Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

2.4 SL6WF

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-28-06, 12:39 PM Thread Starter   #1
XRogerX
Member

 
XRogerX's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maine

 
2.4 SL6WF


Hello i have a question about my 2.4 ,how can i tell if it is a true 2.4c cpu ,i have read reviews saying it a 2.4c but then again there saying its a 2.4 ,im confused can someone tell me how i can really find out, the max overclock i can get is a 3.3 but its unstable and its stable at 3.0

__________________
MSI 790FX - GD70
Phenom II X4 955 3.2Ghz @ 3.6Ghz
OCZ 4GB DDR3 1600MHz
EVGA 560 Ti FPB
Seagate Barracuda 250 GB SATAII (Main Drive)
Seagate Barracuda 2x 500 GB SATAII
WD 320GB External
Samsung DVD Writer 18x Dual Layer SATA
Windows 7 64-bit
Ultra x3 1k PSU
Creative SB X-Fi XtremeGamer
COOLER MASTER COSMOS 1000
XRogerX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-28-06, 12:49 PM   #2
batboy
Senior Moment

 
batboy's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Kansas, USA

10 Year Badge
 
Just run a free program called CPU-Z or look up the s-spec on the Intel website (see link).

http://processorfinder.intel.com/scr...sp?sSpec=sl6wf

According to the s-spec finder, my friend, you have a D1 stepping 800 bus 2.4C processor which back in it's day was a classic overclocker. How you tried to bump up the vcore yet? What memory ratio are you using?

__________________
2600K, Asus P8P67 Deluxe, 2X2GB G.Skill Pi PC3-2133, PC & Cooling 750W
watercooled: Eheim 1048 pump, Swiftech Apogee GTX and 2X120mm rad
FS020 case, OCZ SSD, Sapphire HD 6950, Acer X241W 24" widescreen
batboy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-28-06, 01:00 PM Thread Starter   #3
XRogerX
Member

 
XRogerX's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maine

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by batboy
Just run a free program called CPU-Z or look up the s-spec on the Intel website (see link).

http://processorfinder.intel.com/scr...sp?sSpec=sl6wf

According to the s-spec finder, my friend, you have a D1 stepping 800 bus 2.4C processor which back in it's day was a classic overclocker. How you tried to bump up the vcore yet? What memory ratio are you using?
hey Batboy ty for the fast responce ,i havent tried the vcore yet andim useing memory Ratio at 5:4

my vcore is @1.5 right now stock

http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=81988

__________________
MSI 790FX - GD70
Phenom II X4 955 3.2Ghz @ 3.6Ghz
OCZ 4GB DDR3 1600MHz
EVGA 560 Ti FPB
Seagate Barracuda 250 GB SATAII (Main Drive)
Seagate Barracuda 2x 500 GB SATAII
WD 320GB External
Samsung DVD Writer 18x Dual Layer SATA
Windows 7 64-bit
Ultra x3 1k PSU
Creative SB X-Fi XtremeGamer
COOLER MASTER COSMOS 1000

Last edited by XRogerX; 03-28-06 at 01:07 PM.
XRogerX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-28-06, 03:55 PM   #4
batboy
Senior Moment

 
batboy's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Kansas, USA

10 Year Badge
 
If you have decent cooling, try bumping up the vcore a little. Maybe try 1.55v at first. I would not go above 1.6v unless you are watercooled or super cooled. Also, try bumping up the memory voltage (vdimm) to 2.7v to make sure your RAM don't hold you back.

__________________
2600K, Asus P8P67 Deluxe, 2X2GB G.Skill Pi PC3-2133, PC & Cooling 750W
watercooled: Eheim 1048 pump, Swiftech Apogee GTX and 2X120mm rad
FS020 case, OCZ SSD, Sapphire HD 6950, Acer X241W 24" widescreen
batboy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-28-06, 06:56 PM   #5
The Coolest
Senior Member

 
The Coolest's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

10 Year Badge
 
The 'C' letter means this chip is a Northwood and has a stock FSB of 200MHz. a 533MHz FSB Northwood would be a 'B' and a 400MHz FSB chip would be an 'A'.
Also running GCPUID (in my sig) and if you look at the "Processor" field, it'll show something like "Pentium 4 2.40C GHz"...

__________________
"<The_Coolest> You can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 or 8800 Ultra / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.
Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors

Heatware
The Coolest is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-28-06, 10:21 PM Thread Starter   #6
XRogerX
Member

 
XRogerX's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maine

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Coolest
The 'C' letter means this chip is a Northwood and has a stock FSB of 200MHz. a 533MHz FSB Northwood would be a 'B' and a 400MHz FSB chip would be an 'A'.
Also running GCPUID (in my sig) and if you look at the "Processor" field, it'll show something like "Pentium 4 2.40C GHz"...
so are you saying that GCPUID would tell me what i got?

mine has an 800fsb so i have a 2.4C?

so it is a true ( C )

__________________
MSI 790FX - GD70
Phenom II X4 955 3.2Ghz @ 3.6Ghz
OCZ 4GB DDR3 1600MHz
EVGA 560 Ti FPB
Seagate Barracuda 250 GB SATAII (Main Drive)
Seagate Barracuda 2x 500 GB SATAII
WD 320GB External
Samsung DVD Writer 18x Dual Layer SATA
Windows 7 64-bit
Ultra x3 1k PSU
Creative SB X-Fi XtremeGamer
COOLER MASTER COSMOS 1000

Last edited by XRogerX; 03-28-06 at 10:32 PM.
XRogerX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-28-06, 10:55 PM   #7
batboy
Senior Moment

 
batboy's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Kansas, USA

10 Year Badge
 
Yes, the 800 bus (200 FSB) 2.4 Northwood CPU is a true "2.4C". I said that earlier.

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Coolest
The 'C' letter means this chip is a Northwood and has a stock FSB of 200MHz. a 533MHz FSB Northwood would be a 'B' and a 400MHz FSB chip would be an 'A'.
Actually, there is no Northwood 2.4A. The Northwood 2.4 400 bus CPU is just 2.4. The 2.4A processor is a 533 bus Prescott.

__________________
2600K, Asus P8P67 Deluxe, 2X2GB G.Skill Pi PC3-2133, PC & Cooling 750W
watercooled: Eheim 1048 pump, Swiftech Apogee GTX and 2X120mm rad
FS020 case, OCZ SSD, Sapphire HD 6950, Acer X241W 24" widescreen
batboy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-29-06, 07:49 AM   #8
The Coolest
Senior Member

 
The Coolest's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

10 Year Badge
 
I noticed there's a are only several chips with the letters.
Where can i find the complete list of chips which are supposed to get the letter at the end and which isn't.

__________________
"<The_Coolest> You can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 or 8800 Ultra / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.
Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors

Heatware
The Coolest is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:59 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?