Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

T2500 Yonah socket 478 at the Egg

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-26-06, 09:27 AM Thread Starter   #1
mgoode
Member

 
mgoode's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The MotherShip

 
T2500 Yonah socket 478 at the Egg


Socket 478? This wont fit in my IC7max3 will it?
what type of motherboard do i need?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819111178

__________________
Benching: 980X

"Behold, I am Funkadelic. I am not of your world. But fear me not, I will do you no harm. Loan me your funky mind and I shall play with it. For nothing is good unless you play with it. And all that is good, is nasty!"
("What Is Soul," Funkadelic, 1969)


mgoode is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-26-06, 10:47 AM   #2
Mr. $T$
Member

 
Mr. $T$'s Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2001

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgoode
Socket 478? This wont fit in my IC7max3 will it?
what type of motherboard do i need?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819111178

Woah!! 478??? This could be an upgrade worth keeping my IS7 providing BIOS support....

I would love to know this as well, maybe I keep this rig through another socket.
Mr. $T$ is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-26-06, 11:00 AM   #3
damarble



Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Spokane, WA

 
Yummy. Pop one of these in my old IC7-G and kick some butt,

I'm wondering if the socket is based on the 479 laptop sockets??

__________________

Antec P180B | Seasonic S12-500 | ASUS P5B Deluxe | E6600 C2D | ATI HD5770 | OCZ Reaper PC6400 2x2GB | 2TB total storage | 2x HP 23" LCD | Logitech Z-640 5.1 speakers | Logitech G15 and G5 DELUXE

My HEAT

damarble is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-26-06, 11:01 AM   #4
Shelnutt2
Overclockers Team Content Editor

 
Shelnutt2's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: /home/

 
no the pin out and is different than your current 478 system. these are really socket 479, but they are not compatible with dothan based mobo (or ASUS adapter) that are socket 479 as the pin out is slightly diffrent. Yes it is really socket 478, but Intel renamed it 479 to avoid confusion. Newegg just list it 478, half of there stuff is 478 the other half is 479. I wish they would make up their mind. .

__________________
Build!.Borg!.Recruit!.Folding.for.Team.32!
Gigabyte P35-DS3R, E6300, 2x512MB Team Group DDR2 667, EVGA 7800GT Heat

Want to run the folding@home gpu client in linux?
www.linuxfah.info

Your teacher is a dumbass. The equation is exact. ~Frodo Baggins
Damn....It's 12:00 AM and I thought my 805 would be a magic pumkin and turn into a conroe.........boy was I fooled:) ~Stilletto
This is what I get for not only being a newb, but also disregarding instructions! ~ShadowPho
I hate women... but im not gay lol. ~MrCrowley
Love can fade but knowledge stays forever (unless you develop alzheimers). ~Constantinos
Shelnutt2 is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-26-06, 11:12 AM   #5
grumperfish
Member

 
grumperfish's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: South Florida

 
There's another listed too: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819111180 1.667Ghz for $253. There's also a 1.8ghz model... hmm..

__________________
Desktop: i7 2600K @ 4.6ghz w/ TR HR-02 + SD 120x38mm // Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3P // MSI R9 280X
16GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600mhz // Samsung 830 256GB // 6TB // Thermaltake Armor // Corsair TX750
Server: Q6600 G0 // EP35-DS3R // 4GB DDR2 // 4850 512MB // 840Pro 128GB // 4.25TB // Corsair TX650
Laptop: Latitude D630 // C2M T7300 // 4GB DDR2 // X3100 // Samsung 830 128GB
Smoothwall: P4 2.4C // 1GB DDR // AOpen MX4GVR // 20GB // Corsair CX430
I like HEAT
grumperfish is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-26-06, 11:17 AM Thread Starter   #6
mgoode
Member

 
mgoode's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The MotherShip

 
Yea they shouldn't list as a socket 478. Now thats confusing.

__________________
Benching: 980X

"Behold, I am Funkadelic. I am not of your world. But fear me not, I will do you no harm. Loan me your funky mind and I shall play with it. For nothing is good unless you play with it. And all that is good, is nasty!"
("What Is Soul," Funkadelic, 1969)


mgoode is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-26-06, 11:20 AM   #7
Mr. $T$
Member

 
Mr. $T$'s Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2001

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shelnutt2
no the pin out and is different than your current 478 system. these are really socket 479, but they are not compatible with dothan based mobo (or ASUS adapter) that are socket 479 as the pin out is slightly diffrent. Yes it is really socket 478, but Intel renamed it 479 to avoid confusion. Newegg just list it 478, half of there stuff is 478 the other half is 479. I wish they would make up their mind. .

You know part of me thought it was too good to be true. Dual core and low power for a 478, ya should have saw that myself..... Although I could always get a Dolthan and OC the hell out of it.
Mr. $T$ is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-26-06, 11:23 AM   #8
muddocktor
Retired

 
muddocktor's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New Iberia, LA

10 Year Badge
 
Hopefully either Asus or Abit will come out with a new adapter to let us run them in a socket 478 desktop board. They would rock in my i865 or i875 boards and if Abit came out with an adapter I definitely would upgrade my IC7-G and IS7 systems to them.
muddocktor is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-26-06, 11:26 AM   #9
hawtrawkr
Member

 
hawtrawkr's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: galesburg illinois

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by muddocktor
Hopefully either Asus or Abit will come out with a new adapter to let us run them in a socket 478 desktop board. They would rock in my i865 or i875 boards and if Abit came out with an adapter I definitely would upgrade my IC7-G and IS7 systems to them.

would the chipsets support them if the socket did though?

saw these on the egg yesterday and thought one would be fun to play with but was unsure about mobo compatibility and all that yada. figured if anything the asus adapter might work with it but didnt think the chipset would work with dualcore cpu.
hawtrawkr is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-26-06, 11:45 AM   #10
z0n3

 
z0n3's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hoosier Land

 
I don't see why the chipset wouldn't be able to support it if a BIOS update came out. Can't the 865 chipset use dual core CPUs?

__________________
In other words, look for shiny books.-Frodo Baggins
OK Oni...I've told ya about rubbing David before. Keep it private, eh?-LutaWicasa
I just caught myself putting my credit card into the DVD drive of my computer ... -ghettocomp
LOL if I was sapphire I would leave ruby on there and take her shirt off instead...-Rattle
What do you most want to accomplish with your life? Ban SilverSinkSam-cw823
Ooo. that 1 comes with a mouse!-WarriorII
last friday I got back from annual training and downloaded my duffelbags to my house.-SuperFarStucker
Thank goodness the downtime was not any longer I almost got myself a life-UnseenMenace
I live in a steel reinforced cave/bunker so unless he is on my list of bad guys to kill, I don't pay too much attention to politics.-TommyHolly
z0n3 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-26-06, 11:48 AM   #11
Mr. $T$
Member

 
Mr. $T$'s Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2001

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by z0n3
I don't see why the chipset wouldn't be able to support it if a BIOS update came out. Can't the 865 chipset use dual core CPUs?

It can use HT, maybe there is a way to trick the BIOS into thinking that the second core is HT yet be the full power of a second processor. Maybe it's just a pipedream.
Mr. $T$ is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-26-06, 11:56 AM   #12
Shelnutt2
Overclockers Team Content Editor

 
Shelnutt2's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: /home/

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. $T$
It can use HT, maybe there is a way to trick the BIOS into thinking that the second core is HT yet be the full power of a second processor. Maybe it's just a pipedream.
An 865PE chipset will run dual core presslers.
Linky

__________________
Build!.Borg!.Recruit!.Folding.for.Team.32!
Gigabyte P35-DS3R, E6300, 2x512MB Team Group DDR2 667, EVGA 7800GT Heat

Want to run the folding@home gpu client in linux?
www.linuxfah.info

Your teacher is a dumbass. The equation is exact. ~Frodo Baggins
Damn....It's 12:00 AM and I thought my 805 would be a magic pumkin and turn into a conroe.........boy was I fooled:) ~Stilletto
This is what I get for not only being a newb, but also disregarding instructions! ~ShadowPho
I hate women... but im not gay lol. ~MrCrowley
Love can fade but knowledge stays forever (unless you develop alzheimers). ~Constantinos
Shelnutt2 is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-26-06, 01:03 PM Thread Starter   #13
mgoode
Member

 
mgoode's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The MotherShip

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shelnutt2
An 865PE chipset will run dual core presslers.
Linky
Except it looks like you need a celeronD to boot it and the this poor guy cant change the FSB on a 930 with out the MB resetting. That would be a pain

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Custra...82E16813131574

__________________
Benching: 980X

"Behold, I am Funkadelic. I am not of your world. But fear me not, I will do you no harm. Loan me your funky mind and I shall play with it. For nothing is good unless you play with it. And all that is good, is nasty!"
("What Is Soul," Funkadelic, 1969)


mgoode is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-26-06, 01:08 PM   #14
SolidxSnake
Member

 
SolidxSnake's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Massachusetts, USA

 
the pinout on the yonah looks like a normal 478 processor! The dothan has a different key than normal 478 processors, but the yonah looks the same. maybe they key is on the other side.

__________________
When I logon to Windows, I press Ctrl+Alt+ELITE
i7-2600 4001MHz @ 39x102.6~ASRock P67 Fatal1ty Professional~MSI N580GTX Lightning 1536MB @ 1000//2400 @ 1.149v~8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600 9-9-9-24~256GB Samsung 830 SSD and 60GB OCZ Vertex~2x Western Digital Caviar Green 1TBs in RAID1 ~BFG ES-800 PSU
Custom Watercooling Loop | Apogee GT, MCW82, MCP35x + Res, Thermochill PA120.2 and 120.3 (both rev1) w/ Gentle Typhoon AP-15s pull, 7/16"x5/8" MasterKleer, 100% Distilled Water with Iodine ---All encased in a Silverstone TJ07B-W
Join in on the fun! Heatware OCForums Metal Club member #13224

SolidxSnake is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-26-06, 01:39 PM   #15
dicecca112
Member



Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: MA, USA

 
Quote:
the pinout on the yonah looks like a normal 478 processor! The dothan has a different key than normal 478 processors, but the yonah looks the same. maybe they key is on the other side.
They may look the same but there not. Not even close. And besides its socket 480, even though there are 478 pins
dicecca112 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-26-06, 02:56 PM   #16
3DFlyer
Banned



Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: The Cockpit

 
They are different guys. There was a thread about this awhile back. I believe some of the in fo came from Anantech, and other info came from some of the guys who work with this stuff. Maybe Intel will be gracious, and supply a couple mobo makers with the pinout config and they can make some adapters.
3DFlyer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-26-06, 05:35 PM   #17
muddocktor
Retired

 
muddocktor's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New Iberia, LA

10 Year Badge
 
I'm sure the pinout is already available to the manufacturers, because they are making laptops using these procs and even Mac desktop machines. And since Asus is a laptop ODM, they should have ready access to this info already and they have already made the adapter for P-M. I'm hoping they can make some kind of adapter card for them.
muddocktor is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-28-06, 10:26 AM   #18
lowfat
Member

 
lowfat's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: stoon, sask, can

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by muddocktor
Hopefully either Asus or Abit will come out with a new adapter to let us run them in a socket 478 desktop board. They would rock in my i865 or i875 boards and if Abit came out with an adapter I definitely would upgrade my IC7-G and IS7 systems to them.
It need a minimum of a i915 chipset, i've heard.

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600.
Gigabyte GA-P35-DQ6.
4GB Crucial PC2-8000.
eVGA 8800GTS 320 Superclocked.
Cooler Master Stacker 830.
OCZ GameXStream 700W.
DTek Fuzion + Weapon 302 Heatercore + AquaXtreme 50Z.
JVC RX6042, Soundstage Center 5 + Surrounds, Athena A1-B1s.

3D06-11115 3D05-19593 3D03-37303 3D01-61781
lowfat is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-28-06, 11:08 PM   #19
Alpha_One

 
Alpha_One's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cavite, Philippines

 
But the 915 and 925 can't do dual cores, right?

__________________
"That is what you get when you don't play nice!" -Freespace 2 Wingman

"The Workhorse" : Intel Core 2 Duo E4400 @ 3.21Ghz / 1.34VCore | Foxconn P9657AA-8KS2H | 2x1GB Kingston ValueRAM PC2-5300 @ 642 4-4-4-12 | Inno3D 6600

"The Rebel: Intel Pentium 4 530J @ 3.6GHz | ECS G31T-M | 2x1GB Kingston ValueRAM PC2-6400 @ 960 5-5-5-15 | Intel GMA3100

"The Scholar": Acer 5540 series | Intel Core Duo T2050 | 2GB Transcend PC2-5300 | Intel GMA950

Folding for Team 32 under the name Triple_Ace
Alpha_One is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-01-06, 04:53 AM   #20
Evilsizer
Senior Fourm Spammer


 
Evilsizer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Austin,Texas

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by muddocktor
I'm sure the pinout is already available to the manufacturers, because they are making laptops using these procs and even Mac desktop machines. And since Asus is a laptop ODM, they should have ready access to this info already and they have already made the adapter for P-M. I'm hoping they can make some kind of adapter card for them.
The desktop macs are using a laptop mobo, i saw there was a link in here somewhere with it taken apart.

__________________

Intel G3258@4.2ghz | Asrock Z97M OC Formula | Galaxy GTX660 GC | PM840 Pro 128GB, PM830 FDE 250GB | SilverStone ST45SF
i3 370M | Jetway NF98 | 2x2gig DDR3-1066 | pico 120WI | Asus GT630 2GB (GK208) |
intel i5 2450M


"I Love To Camp!"
"Commensing Shock Therapy!"
I'm jonnyGURU of jonnyGURU.com and we don't overload PSU's - JonnyGURU

HeatWare
Evilsizer is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:34 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?