• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Flow restrictions from Koolance ATI cooler

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

drumheller

Hi All,

I'm a noob to W/C, and after searching a ton for info and not finding it, I figured I'd just ask.

First though I'll explain my system and my goals. I'm going for quiet. I currently have over 7 fans in my system and it sounds like a jet engine. So, I'm ditching my Tt lanfire case for a Tsunami mid tower that has front and back 120mm fan slots. I've got a AMD 4000 in there on a gigabtye board. I'm also trying to avoid any sort of external attachments since I do drag this box around to lan parties, so I'm going to try to keep everything internal. So, given those contraints, I went for the Switftech 120 Swiftech H20-120 "PREMIUM" CPU Liquid Cooling Kit . My thought was to mount the 120 rad/fan internally blowing out instead of using the external fitting. I also liked the tubing size at 3/8 ID since it takes up less room. From what I've read on that 350 pump, it has a fair amount of umph, with 13' of head, so I throught I'd be able to add a video cooler for my x800.

So my big question is, given that I've went in for the Koolance VID-AT1-V06 ATI cooler that used 1/4 ID fittings, will this kill my water pressure? I know folks are not terrible impressed with the GPU/Ram enclosures, but I'm worried about the ambient temps in my box, since it will be in an enclosure within my desk and figured having the kit would help.