• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New HSF.. need help choosing

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

n0aH

I need a new HS for my proccesor..
idle temp- 47
load - 65
not good at all... socket 478.
Ive been looking at the big typhoon but it just looks really huge and heavy

EDIT: I have no exashst in my case at all except the power supply... should i put one in the back? heres a pic of the back of my pc... could i mabey mount a fan in the inside right up to those little holes?

thanx everyone!

Last edited:
I'd definitely put an exhaust fan in. If possible, cut out the grille as well, as it's pretty restricting.

The BT is big and heavy.

You could look at the Mini Typhoon, it's a bit smaller.

ok... im a complete noob to modding so how would i cut the grill out and what kinda fan would i get

Depends on how loud you want your computer, I guess.

To cut the grill out, you could use something like a jigsaw, though tin snips should do just fine, that isn't very thick metal you have to go through. Obviously, you do this with the case empty, and you clean up thoroughly before putting your gear back in. You may want to look into putting a grille on the back so nobody cuts their hand on the open metal, or covering the edges up.

As for fan, I am getting the Arctic Fan 12. The spec's look pretty good, so far. If it's quiet you want, the Nexus is a good option. Either way, 120mm fan is the way to go.

ok... im a complete noob to modding so how would i cut the grill out