Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

How much voltage is too much? - Patriot XBLK's

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-22-06, 02:50 PM Thread Starter   #1
pookyman
Member



Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Yay Area

 
How much voltage is too much? - Patriot XBLK's


Hey all, I have Patriot XBLK (2x512 mb) and I was wondering how much voltage is too much. I currently have it at 2.8 and was wondering if I could up the voltage to increase my OC without damaging the RAM.

Does anyone know how much I can bump it up to?

Thanks
pookyman is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-22-06, 04:08 PM   #2
avalanche83
Member

 
avalanche83's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Ft. Myers, Florida

 
Most people can go up to 3.0v with TCCD before they start getting errors in Memtest. If you have a spare fan laying around I would throw that on there to rule out any overheating.

__________________
Lenovo G575
avalanche83 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-22-06, 04:14 PM   #3
<<Spider>>
Member

 
<<Spider>>'s Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Minnesota

 
Some RAM is able to handle more voltage than others, it's hard to tell. I usually look at the suggested RAM votage ratings and go a 0.2V to 0.3V over that. Mine is default at 2.5V so I only use 2.7V to 2.8V.

There are different version of the Patriot XBLK (2X512) so look at the suggested default RAm and add 0.3V to this. You should use this as your MAX.
<<Spider>> is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-22-06, 04:53 PM   #4
ochungry
Member

 
ochungry's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Austin, Texas

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by pookyman
Hey all, I have Patriot XBLK (2x512 mb) and I was wondering how much voltage is too much. I currently have it at 2.8 and was wondering if I could up the voltage to increase my OC without damaging the RAM.

Does anyone know how much I can bump it up to?

Thanks
2.90 should be enough. right around 300mhz might need 2.95. but absolutely not over 3.v. there are cases that after constand usage and burn-in, might need up to 3.05v. but that would indicate near death.
if can keep it at around 2.95v w/ fan blowing on them, you should be able get the most out of them and not kill them. I have found those rams need to be in 2T from 260mhz and up. If using 2T, you might not need to increase voltage that much. 2.85v and 2T should get you to DDR600.
ochungry is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-22-06, 05:05 PM   #5
hoho220
Member



Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: In front of the monitor

 
superpi32m,memtest... stable DDR600- 300mhz... priming to test stability...
Timings 2.5-4-3-7 @ 2.8v
hoho220 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-22-06, 08:45 PM Thread Starter   #6
pookyman
Member



Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Yay Area

 
Allright thanks guys, was also wondering if the memtest in windows was as reliable as the memtest you use as a boot disk.
pookyman is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:06 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?