• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Need help connecting leds to molex

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

goodgod

Title says all, I want to connect 5 red LEDs to a molex connector, to light up my acrylic window, like the guy did with some mousepads at this link:

Lights and acrylic

It has to be simple, but I have no knowledge at all with volatges, amps, resistance, etc... I just want to plug the LEDs to a male 4pin molex connector. I got a soldering iron and the molex connector, so now I just need to know what to do with these.

Thanks. :)

assuming they are regular leds not blue or hyperbright they will be 2.2v @ 22ma.
You can easily connect 5 leds in a serise for a forward drop voltage of 11v.
Then with ohms law you can calculate the vdrop resistor to compensate for the difference. In this case running all five in a serise off the 12v line shouldent hurt them but you're better off follwing the procedure im about to explain.

The formula is R=E/I where R= resistance , E= voltage, and I = current in amps.
22ma is equal to .022Amps and your voltage differance is 1v (12v-11v).
Plugging this into the formula you get
1/.022=45.45
so a 50 Ohm resistor would be fine.
A 50 Ohm resistors colour code is Black, Green, Brown.
Also note that the longer lead of the LED is the positive connector.

ok... so now how do I place the LEDs connected to the molex....do I use the black and red wires? In what order do I solder all the stuff?