Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

It's that time again...

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-19-06, 10:32 PM Thread Starter   #1
beau_zo_brehm
Member

 
beau_zo_brehm's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004

 
It's that time again...


Well guys, about a year and a half ago I built my first computer. Yes, it was an Intel. I had a good experience with my Intel CPU, but this time I'm going with an AMD!!

Tell me what you guys think, regarding improvements, or anything I might have forgotten.

Case: Cooler Master Stacker - $180
PSU: Thermaltake TR2 500 Watt - $87
Motherboard: DFI LanParty UT - $120
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ - $463
RAM: Crucial Technology Ballistix 1GB - $105
Video Card: XFX Nvidia 6800 XT 256MB - $140
Hard Drive: Western Digital Raptor 74 GB 10,000 RPM - Salvage
Monitor: 21" LCD Monitor - Salvage
Mouse: Salvage
Keyboard: Salvage
Sound Card: M-AUDIO 7.1 Channels - $95
Speakers: Salvage
Combo Drive: SAMSUNG Black Combo Drive - $30
DVD-RW Drive: BenQ Black DVD Burner - $38

Total: $1258
beau_zo_brehm is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-20-06, 03:56 AM   #2
Careface

 
Careface's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Dunedin, New Zealand

 
Im not sure about the pricing, as everything in NZ is wayy overpriced.. but I would have gone with the DFI-LanParty nF4 SLI-DR, or the Ultra D and mod it to SLI-DR instead, but Im probably biased as I have the SLI-DR. As for everything else, looks like its gonna be a pretty sweet system especially if youre shifting from Intel->AMD

Careface*

__________________
One Team... One Universe... One Goal: The Truth...
{OC*SETI}

...Because we are not alone...


Careface is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-20-06, 06:51 AM   #3
greenmaji
Senior Spellcheck

 
greenmaji's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2005

 
What motherboard do you have now?

you might be able to pop a 920 in there for a temperary fix untill conroe comes out.

Last edited by greenmaji; 03-20-06 at 10:15 AM.
greenmaji is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-20-06, 05:03 PM Thread Starter   #4
beau_zo_brehm
Member

 
beau_zo_brehm's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by greenmaji
What motherboard do you have now?

you might be able to pop a 920 in there for a temperary fix untill conroe comes out.
too late

i ordered the system last night.
beau_zo_brehm is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-20-06, 05:18 PM   #5
Dan Derrig
Member



Join Date: Nov 2005

 
hey sounds like a good system, I'd be surprised if you didnt hit 2.6. the only think i woulda changed would be get a 6800gs, 4 more pipes and a faster clock (i think thats right)
but you already ordered... so yeah lol sounds good
Dan Derrig is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-20-06, 05:24 PM Thread Starter   #6
beau_zo_brehm
Member

 
beau_zo_brehm's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Derrig
hey sounds like a good system, I'd be surprised if you didnt hit 2.6. the only think i woulda changed would be get a 6800gs, 4 more pipes and a faster clock (i think thats right)
but you already ordered... so yeah lol sounds good
I'm actually not planning to overclock it.. I would, but I overclocked my Intel and ended up having permanent stability issues. I do think that I might overclock my RAM a little though. It should end up being a good system either way, I think.
beau_zo_brehm is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-22-06, 02:23 AM   #7
jeffp83
Member

 
jeffp83's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Canada

 
Looks like a kickass system, have fun!
jeffp83 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-22-06, 04:27 AM   #8
greenmaji
Senior Spellcheck

 
greenmaji's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2005

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by beau_zo_brehm
I'm actually not planning to overclock it.. I would, but I overclocked my Intel and ended up having permanent stability issues. I do think that I might overclock my RAM a little though. It should end up being a good system either way, I think.
some OCed systems can have stabilty problems from lack of enough voltage (Ive seen this with telly rigs) the mobo doesnt give high enough voltage under load, expecialy a non Vdroop moded Asus board.
IOW it might not have been you OC.

but no matter, good luck with the new build
greenmaji is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-23-06, 04:38 PM Thread Starter   #9
beau_zo_brehm
Member

 
beau_zo_brehm's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by greenmaji
some OCed systems can have stabilty problems from lack of enough voltage (Ive seen this with telly rigs) the mobo doesnt give high enough voltage under load, expecialy a non Vdroop moded Asus board.
IOW it might not have been you OC.

but no matter, good luck with the new build
You're exactly right, I had problems with my voltages dropping under load.

Oh yahh, and my order from newegg came in yesterday. WOW I did not realize how awesome a Cooler Master Stacker really is. I'm going to start building it today after I pick up an anti-static wristband.
beau_zo_brehm is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-26-06, 06:07 AM   #10
Silent Frog
Member

 
Silent Frog's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: South Austraila

 
So why'd you go for a high end cpu, but a low-ish end video card? Not much of a gamer? What do you do with all that processing power?
Have fun!
Silent Frog is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:36 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?