Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

My Backup HDD Failed After 3 Weeks...

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-19-06, 04:01 PM Thread Starter   #1
Fr3@k3r
Member

 
Fr3@k3r's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: (Lat 47 8' 22.1316")(Long -122 29' 52.9152") (Lakewood Wa)

 
My Backup HDD Failed After 3 Weeks...


ok i purchased a seagate barracuda 400gb hdd + usb enclosure for backup of all my files and did a fresh format of all my drives.

well last night the damn thing decided it wasnt gonna boot after just working 5 minutes earlier.

for some stupid freaking reason it will act like its spinning up and than stop and start to try to spin up again.

im really ****ed off because i no longer have any of the files from the past 2 years... including almost 30,000 personal pictures and files. Not to mention all my business contacts.

well i turned off the drive for the night, threw it in the freezer trick, that didnt work still doing the same thing. Threw it in another pc, same thing. also tried it in my own pc, same thing. The damn thing gets extremely hot while tryin to boot up.

akldfjaskdjfasl;kfjasl;djfkl;djfal;skdjfasjfa

i think im gonna cry cause i dont know wtf to do.

__________________
[Game Rig] AMD FX6300 Asrock 970 Extreme4 16GB Ripjaw PC314900 HD7850 Seasonic 850w Windows 8.1
[Dads] Intel Celeron 530 - Biostar H61MGC - 4GB TeamWin DDR3 - PowerColor R7 260X - 160GB - FSP Bluestorm 500w - Win 8.1
[Unused System] Intel 6500 - Gigabyte GA-G41M-ES2L - 4GB DDR2 3x3TB, 6x1TB , 1x2TB - Antec Earthwatt 650w - W7+FlexRaid
(HEATWARE)
Fr3@k3r is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-19-06, 04:22 PM   #2
Flip-Mode
Member

 
Flip-Mode's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Beer Sheva, Israel

 
Sorry to hear that....
Well I guess you are done with Seagate...

__________________
Heatware (Yes Israelis have it too!) PayPal Verified[/size]
Flip-Mode is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-19-06, 04:35 PM Thread Starter   #3
Fr3@k3r
Member

 
Fr3@k3r's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: (Lat 47 8' 22.1316")(Long -122 29' 52.9152") (Lakewood Wa)

 
its just not freaking fair..... i mean ive never had a major peice of hardware die EVER! and now the most important peice of hardware i have just decides after 5 minutes of not being booted it wants to flip **** and die.

__________________
[Game Rig] AMD FX6300 Asrock 970 Extreme4 16GB Ripjaw PC314900 HD7850 Seasonic 850w Windows 8.1
[Dads] Intel Celeron 530 - Biostar H61MGC - 4GB TeamWin DDR3 - PowerColor R7 260X - 160GB - FSP Bluestorm 500w - Win 8.1
[Unused System] Intel 6500 - Gigabyte GA-G41M-ES2L - 4GB DDR2 3x3TB, 6x1TB , 1x2TB - Antec Earthwatt 650w - W7+FlexRaid
(HEATWARE)
Fr3@k3r is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-19-06, 04:44 PM   #4
thegreek
Member

 
thegreek's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Philadelphia

 
This really sucks, this is why I always use at least 2 types of storage media - hard drives and dvd's. Maybe now you can start looking into RAID1 or RAID5.

I don't know what I'll do if I lost all of my things either, it really sucks man.

__________________
I always tell the truth even when I lie. - scarface
I know it sounds like I'm in denial, but I'm not. - unknown
thegreek is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-19-06, 04:55 PM Thread Starter   #5
Fr3@k3r
Member

 
Fr3@k3r's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: (Lat 47 8' 22.1316")(Long -122 29' 52.9152") (Lakewood Wa)

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by thegreek
This really sucks, this is why I always use at least 2 types of storage media - hard drives and dvd's. Maybe now you can start looking into RAID1 or RAID5.

I don't know what I'll do if I lost all of my things either, it really sucks man.
im about to start a lawsuit for everyone who has been screwed by faulty hardware... hmm a national lawsuit against seagate sounds like fuN?

__________________
[Game Rig] AMD FX6300 Asrock 970 Extreme4 16GB Ripjaw PC314900 HD7850 Seasonic 850w Windows 8.1
[Dads] Intel Celeron 530 - Biostar H61MGC - 4GB TeamWin DDR3 - PowerColor R7 260X - 160GB - FSP Bluestorm 500w - Win 8.1
[Unused System] Intel 6500 - Gigabyte GA-G41M-ES2L - 4GB DDR2 3x3TB, 6x1TB , 1x2TB - Antec Earthwatt 650w - W7+FlexRaid
(HEATWARE)
Fr3@k3r is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-19-06, 04:58 PM   #6
apu318
Disabled

 
apu318's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Welland: Most drug use per capita in Canada.

 
Get them to transplant the platters... that works, doesnt it? It might cost you though.
apu318 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-19-06, 04:59 PM   #7
Quick69GTO
Member

 
Quick69GTO's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Colorado

 
Try removing the drive from the enclosure and installing it in your PC.
I would bet it's the USB controller in the enclosure.
Quick69GTO is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-19-06, 07:06 PM Thread Starter   #8
Fr3@k3r
Member

 
Fr3@k3r's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: (Lat 47 8' 22.1316")(Long -122 29' 52.9152") (Lakewood Wa)

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quick69GTO
Try removing the drive from the enclosure and installing it in your PC.
I would bet it's the USB controller in the enclosure.
hence why i wrote...

"THREW IT INTO ANOTHER PC" meaning i did that.

__________________
[Game Rig] AMD FX6300 Asrock 970 Extreme4 16GB Ripjaw PC314900 HD7850 Seasonic 850w Windows 8.1
[Dads] Intel Celeron 530 - Biostar H61MGC - 4GB TeamWin DDR3 - PowerColor R7 260X - 160GB - FSP Bluestorm 500w - Win 8.1
[Unused System] Intel 6500 - Gigabyte GA-G41M-ES2L - 4GB DDR2 3x3TB, 6x1TB , 1x2TB - Antec Earthwatt 650w - W7+FlexRaid
(HEATWARE)
Fr3@k3r is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-21-06, 02:26 AM   #9
neonblingbling
Member

 
neonblingbling's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2004

 
By any chance did the enclosure have some form of active cooling?

I notice my Seagates get HOT (hotter than Raptor...), so I do not put them in anything but enclosures with active cooling. Maybe yours burnt up?

__________________
[HEAT] - Sony SZ650 /// T7500 /// 3 GB ram /// 8400M GS /// OCZ Vertex 2 60GB ded :(
neonblingbling is offline Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-21-06, 02:41 AM Thread Starter   #10
Fr3@k3r
Member

 
Fr3@k3r's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: (Lat 47 8' 22.1316")(Long -122 29' 52.9152") (Lakewood Wa)

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by neonblingbling
By any chance did the enclosure have some form of active cooling?

I notice my Seagates get HOT (hotter than Raptor...), so I do not put them in anything but enclosures with active cooling. Maybe yours burnt up?
lol a small 40mm fan... maybe 60mm cant be sure... drive is working grabbing the files now and than rma.

__________________
[Game Rig] AMD FX6300 Asrock 970 Extreme4 16GB Ripjaw PC314900 HD7850 Seasonic 850w Windows 8.1
[Dads] Intel Celeron 530 - Biostar H61MGC - 4GB TeamWin DDR3 - PowerColor R7 260X - 160GB - FSP Bluestorm 500w - Win 8.1
[Unused System] Intel 6500 - Gigabyte GA-G41M-ES2L - 4GB DDR2 3x3TB, 6x1TB , 1x2TB - Antec Earthwatt 650w - W7+FlexRaid
(HEATWARE)
Fr3@k3r is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-21-06, 03:24 AM   #11
Kendan
Senior Punk

 
Kendan's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Dark side of hell

 
First thing is you probably killed it and killed any chance of getting any data off of it by putting it in the freezer!


That is for the very very very last chance at recovering data and has to be done in a certain way.


Your best bet is to put it in a computer and boot a knoppix disk. If you can see the data then mount a different drive in that computer writable and copy the data you want to save. (Knoppix mounts drives read only by default) Good luck


Now my question to you is did you turn it off or unplug it without using the safely remove hardware icon in your system tray?

__________________
Hello:sn:
Kendan is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-21-06, 03:38 AM Thread Starter   #12
Fr3@k3r
Member

 
Fr3@k3r's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: (Lat 47 8' 22.1316")(Long -122 29' 52.9152") (Lakewood Wa)

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kendan
First thing is you probably killed it and killed any chance of getting any data off of it by putting it in the freezer!

That is for the very very very last chance at recovering data and has to be done in a certain way.

Your best bet is to put it in a computer and boot a knoppix disk. If you can see the data then mount a different drive in that computer writable and copy the data you want to save. (Knoppix mounts drives read only by default) Good luck

Now my question to you is did you turn it off or unplug it without using the safely remove hardware icon in your system tray?
you didnt read my last post did you? all data is fine, the drive is running like it did when it was brand new and im recovering all data as we speak.. and its not longer overheating either.

__________________
[Game Rig] AMD FX6300 Asrock 970 Extreme4 16GB Ripjaw PC314900 HD7850 Seasonic 850w Windows 8.1
[Dads] Intel Celeron 530 - Biostar H61MGC - 4GB TeamWin DDR3 - PowerColor R7 260X - 160GB - FSP Bluestorm 500w - Win 8.1
[Unused System] Intel 6500 - Gigabyte GA-G41M-ES2L - 4GB DDR2 3x3TB, 6x1TB , 1x2TB - Antec Earthwatt 650w - W7+FlexRaid
(HEATWARE)
Fr3@k3r is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-21-06, 05:49 AM   #13
microfire
Member



Join Date: Oct 2001

10 Year Badge
 
I know it is a tender subject right now, I thought the idea of a true backup is to have two copies of important data, so if one fails (which can happen it anytime, even when new) you have the other.
Personally I hate the idea of wasting space on duplicates, yet for piece of mind it must be done.

__________________
Intel Core i7-4930K @ 4.2GHz ' Asus P9X79 ' Corsair 32GB DDR3-1600 CL9 ' 2x Gigabyte GTX 660 Ti ' Dell U3014
microfire is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-21-06, 06:00 AM   #14
Sjaak
Member

 
Sjaak's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: The Netherlands

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by microfire
I know it is a tender subject right now, I thought the idea of a true backup is to have two copies of important data, so if one fails (which can happen it anytime, even when new) you have the other.
Personally I hate the idea of wasting space on duplicates, yet for piece of mind it must be done.

Exactly...keep the original AND the backup...if possible not in the same system nor in the same room.

__________________
'Apparantly reality has a strong liberal bias'
Sjaak is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-21-06, 07:18 AM   #15
Flip-Mode
Member

 
Flip-Mode's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Beer Sheva, Israel

 
So a fan fixed it?

__________________
Heatware (Yes Israelis have it too!) PayPal Verified[/size]
Flip-Mode is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-21-06, 11:49 AM   #16
Kendan
Senior Punk

 
Kendan's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Dark side of hell

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fr3@k3r
you didnt read my last post did you? all data is fine, the drive is running like it did when it was brand new and im recovering all data as we speak.. and its not longer overheating either.
My info is still very relevant.

__________________
Hello:sn:
Kendan is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-21-06, 03:20 PM   #17
Beginner
Member



Join Date: Sep 2004

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kendan
First thing is you probably killed it and killed any chance of getting any data off of it by putting it in the freezer!


That is for the very very very last chance at recovering data and has to be done in a certain way.


Your best bet is to put it in a computer and boot a knoppix disk. If you can see the data then mount a different drive in that computer writable and copy the data you want to save. (Knoppix mounts drives read only by default) Good luck


Now my question to you is did you turn it off or unplug it without using the safely remove hardware icon in your system tray?
thanks for the post, i just burned an .iso of the full version of ubcd 3.4, does this have a utility to do this? i looked at the program list but i can't make any sense of it. also, i haven't used the cd yet. i was doing a search on hdd wiping and it came up. i d/l'd--->burned it just for safe keeping.

__________________
they call me "babycakes"
My Heatware
nforce2 for life
socket a or die(literally - i killed my nf7-s v2 volt modding it and recently an xp-m 2600 :( )
i'm also known as "VIPER Juan" :rolleyes:

VOTE GHETTOCOMP FOR NEW HTPC SECTION MODERATOR
Beginner is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-21-06, 03:59 PM   #18
Kendan
Senior Punk

 
Kendan's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Dark side of hell

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beginner
thanks for the post, i just burned an .iso of the full version of ubcd 3.4, does this have a utility to do this? i looked at the program list but i can't make any sense of it. also, i haven't used the cd yet. i was doing a search on hdd wiping and it came up. i d/l'd--->burned it just for safe keeping.

UBCD is very useful but it is not a linux boot disk like knoppix.

For those that do not know of UBCD check out: http://www.ultimatebootcd.com/

For knoppix check out: http://www.knoppix.com

__________________
Hello:sn:
Kendan is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-21-06, 04:16 PM   #19
RJARRRPCGP
Member



Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA (Springfield, Vermont)

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fr3@k3r
ok i purchased a seagate barracuda 400gb hdd + usb enclosure for backup of all my files and did a fresh format of all my drives.

well last night the damn thing decided it wasnt gonna boot after just working 5 minutes earlier.

for some stupid freaking reason it will act like its spinning up and than stop and start to try to spin up again.

im really ****ed off because i no longer have any of the files from the past 2 years... including almost 30,000 personal pictures and files. Not to mention all my business contacts.

well i turned off the drive for the night, threw it in the freezer trick, that didnt work still doing the same thing. Threw it in another pc, same thing. also tried it in my own pc, same thing. The damn thing gets extremely hot while tryin to boot up.

akldfjaskdjfasl;kfjasl;djfkl;djfal;skdjfasjfa

i think im gonna cry cause i dont know wtf to do.
I had bad luck with Seagate, too, but not 3 strikes for Seagate yet.

The problem wasn't as bad as the problem you have.

I purchased a Seagate Barracuda 80 GB UDMA 100 PATA HDD on May 14, 2005.

It was emitting squeaks when there's a lot of seeking. Not only that, in late May, 2005 or early June, 2005, ActiveSMART, which is a SMART monitoring utility, projected HDD failure as early as June, 2005!

Thus I returned the HDD on June 2, 2005!

I'm not gonna tolerate a new HDD with a bad SMART status!

Luckly, there wasn't any bad sectors when Windows 2000 Pro was installed on it. Also, Windows 2000 Pro didn't have any disk errors.

The model is ST380013A.

That HDD's the one I'm p***** about in my sig.

__________________
Asus Maximus II Gene- Core 2 Quad Q6600 SLACR @ 3.3 Ghz (367x9.0)

Where I come from "Z97" is a radio station
-ICH10R
- eVGA GeForce GT 640-Antec VP-450


" holy cow!! you find a rat in there too!?!?!? " -turbohans
"Reinstall winders." -jivetrky
"I think I am going to need another coke before I start this up." -cadman420
"Soon Windows will be 50 gb! lololol" -Tokae
"NOT FOR SALE IN CALIFORNIA."

Last edited by RJARRRPCGP; 03-21-06 at 04:22 PM.
RJARRRPCGP is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-21-06, 06:28 PM Thread Starter   #20
Fr3@k3r
Member

 
Fr3@k3r's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: (Lat 47 8' 22.1316")(Long -122 29' 52.9152") (Lakewood Wa)

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kendan
My info is still very relevant.
yeah sorry bout that just a little edgy..


anyways

all my files are recovered and contacting seagate for rma as we speak.

__________________
[Game Rig] AMD FX6300 Asrock 970 Extreme4 16GB Ripjaw PC314900 HD7850 Seasonic 850w Windows 8.1
[Dads] Intel Celeron 530 - Biostar H61MGC - 4GB TeamWin DDR3 - PowerColor R7 260X - 160GB - FSP Bluestorm 500w - Win 8.1
[Unused System] Intel 6500 - Gigabyte GA-G41M-ES2L - 4GB DDR2 3x3TB, 6x1TB , 1x2TB - Antec Earthwatt 650w - W7+FlexRaid
(HEATWARE)
Fr3@k3r is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:25 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?