 
dude, just cut off the excess

__________________
Antec 300 Intel Q6600 @ 3.7 - X48-DS4 - 4gb ddr2 - 500w Earthwatt's - 52" Sharp Aquos LC-52D64U
1x 640GB WD - 2x 1TB Greenpower - 2x 400GB Seagate - ATI 4830 512mb @ 680/975
3DMark Vanage 7402 3DMark05 20,447 3DMark06 13,693

Emachines amd x2 5000+ @ 2.9ghz w/foxconn bios - 2gb ddr2
stock POS 300w - 400gb Seagate - diNovo + VX Revolution

MacBook Air - 1.6ghz c2d - 2gb ddr2 - 80gb

heatware
d94 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-02-06, 05:37 PM   #9
Aidenswarrior
Member

 
Aidenswarrior's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio

 
circumcise that bitch!

__________________
w/e

http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=40089
Aidenswarrior is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-02-06, 06:21 PM   #10
Ankun
Member



Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Virginia

 
Instead of calling the quits.. I think a good solution would be this:

- Get a 1/2" piece or whatever thickness piece you need for clearance of plexi
- Cut it to the dimensions to fit in between the block and top mounting plate
- Get longer 6-32 screws
- Screw the block in

Seems like a really easy solution actually.. and you should still maintain plenty good enough contact, as long as whatever you use as a wedge is somewhat flat.

IMO this would look MUCH nicer than cutting away at the plate too..

edit: you dont even have to use plexi really.. just about any solid material would work just fine. (ie. wood) either shouldnt take longer than 30 minutes from beginning to end to mount the block.
Ankun is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling > Water Cooling
Water Cooling Discussion devoted to blocks, pumps, radiators, reservoirs, tubing, and everything else to get you running smooth on a water loop
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:29 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?