• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

RAID 0 question, one raptor has OS, one clean....

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

TomPC3

Okay, Like the title says, I have one 74G raptor that I have been using (has XP and a few games on it) and
one new 74G raptor unformatted. I know I have to install both drives, load XP, hit F6, install raid drivers etc....
What I would like to know is this, do I need to format the drive that already has XP beforehand or will that be
overwritten when I go to set up the array. This is my first attempt at raid so any help is appreciated.

thanks,
Tom

why not go in and try... usually if it cant be done the setup will prompt you... lol

either way the data will be gone, it doesn't take long to format a 74gb high speed drive(my 250gb sata takes... 20-30min)...

Windows install will ask you if you would like to format. I usually pick "Quick Format".

First things first - you will have to BUILD THE ARRAY from BIOS. This essentially wipes both drives clean, and sets up the mappings. Then, you may Format and install Windows on it...

:cool:

Randyman... said:
First things first - you will have to BUILD THE ARRAY from BIOS. This essentially wipes both drives clean, and sets up the mappings. Then, you may Format and install Windows on it...

:cool:

X2... :)
When creating the array in bios, after you add the drives to your striping array it will ask you if you want to erase data on the drives. Select yes. The operation is quick and painless. I do however recommend a full format in the Windows XP setup. During my initial installs a few weeks ago, xp would restart after the first "reboot and remove cdrom" install point and then BSOD.