Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Starting my first 939 build tomorrow.

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-16-06, 04:13 AM Thread Starter   #1
Franchize
Member



Join Date: Jun 2002

 
Starting my first 939 build tomorrow.


Hey people,

My new toys will be in tomorrow. OPT170, DFI ultra-d, XP120. Wondering if there is anything I should know before I put this together. Keep in mind I've built lots of socket A's. This is my first 939 build. Figured I would get the scoop now before I start.

__________________
1090T
Asus CrosshairIV Formula
SAPPHIRE Toxic 2gb HD 5850
Corsair850w
OCZ-SSD
G-skill 1600ddr3
Zalman CNPS10X
Franchize is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-16-06, 04:49 AM   #2
Know Nuttin
Senior Member

 
Know Nuttin's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada

 
Nothing really special. You "may" run into issues with the XP-120 and memory installation/first PCI-E video slot. Other than that, it's pretty much the same.

__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 965BE, Asus M5A88-V Evo, 8GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3-1600 , Coolermaster Hyper212+, OCZ Vertex Plus 60GB, Seagate 7200.11 500GB, Antec EA-380
Lenovo X200, P8400 C2D, 8GB, 120GB OCZ Vertex 3.
Know Nuttin is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-16-06, 08:21 AM   #3
drewmister
Member

 
drewmister's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cheyenne, Wyoming

 
nah, i setup a friend on an ultra d and have use the sli-dr and the expert before with the xp-120... always can fit mem into all dimm slots... albeit really close to the heatpipes of the xp-120 if you face them towards the dimm slots... but you can either squeeze them in under (they do fit) or attach it the other direction so the heatpipes are away from the dimm slots....

One thing I did notice is that with the ultra-d and xp-120... is the xp-120 runs incredibly close to the pci-e slot.... This makes plugging in that floppy connector on the motherboard (some say you need it others don't) impossible to get to... i recommend plugging that part in before either installing your xp-120 or your pci-e card if you plan to use it.

__________________
DFI NForce4 Expert
AMD Opteron 150 (Venus Core) @ 2700mhz (270x10)
Cooled by Thermalright XP-120
2x512mb Gskill GBFF pc4800 2.5-3-3-7 1:1
Evga 6800 Ultra
74 GB WD 10,000rpm Raptor
500 GB Hitachi Desktar 7K500
SB Audigy 2 ZS w/ Logitech Z680 5.1 Surround Sound
OCZ Powerstream 600W
<-- Yep that's me in the avatar; chess rules!

MY HEATWARE 7-0-0
drewmister is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:25 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?