• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

problem.... is my video card failing?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

jmh547

I started playing bf2 again. two days ago when i played my computer restarted after about an hour... i realy didnt think it was a big deal but then today first the computer restarted after about 20 mins, i got back in no sooner loaded a game and spawned when the screen turned blue (bsod blue) with no words. i restarted the computer ate dinner and came back to play. i played about an hour and the computer freezed after a game was over... any ideas? i thought the gpu was crashing but i have vpu recover on and it isnt displaying any messages. nothing is over clocked right now. and ate the crashes my cooldrive6 shows ~41c at the videocard and ~34c at the processor

I'm leaning toward a memory problem (since they're usually the cause of blue screens). Run Memtest86+ (google for download) and make sure there are no errors after a few hours. If BF2 crashes in 20 minutes-1 hour, Memtest should catch any errors within that time as well, assuming the problem is the memory.

i had a bsod problem a two weeks ago that i thought was a mem problem also but i ran mem test for 12 hours + with no errors. it turned out to be a loose sata cable...

i am thinking about reinstalling bf2 and maybe the chipset drivers?