• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Will this be enough cooling?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

grabka1984

Hey there, i'm a complete newbie to this area. I have been doing some background research and such, and now i have a question.

I am planning on buying a new gaming rig. In order to cut costs, I want to keep my old case, p/s, and memory. The case is generic atx, p/s is 450w, and memory is pc3200 ddr400 bought 2 years ago. The parts i have chosen to buy (after much research) are the 64x2 3800+ manchester, a8n-sli (not deluxe), Ge-Force 7800gt 256mb, dvd burner, sata2 hd.

I do not have watercooling or anything like that, but i do have a 18" high powered fan blowing directly into the open side of my computer and a small 80mm case fan right next to the cpu (which i might take out if considering it's really not doing anything)

Now, i actually have several questions:

1) should i spend the extra $100 on the a8n32-sli deluxe? For overclocking purposes more than the sli bonuses. The extra heat dissipation from the deluxe, is it worth it? The x16/x16 sli is nice too.

2) Can i safely up the fsb to 250MHz (not going to play with multiplier), given my ram is 2 years old? Going to be using stock cpu fan. I don't want to overdo the o/c, i just want to get more bang for my buck.

3) Is there anything i'm forgetting?

Thanks a lot.

Hello