Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

Money not a problem here....what to do?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-21-06, 09:19 PM Thread Starter   #1
ZeroKelvin
Member

 
ZeroKelvin's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Memphis

 
Money not a problem here....what to do?


Hey there gang. I am needing to upgrade to 2G of ram and need some help picking my new ram. I have been all over these forums and am seeing everybody pick diffent ram for different reasons.

I am a hardcore player of games and especially of EverQuest 2. I'm not worried about benchmarks but just want some great performance for my games (although would like to look somewhat good on the bench). I am running a AMD dual core 4400 and am wanting the best overclock I can get. What would you all recommend for 2 sticks of 1g ram? I am not worried about money but only buying what will give me the best performance.

This is what I am looking at now....

mushkin eXtreme Performance 2GB

and

OCZ Platinum Edition 2GB

Or any other ram you might think would be even better than this. Thanks so much for any and all help.
ZeroKelvin is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-21-06, 09:31 PM   #2
Big Lar
Senior Member



Join Date: Dec 2000

10 Year Badge
 
It would be pretty hard to beat the mushkin you link to, the OCZ are fine sticks too, but of the 2, I would pick the mushkin.

Team has some memory that Tankguys has listed, but isn't in yet. It Cronus, and there has been quite a lot of talk about these new sticks lately, as they use Micron chips, similar to what the Crucial Ballistix ran. Could be something to check into there as well.

I have the OCZ Gold PC4000 sticks, which are nice, stable... but don't clock much over thier rated speed, about 10mhz extra seems to be the norm, or a hair more.

I hope this helps some.

Larry

__________________
Whats with all the Smoke???



Q9650
4gb OCZ Flex II PC 9200
Water Cooled Cpu/Gpu
Asus P5Q-Deluxe Bios 1406
GTX 280 XSPC Block
XFX 850W/ OWC SSD
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=261
Big Lar is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-21-06, 09:55 PM   #3
mortimer
Member



Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Spokane...

 
What are you planning to use the memory in? Motherboard wise.
mortimer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-21-06, 11:08 PM Thread Starter   #4
ZeroKelvin
Member

 
ZeroKelvin's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Memphis

 
Guess I should have listed that. Sorry about that.

DFI Lanparty UT NF4 SLI-DR
AMD X2 4400
Nvidia pci-express sli 7800gtx
ZeroKelvin is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-22-06, 10:55 AM   #5
Sir. BOBSONATOR
Member

 
Sir. BOBSONATOR's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: In Da Oc

 
sould be great :}

__________________
||DFI-NF4 ULTRA-D||POWERCOLOR X1950PRO 512mb PCI-E||AMD64 3200+ Venice@(250 x 10)@1.45v CIPW W/Scythe Ninja||Corsair Value Select 1GB(2x512)@216 2.5/3/3/7-1T||Antec SP 2.0 500W Dual 12vRails||XP PRO SVP 2||SONY DVD-RW||Lian-Li PC-7BII|WD SATA 80GIG 7200RPM||
Toothpaste + Vasaline=Thermal Paste Adventures!
Ghetto Ventilation!!!!
Sir. BOBSONATOR is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-22-06, 11:01 PM Thread Starter   #6
ZeroKelvin
Member

 
ZeroKelvin's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Memphis

 
So anybody else have any opinions on this? was hopoing to get more responses.
ZeroKelvin is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-23-06, 12:40 AM   #7
ochungry
Member

 
ochungry's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Austin, Texas

 
next to crucial is mushkin. crucial ballistix 2x1g not available anymore so go w/ mushkin. OCZ are very good too, never the less, according to anandtech latest review on 2x1g DDR1, mushkin stands out.
http://www.anandtech.com/memory/showdoc.aspx?i=2676
ochungry is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-24-06, 01:42 PM   #8
H2
Member

 
H2's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Post Falls, Idaho

 
I have been running the Mushkin Redline 2gig sets at 250mhz at 3-3-2-7 with a
X2-3800 overclocked to 2751mhz.
I could get this ram up to 259mhz stable.
This rig is super stable, it will run Prime95 two instances for 24 hours.
The 2 gig and bandwidth of this ram make a huge difference in games like Fear and Battlefield2.

__________________
Abit IP35 Pro XE, Q9450 Yorkfield 463x8=3712Mhz
CPU-V 1.41V 69C Load Prime95 Stable
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme. Vista 64bit
Overclocking help thanks to Cuda340
4x2Gig G.Skill DDR 1066 5-5-5-15 (2.1v) Mem 463mhz
EVGA KO 8800GT 512meg
PC Power & Cooling 750
Hanns-G 28" 1920x1200
Sony HS94P Viewsonic A95F
H2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-24-06, 03:03 PM Thread Starter   #9
ZeroKelvin
Member

 
ZeroKelvin's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Memphis

 
Awsome!!!

Thats what I wanted to know. Thanks H2. Think I will order the Redline this week.
ZeroKelvin is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-24-06, 03:07 PM   #10
H2
Member

 
H2's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Post Falls, Idaho

 
Glad it helped! You will love 2gig of ram with these new games. Load times are much faster too.

__________________
Abit IP35 Pro XE, Q9450 Yorkfield 463x8=3712Mhz
CPU-V 1.41V 69C Load Prime95 Stable
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme. Vista 64bit
Overclocking help thanks to Cuda340
4x2Gig G.Skill DDR 1066 5-5-5-15 (2.1v) Mem 463mhz
EVGA KO 8800GT 512meg
PC Power & Cooling 750
Hanns-G 28" 1920x1200
Sony HS94P Viewsonic A95F
H2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-24-06, 04:16 PM   #11
Duonger
Mushkin Guy



Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Cali

 
Our products all come with a lifetime warranty. We can also assist you with technical questions here on OCF or on our forums. I hope you enjoy it.

Duonger
Duonger is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-24-06, 05:46 PM Thread Starter   #12
ZeroKelvin
Member

 
ZeroKelvin's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Memphis

 
Sorry do have another question though....

I don't know much about the DDR2 stuff. First off, will I need a new motherboard to support it and is it worth waiting for? I keep reading about DDR2 being the next big step up in ram but I don't see anything about how it will be better. I don't mind waiting a month or so if I get great increases in performance without having to change my system. But if I need to start changing out motherboards or cpu's then I would rather just go with the redline now.
ZeroKelvin is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-24-06, 05:55 PM   #13
Duonger
Mushkin Guy



Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Cali

 
ddr2 is here already. thee are 2 jedec speeds 533 and 667. 800 will be releasing soon.
amd will be releasing ddr2 boards also this summer.

Duonger
Duonger is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:19 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?