• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Help me diagnose this system, really weird

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

No, I showered
Long story short, my wife and I purchased a computer for her daughter from a friend of mine because he needed to get rid of it and made us a great deal on it. System is a Biostar motherboard (not sure the model but it's got an SiS chipset and onboard video, Savage4 I believe) and it has a 1.3 GHz Thunderbird core using a heatsink that I THINK came off of an 1800+. Anyways, the computer is flakey as heck. It constantly gets blue screens, crashes, etc. I'm probably going to be rebuilding it soon (like maybe this weekend) but thought I'd run it past everyone first and get some more opinions on it. I work tech support for a living but this one still has me baffled. Here is a list of some information I've been able to gather on it.
  • Get BSODs, sometimes when booting. The error tends to change a bit but at least some of them have suggested that it might be a problem with the hard drive or the file system (sorry, I don't have the exact error numbers as I didn't write them down and I stopped messing with it for awhile). If the system got a BSOD, it generally would not restart without getting another BSOD during boot. Sometimes powering it all the way down would let it boot, but generally not. If I turned the computer off for awhile, it would work okay for a bit.
  • Per the above, I found that with the side on, the error seemed to occur more quickly which DOES suggest heat related.
  • The CPU in the BIOS reads insanely hot, like 130C I believe. Obviously at those temps there's no way the thing should even be functional so I'm assuming that it's just a BIOS bug. The fan works and the heatsink does get QUITE warm, so it's obviously pulling heat off of it.