Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

PC Turns On By Itself

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-19-06, 11:50 AM Thread Starter   #1
wa77ss
Member

 
wa77ss's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Virginia

 
PC Turns On By Itself


Whenever I turn off my PC using Windows or by application it will shutdown and stay off for about 30seconds to 1 minute and then it will turn back on by itself and boot to Windows or w/e again. I find this to be very strange. It does not happen everytime, just once in a while. I have tried two different PSU's and two different cases as well, in case it was shorting out somehow. But it still didnt have any affect on it whatsoever.

The specs of this machine are.
MSI K8N Neo4 Platinum (Non SLI)
Fortron 500W BlueStorm
Nvidia 6200 TurboCache 64MB
A64 3000+ Winchester @ Stock
Hitachi Deskstar 80G ATA133
Some Aspire Case

Note I have tried more than one PSU and case so I am starting to think its the motherboard that is the problem. Any ideas ?????


Thanks

__________________

Heatware
wa77ss is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-19-06, 05:39 PM   #2
Vipersfate
Member

 
Vipersfate's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2006

 
That's completely wierd. Wonder if its the Main board, switch wise.

__________________
The Rig: : AMD Phenom II X6 1090T @ Stock : Gigabyte GA-880GM-UD2H : 16GB DDR3 1333 Mushkin : Asus EAH5750-1GB :
Big Daddy Server : Under Construction :
The Lappy : Intel Centrino 1.6Ghz : HP DV1217US : 2GB DDR : Intel Extreme Graphics 2 :
The Server : Pentium 4 3.0Ghz 1MB : Optiplex 280: 1GB DDR2 800 : ATi 3650HD :
Vipersfate is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-19-06, 05:47 PM   #3
JTanczos
Member

 
JTanczos's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Eastern Pennsylvania

 
Could be a wake on signal from one of the devices. Some motherboards have a "Wake on USB" "Wake on keyboard/mouse" or similar option. I had this problem the a KT600 MB. Something kept telling the damn thing to wake back up right away. After I disabled all of that it stayed off.

JT

__________________
Spare computer, Epox Something with 700mhz Duron. 256meg of PC100 ram.
8mg ATI Rage card(hey the computer was free) :p

Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe 2600+ Mobile
1 Gig PC3500 Mushkin LVL2.
RBX, Maze 4 NB and GPU, AquaXtreme 50Z-DC12-T.
Bonniville 302 HC, Weapon's 302 Shroud, w/ 2x 120mm Sanyo Denki.

Asus A7V133 T-Bird @1100 Stock.
512 Mb PC133, Geforce 2 GTS 64 Meg.

My heatware
JTanczos is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-19-06, 05:52 PM   #4
Vipersfate
Member

 
Vipersfate's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2006

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by JTanczos
Could be a wake on signal from one of the devices. Some motherboards have a "Wake on USB" "Wake on keyboard/mouse" or similar option. I had this problem the a KT600 MB. Something kept telling the damn thing to wake back up right away. After I disabled all of that it stayed off.

JT
I have a feeling you are 100% right. I remember seeing that option before. Check you BIOS I think its in there. Or that could be enable USB..Arg. I can't remember. But JT is definately right!

__________________
The Rig: : AMD Phenom II X6 1090T @ Stock : Gigabyte GA-880GM-UD2H : 16GB DDR3 1333 Mushkin : Asus EAH5750-1GB :
Big Daddy Server : Under Construction :
The Lappy : Intel Centrino 1.6Ghz : HP DV1217US : 2GB DDR : Intel Extreme Graphics 2 :
The Server : Pentium 4 3.0Ghz 1MB : Optiplex 280: 1GB DDR2 800 : ATi 3650HD :
Vipersfate is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-19-06, 06:33 PM Thread Starter   #5
wa77ss
Member

 
wa77ss's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Virginia

 
Thanks... sounds promising ill check it out.

__________________

Heatware
wa77ss is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-19-06, 06:35 PM   #6
Seven7Thirty30
Member

 
Seven7Thirty30's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005

 
I agree. The options for the "wake on ... " settings are in the Bios.

__________________
Core i7-990X - ASUS Rampage III Extreme - 12GB (6 x 2GB) Corsair GT DDR3-2000
2 x HIS 7970 - Dell U2410
Sound Blaster X-FI Titanium Pro
2 x Corsair GT 120GB SSDs, 2 x Seagate XT 2TB RAID
Enermax 1350W
Modified LIan-Li PC-C60B with Custom EK Water Cooling System
Seven7Thirty30 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-19-06, 06:57 PM   #7
SNieX
Member

 
SNieX's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada- Brampton

 
yeah that happend to me before dont stress it... it very odd it seems just to go away it happend on a DFI and on a ASUS that ive had.. changed all types of hardware.. psu ram etc, etc... and it happens...

the way i got rid of it was to call a priest and give my house a blessing cause ma tvs where doing the same

SNieX

.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.(jkz about the priest and thing,, but yeah that has happend to me - the turning on thing)
SNieX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-20-06, 09:42 AM   #8
FlailBoy
Member

 
FlailBoy's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Not at the Fest...

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by JTanczos
Could be a wake on signal from one of the devices. Some motherboards have a "Wake on USB" "Wake on keyboard/mouse" or similar option. I had this problem the a KT600 MB. Something kept telling the damn thing to wake back up right away. After I disabled all of that it stayed off.
JT
Yeah. Best guess might be the mouse. An optical mouse could move just the slightest bit from tension on the cord and that would be enough to get the comp to turn on again.

__________________
Phenom II X4 965 BE C-3, 207*19.5~4036@1.40v, CM EVO, Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3(F6), CPU NB VID@1.25v, G.SKILL Ripjaws DDR3 1600 2x8GB, 9,9,9,24,1T@1.55v, 1GB EVGA Geforce GTX560Ti, SB Audigy 2 ZS, 1x1TB & 1x250GB WD caviar blue 7200RPM, Rosewill CAPSTONE 550W, Rosewill Blackhawk mid-tower, Win7Pro 64bit, SP1
-EPOX 8kra2+, XP-M 2600+, IQYHA 0447-226*10.5~2373@1.75v (retired)
-EPOX 8k9a2+, AMD 2100+, AIUHB 0302-188*12~2264@1.675v (out to pasture)

Heat
You should see if you can launch yourself across a lake. -drenader
FlailBoy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-20-06, 10:31 AM Thread Starter   #9
wa77ss
Member

 
wa77ss's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Virginia

 
Ya that did the trick. I couldnt find anything in my BIOS saying wake from (x) so I just disabled USB mouse support and havent had a problem since.


Thanks

__________________

Heatware
wa77ss is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:18 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?